The First Holidays

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
327 0
The First Holidays
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
December 19, 2020
ISBN Number
B08R2Y5DCS

Lila Weston is a pro at keeping secrets, but this time, she can’t wait to share with her friends and *ahem* boyfriend. She has been counting down the days until Gavin, Beth Ann, and Dylan are home for the holidays. Despite seeing Gavin most weekends, however, they haven’t spent more than a day or two together since the summer. And she’s worried their time apart might have changed things, that he might not be as excited about her big decision as she hopes. Beth Ann is skilled in avoiding her issues, but she’s never had to face someone just as stubborn. All year, she’s brushed off Dylan’s flirting, claiming he’s ridiculously friendly to everyone. Yet, the extra attention he seems to save just for her warms her from head to toe. It was easy to ignore while in New York, but now she’s home for three weeks. And there’s no way she’ll be able to stay away. ---------- This short story is perfect for readers who just want some fluff for the holidays. Our favorite characters from The Last Summer are back and full of love and dreams… and nerves. While this story can be read on its own, it does follow the events of The Last Summer and serves as a sort of prequel to The Final Chance. One couple does get their happy ending, but the other has to wait until The Final Chance, out 1/20/20!

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Perfect For Those who love Cait Marie's characters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance. THE FIRST HOLIDAYS takes place between the two books and get you so excited for the next one!

With Gavin coming home for the holidays, Lila couldn't be more excited. It's scary when you're forced to spend time away from the one you love. You never know if things are going to change during that time. But Gavin and Lila are made for each other. I adore the relationship they have and it's cute being able to witness their first Christmas together.

We also get to see Beth Ann, who wants to focus on school and Dylan who wants there to be more between them. I looked forward to their chapters and it makes me so excited to read their story! I love how sweet and loyal Dylan is. I looked forward to their chapters the most.

Final Verdict: THE FIRST HOLIDAYS is a sweet short that is perfect for those who love the holidays with a dash of love. It's also a good "in between" while eagerly awaiting the next book or for those who can't get enough of Cait Marie's characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
So Sweet
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series.

The Story:
Four best friends have been separated at their various colleges for months, only occasionally seeing each other. It had been a rough time for all of them with one being diagnosed with a brain tumor.
Now, they're all traveling back to their hometown for the holidays, hoping to spend a few weeks catching up. Lila never left, and is looking forward to the boy she fell in love with being at her side so she can surprise him with good news. Gavin only wants his girl.
Dylan is nervous because he's gotten closer to Beth Ann through months of texting, but she's keeping him at arm's length, knowing she'll have to go back to school across the country soon.

What I loved:
There's a sweetness here that fits so well with the rest of the series. The characters all have their flaws, but it only makes them better. They're every bit their ages with the anxieties and fears, but also the innocence that comes with first loves. The story is a one-sitting read because it features such easy writing that by the time I looked up, I was mostly done.
It's a good author who can weave four characters' storylines together so well with their family drama, relationships, and individual worries.
I'd recommend reading the rest of the series along with this to get the full experience of what they're going through and what they've been through. You won't regret it.

Final Verdict: A sweet story of friendship and first love, written in an engaging style that never lets up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."