Scared Stiff: Everything You Need to Know About 50 Famous Phobias

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426 1
Scared Stiff: Everything You Need to Know About 50 Famous Phobias
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
February 04, 2014
ISBN
978-1936976492
Buy This Book
      
Fear is a primal human emotion, and it often does play an important role in keeping us safe from threats. It’s part of our evolutionary makeup, after all. But fears can also spiral out of control, and if your perfectly reasonable fear of snakes has metastasized to the point that you run screaming from every uncoiled hose, then (news flash!) you’ve got yourself a phobia. Human phobias are strange, diverse, and actually have the power to teach us a lot about who we are and where we came from. And in this book, author Sarah Latta blends biology, psychology, history, and pop culture to provide a comprehensive account of 50 essential fears, from arachnophobia to zoophobia. Additionally, the book includes: - An explanation of the history behind each phobia, and a discussion of notable people who have suffered from the fear - Sidebars that highlight famous phobic moments from history and pop culture - Updates on how successful various phobia treatments have been Phobias are no laughing matter if you’ve got one, but sometimes the first step to overcoming your fear is understanding that sometimes we’re afraid of a lot of really weird things. So whether you’re looking for perspective, information, or just want to know what Madonna and David Beckham are afraid of, this is the book for you. (Bibliophobes, however, should probably keep their distance.)

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Scared Stiff
(Updated: March 24, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Who ever thought reading a book on different phobias would be fun? SCARED STIFF uses a fun approach on learning about 50 different types of phobias. Each one has the facts behind it along with some famous phobics from celebs and other famous figures plus how to overcome the fear. Also there are scary quotes.

Fun facts I discovered:

1. Pediophobia is the fear of...dolls.
**YA author Libba Bray is afraid of dolls. Love this quote from Bray: "You can't look them in the eyes. That's how it gets you."

**Plus check out the reference to Isla de las Muencas, or Island of the Dolls outside of Mexico City. This is home to hundreds of battered, creepy, and dirty dolls.

2.Thanatophobia-Fear of Death: Actress Sarah Michelle Gellar( Buffy in Buffy the Vampire Slayer) has a fear of cemeteries and the thought of being buried alive. Well, remember that one episode where she had to dig her way out of her own grave? "It was horrible," Gellar said. "It's really hard to be a vampire slayer if you're scared of cemeteries."

3.Ornithophobia-fear of birds. Lucille Ball's earliest memory was when she was 3 years old, the day of her father's death. She remembered a bird that flew through the window, a picture fell of the wall, the doctor's visit, and mother's weeping. She developed a lifelong phobia of birds.

4. And for those who don't like mirrors-spectrophobia-best not play Bloody Mary. You know, the one where you go into a darkened room with a mirror that is lit by a candle and chant 'Bloody Mary'? Who knows what you might see? Though it's probably only an optical illusion because if you look into a dimly lit mirror for too long, you're sure to see something!

And my own phobia?

Claustrophobia-fear of confined spaces. I can't handle even the thought of being somewhere that has tons of people. Once I had a severe panic attack while at the Sacramento State Fair. Just too many people all over the place. And yes, the infamous painting The Scream by artist Edvard Munch, sums up how a panic attack feels.

An added bonus is included in the appendix on how to overcome these fears.

Fun way to show the different types of phobias out there. Includes little known ones like pogonophobia-fear of beards-to social phobias. A must have for nonfiction fans that love an unique twist in learning about fascinating fears.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."