Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
2046 1
Historical Heartthrobs: 50 Timeless Crushes—from Cleopatra to Camus
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN
978-1936976102
Buy This Book
      
Hot tip for potential "Jeopardy" contestants: History really comes alive when you stop to consider the likes of Eva Peron and Nikola Tesla as potential members of your dating pool. Some items for consideration: Stalin was handsome as a devil, but he lived like one too (c.f. the purges). Che had the smoldering good looks, but would he only look out for himself in a relationship (he is eerily photogenic, after all)? And what about Nelly Bly? Was it legal to look that good in 1884?

"Historical Heartthrobs" includes both men and women from a wide range of countries, ethnicities, and historical epochs. Some are artists, some are scientists, and many are political or military leaders, but all have had a lasting impact on human life—and a sizable impact on their admirers as well. In addition to an iconic image of each personality, each entry contains essential information about when these people lived and died, where they came from, what their best features were, and why they mattered. Each entry concludes with a crushability ranking: a measurement of how crushworthy these people really were, based on their relative levels of heroism/villainy.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fascinating Look Into Historical People
(Updated: October 24, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
This is a fun collection of historical public figures that asks the question--Would you date them? There's some really fun trivia on each of these 50 individuals including a 'heat factor' that ranks their worthiness to be a crush.

Here's some of my favorites:

Ernest Hemingway(ohmigosh, but he was hot when he was younger!). Love this quote:

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed." He rates a 3 out of 5 on the heat factor.

Frida Kahlo is one of my favorites as she shares my Mexican heritage and was an amazing artist. She wasn't afraid to be true to herself.

Gloria Steinem is huge with helping bring awareness to equal rights to women. Fact I didn't know: While she was in India after college, the CIA asked her to oversee a front called the Independent Service for Information. She accepted money from the CIA to spy on Communist student groups.

Frederick Douglas(who also was a hottie when younger!). His determination to lift himself up and escape slavery was amazing. He was courageous in his quest to let others know the evils of slavery.

Cesar Chavez-my all time hero. He championed for migrant and Latino civil rights. My own great-grandmother Acuna's family were migrant workers that would come over through Sonora, Mexico looking for work. I learned in Chicano Studies about the poor conditions others like my family went through as migrants. What I love is Chavez's hero was Gandhi and he used non-violent resistance in his rallies. **One fun note, in the early 90s I was approached to march with him and others but sadly I couldn't go.

There's even some controversial figures like Che Guevara, who fought beside Castro to overthrow a dictator.

Bugsy Siegel who founded Vegas and was very charming but a sociopath.

Eddie Chapman a double agent during World War II who maintained fiancees on both sides of his wartime allegiances.

There's so many other equally fascinating individuals in this collection that is sure to be the hit of the party. So many fun quotes, tidbits, and photos. There's sure to be something for everyone! Once again Zest delivers a winner!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."