The Golden World

25 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see if you would save your Connector. Yes, yes, I know he’s not really your Connector. My father told me about how things are in your world. But over here, everyone believes he is your Connector; there is no other way of thinking about these relationships. And when you climbed up to try and save him, you passed the test. The bird will be willing to carry you up to the hut now. Ready to go?” She was looking at me like she really had no desire to explain all this to an ass like me.

I nodded, wondering, what it would take to get her to respect me.


Surely, Shogun, the half-breed apso knew his 14-year old owner, Peter Petersham, was not doing the right thing when they stepped through the portal in that thread-bare carpet.

One step and they were changed forever. No longer could they be just pet and master.

They had just come to the land of the Connectors and the Dwellers and that is what they must be from here on.

Each Dweller of the Golden World had a creature by their side - their mate for life - their Connector. The love they shared is the life-blood of the World.

All this has been true since time before time . . . but when Peter crashes in with Shogun they find a land hung over by deep fog, lashed by acid rain.

Nothing grows. Very little survives.

There is a new players in the Golden World: the OWNER.

The bond between Dweller and Connector is shredded. Those who resist are in hiding and Peter joins this core group of resisters made up of a mere six Dwellers.

Together they must travel across the beautiful, blasted land to reach their only hope – the SEERS of the land who perch on the high mountains that bind the edges of the Golden World.

And then, unexpectedly, one more joins their number: Goshanna, half-human, half-Dweller. She is irresistible, not just to the OWNER but also to Peter. A unique being in this World of unique beings; Peter cannot help but fall in with her but will she lead them to their final breakthrough against the OWNER or will she damn them forever?

The confrontation between the forces of the OWNER and the resisters approaches and not even the SEERS can foretell what the final outcome will be.

Will the Golden World ever regain its balance in time and space? Will the Connectors and Dwellers re-connect in a bond of love and wholeness as they have for aeons past? Or is it all over for a World once bound by love, now held together by ruthless force?

And over it all hangs the unmentionable question: Does Peter know of his own connection to the disintegration of this once perfect land . . .?
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
pavel zayats
Publisher Name
varvara yurova

Chess Not Checkers

64 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess Not Checkers
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures and situations. The novel’s thrills happen in both urban and rural environments. A twenty-year-old, Thaddeus Adams, is looking back to when he was a self-described “nerd” who stood up to a brutal bully, Earl Jacobson. The bully is gang affiliated and heartless, and he adds layers of difficulties to Thaddeus’ life that no teen should have to endure. The challenges require strategic planning which shears off layers of Thaddeus’ nerd qualities. At times, we see Thaddeus knocked flat on his back, and at other times we see him standing strong with confidence; he learns to depend on family, community, and friends to survive. Chess not Checkers is sure to become a teen classic.
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Golden Butterfly Publishing
Genre/Type

Some Kind of Wonderland

84 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes we all need an escape down a rabbit hole.

Since her parents’ divorce, Allyson’s only source of comfort and refuge has been within the pages of Alice in Wonderland, which her father used to read to her every night. Now a quiet and shy teenager, she auditions for her school’s production of the story, despite having no previous acting experience. But no one knows Alice like she does—she’s memorized every word—and she believes that getting the part is the only way her father will return for her.

Instead, she is enlisted as an assistant to the stage manager, and she runs afoul of the drama queen cast in the role she desires. Shuffling between a full deck of actors, a fidgety time-obsessed director, and an over-caffeinated costume crew, can Allyson navigate the bizarre world of high school theater? And how will her mother feel when she finds out it’s that story?

As fiction merges with fact and her present reality uncovers past memories, what curious things will Allyson discover—and how much will she grow—along the journey through her own kind of Wonderland?

The Curie Society

155 0
 
4.2
 
0.0 (0)
The Curie Society

An action-adventure original graphic novel, The Curie Society follows a team of young women recruited by an elite secret society—originally founded by Marie Curie—with the mission of supporting the most brilliant female scientists in the world. The heroines of the Curie Society use their smarts, gumption, and cutting-edge technology to protect the world from rogue scientists with nefarious plans. Readers can follow recruits Simone, Taj, and Maya as they decipher secret codes, clone extinct animals, develop autonomous robots, and go on high-stakes missions. The Curie Society introduces an entertaining, empowering media universe for fans hungry to read about brilliant, analytical young women as scientific heroes. Stay tuned for more Curie Society missions featuring our heroes saving the world through their STEM skills and teamwork.

Co-Authors / Illustrators
Sonia Liao
Publisher Name
MIT Press

Blade of Mad Vision

187 1
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Blade of Mad Vision
A destructive energy is gaining strength on the planet Saffrian. The artist Cabrill, barely seventeen, sees the threat in her sculpture, which soars like a bird, as if alive. Her art is a warning. Her own guild declares her dangerous and wants her dead. Still, she continues to create.

Her images are filled with a boy in shiny clothes wielding an impossibly thin sword, and a girl with a defiant look. The girl, thirteen-year-old Skylar, suddenly emerges from another world through a portal that was sealed centuries ago. But the boy, her brother, is still on the far away planet. He must be brought to Saffrian, and soon!

High-tech fencing clashes with ancient swordplay as a desperate brother, a kidnapped sister with a mind of her own, and an artist with unusual abilities fight to save a world.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."