It's Your World: Get Informed, Get Inspired & Get Going!

 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1139 0
It's Your World: Get Informed, Get Inspired & Get Going!
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 15, 2015
ISBN
9780399176128
Buy This Book
      
Get Informed! Get Inspired! Get Going! In a book that tackles the biggest challenges facing us today, Chelsea Clinton combines facts, charts, photographs and stories to give readers a deep understanding of the world around them—and how anyone can make a difference. With stories about children and teens who have made real changes big and small—in their families, their communities, in our country and across the world—this book will inspire readers of all ages to do their part to make our world a better place. In addition to informing and inspiring readers about topics including Poverty, Homelessness, Food Insecurity, Access to Education, Gender Equality, Epidemics, Non-Communicable Diseases, Climate Change, and Endangered Species, this book encourages everyone to get going! With suggestions and ideas for action, Chelsea Clinton shows readers that the world belongs to every single one of us, and every one of us counts. You can make a difference. You can make a change. It’s your world.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Worldly Approaches
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
'It's Your World' by Chelsea Clinton does a nice job of anticipating questions teens (or adults) may have about a wide variety of topics, including, but certainly not limited to, poverty, inequality, illnesses, hunger, and many, many more. It also focuses on routes that will hopefully lead to solutions for these problems. The book adeptly details the connections between various issues and dilemmas throughout the world. One that stands out most is how prevalent the issue of water availability is, and how it intertwines with not only the idea of healthy living, but also with the ability for some to do their work, along with a variety of other connective tissues that truly enhance the conversational storytelling through which Clinton writes the book.

Statistics add substance and deeper meaning throughout. The charts and graphs that are included help highlight the controversies described and make it much easier to see how action and progress are sorely needed in so many cases.

The book, while focused on inspirational and thought-provoking topics, tends to be a bit long in parts. The 400-plus page book would have better served its teen demographic by cutting down on the page count. Even though the information contained is solid, interesting, and worthwhile, and the statistics a welcome addition to showcasing the many troubles throughout the world and who they are most affecting, a shorter length would help make the book even stronger. However, if one is to read this book, they may not be reading it all at once, which is probably a good idea. If one is to read the chapters and excerpts that most intrigue them as a means of identifying and exploring their particular areas of interest, the book will more likely not seem so long, as the conversational style Clinton uses helps the storytelling move along at a fairly good pace. There are just so many topics to get to, and even though Clinton does separate these by parts and chapters and discusses the importance of realizing connections, it still gets too long at times.

All in all, 'It's Your World' will capture the attention and motivational heartstrings of its readers, children and adults alike. It focuses on so much of what is wrong in the world today and how to fix it, through realistic and clear-cut anecdotes and information that will lead readers on the path to finding sustainable solutions.
Good Points
'It's Your World' will capture the attention and motivational heartstrings of its readers, children and adults alike. It focuses on so much of what is wrong in the world today and how to fix it, through realistic and clear-cut anecdotes and information that will lead readers on the path to finding sustainable solutions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Really Big World
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
I admit I never really like nonfiction. Talking about the world, this world that we live in, is definitely something hard to swallow. We can't list all of the problems on our fingers and toes, and even when we try to do good, it never seems enough. But it's progress. And that is exactly what Clinton's new book shows. She illuminates a light in the darkest parts of the world that few even knows about and gives the slightest of hope.

Chelsea talks about a lot of things. Topics include poverty, money, water, feminism, diseases, inequality, cancer, autism, water, energy, charity, governments and their influence over their citizens, child brides, human trafficking, water, and food. Oh, and have I mentioned water? (Chelsea highlights the fact that water is the most important thing to life. Multiple times in multiple chapters.) With such topics, it's clear that the book will get depressing and sorrowful. For that, I suggest readers to read IT'S YOUR WORLD bit by bit. It's incredibly hard to swallow in one sitting.

The writing remains simple and clean, and the book is very casual. Clinton isn't without her subtle opinions, but she is as neutral as possible. Weaving in topics and points of discussion with her experience (i.e. trips to India and various parts of the world), she makes the book much more interesting and passionate. Helpful charts, pictures, and maps make IT'S YOUR WORLD easier to understand, though some pictures and charts should be printed in color (not black and white, which makes it very unclear to interpret).

Kids will easily understand the larger world around them. Chelsea has helpfully provided a list of charities and ways to fight against world hunger (or human trafficking or child labor, etc.), and I'm constantly inspired by what the kids Chelsea name in the book are doing out of the kindness of their hearts. They are younger and smarter than me!

The ending is full of hope, and the last chapter remains to be the greatest of all the chapters in the book. Seriously.

Overall, IT'S YOUR WORLD is the type of nonfiction book I rarely read. But by chance (and more), I read this book - and I totally love it. It's perfect for kids who want to know about the larger world they are living in and the adults who don't mind gaining another perspective. By the end, Chelsea will have them saying, "It's really a great big world out there."

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."