The Lost Link

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
608 0
The Lost Link
Age Group
15+
Published Date
March 23, 2020
ISBN Number
B085K6JLFB
ASIN Number
      

I die every night in my dreams. Add to that the hallucinations of people I've never met and creatures that don't exist, and you can see why I don’t let anyone in. People don't take well to weirdos that can't tell reality from illusion. That all changed the day a dragon attacked. Yup, that’s right. A real-life, smoke-breathing dragon hunted me down in the middle of a school day. I only escaped because a Faerie forced me to jump through a fire portal into a realm of magic. Normal, right? Just when I thought things couldn't get any weirder, I met him. The Fae prince. Eyes of jade, ebony hair, and a smile that made my knees weak. Too bad he was my mortal enemy sent to finish what the dragon started. Now, faced with parallel worlds, a daring escape plan, and an evil queen bent on taking over the universe, only one thing is for certain. I’m in way over my head.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Portals, Dragons, & Fae
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The Lost Link is Michelle Bryan‘s newest fantasy, and I couldn’t get enough of it! There are dragons, magic, fae, and portals, a man who reminds me of Mr. Miyagi, an evil queen, and did I mention dragons? Unlike anything I’ve ever read, The Lost Link delivers an epic adventure and it’s only the start of Jette’s story.

Bridjette, or Jette, is our snarky main character, and I love her! She is snarky and sassy, protective and loyal, not to mention she thinks she’s crazy at the start of the book. Her whole life Jette has seen other people and creatures that are not of this world. She has nightmares about morquals and a woman, who looks a lot like herself, throwing her into a river. Then the unthinkable happens. A dragon finds her at school, and she isn’t the only one that sees it. Thrown into a world of make-believe, Jette soon comes to realize that the things she believed to be fake are very real. I love her reaction to this. It’s raw and real, reminding me of how any person today might act if encountering magic.

Upon arriving in this new world, through a portal in an alley, Jette encounters Starke, a Fae prince. There is something about this prince that draws Jette in. She trusts him against the judgment of her new friends, and I have to say I love him. Starke has a self-deprecating humor that endeared him to me. He’s humble and kind, even to those that would have his head. And the chemistry between Jette and Starke….boiling hot!

The story itself focuses a lot on world-building. Michelle Bryan excels at this, building a world within worlds. Jette is thrust into this world from her dreams only to find it is all real. There are new creatures for her to encounter. Magic is real, and the world is on the brink of extinction. All of this is shown in the landscape the author paints with her words. It is tangible and real. I wanted to jump through the portal with Jette!

Overall I really enjoyed The Lost Link. Jette is a fun character. Her snark lightens an otherwise dark read. While I didn’t get into the plot much in my review, it is action-packed and filled to the brim with surprise twists and a few unexpected characters. Personally I loved it! If you enjoy fantasy, adventure, and a dash of romance, I highly recommend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I love these characters!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Jette suffers from hallucinations, at least that's what the doctors tell her. However, as they take on the shape of dragons, she can't deny how real they feel. Then, her teacher and only friend wisks her away to a whole different world. It's a world where creatures like the fae exist and Jette learns that she isn't an ordinary person. Everyone looks to her like she's some powerful being, but she doesn't feel it. Instead, she feels magic-less.

In this world, she meets Starke. He's cocky, arrogant, and loves to tease her. Her grandmother insists that he's the enemy, but Jette doesn't see it. When a situation lands the two together, Jette finds herself drawn to him and sees a side of Starke that opens her eyes to who he really might be. With him, the mark on her wrist flares to life and it's a connection she can't deny.

THE LOST LINK is a magical fantasy with characters who keep you on your toes. Michelle Bryan always does an amazing job of creating characters that you want to cheer on. I love Jette's sarcasm and Starke's cockiness. The two together is like watching a whirlwind whip through the trees and I love every second of it. There are also some minor characters pulling at your heartstrings, like Cara and Shay.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to fans of fantasy, fae, dragons, magic, betrayal, and romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."