The Lost Link

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
662 0
The Lost Link
Age Group
15+
Published Date
March 23, 2020
ISBN Number
B085K6JLFB
ASIN Number
      

I die every night in my dreams. Add to that the hallucinations of people I've never met and creatures that don't exist, and you can see why I don’t let anyone in. People don't take well to weirdos that can't tell reality from illusion. That all changed the day a dragon attacked. Yup, that’s right. A real-life, smoke-breathing dragon hunted me down in the middle of a school day. I only escaped because a Faerie forced me to jump through a fire portal into a realm of magic. Normal, right? Just when I thought things couldn't get any weirder, I met him. The Fae prince. Eyes of jade, ebony hair, and a smile that made my knees weak. Too bad he was my mortal enemy sent to finish what the dragon started. Now, faced with parallel worlds, a daring escape plan, and an evil queen bent on taking over the universe, only one thing is for certain. I’m in way over my head.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Portals, Dragons, & Fae
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The Lost Link is Michelle Bryan‘s newest fantasy, and I couldn’t get enough of it! There are dragons, magic, fae, and portals, a man who reminds me of Mr. Miyagi, an evil queen, and did I mention dragons? Unlike anything I’ve ever read, The Lost Link delivers an epic adventure and it’s only the start of Jette’s story.

Bridjette, or Jette, is our snarky main character, and I love her! She is snarky and sassy, protective and loyal, not to mention she thinks she’s crazy at the start of the book. Her whole life Jette has seen other people and creatures that are not of this world. She has nightmares about morquals and a woman, who looks a lot like herself, throwing her into a river. Then the unthinkable happens. A dragon finds her at school, and she isn’t the only one that sees it. Thrown into a world of make-believe, Jette soon comes to realize that the things she believed to be fake are very real. I love her reaction to this. It’s raw and real, reminding me of how any person today might act if encountering magic.

Upon arriving in this new world, through a portal in an alley, Jette encounters Starke, a Fae prince. There is something about this prince that draws Jette in. She trusts him against the judgment of her new friends, and I have to say I love him. Starke has a self-deprecating humor that endeared him to me. He’s humble and kind, even to those that would have his head. And the chemistry between Jette and Starke….boiling hot!

The story itself focuses a lot on world-building. Michelle Bryan excels at this, building a world within worlds. Jette is thrust into this world from her dreams only to find it is all real. There are new creatures for her to encounter. Magic is real, and the world is on the brink of extinction. All of this is shown in the landscape the author paints with her words. It is tangible and real. I wanted to jump through the portal with Jette!

Overall I really enjoyed The Lost Link. Jette is a fun character. Her snark lightens an otherwise dark read. While I didn’t get into the plot much in my review, it is action-packed and filled to the brim with surprise twists and a few unexpected characters. Personally I loved it! If you enjoy fantasy, adventure, and a dash of romance, I highly recommend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I love these characters!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Jette suffers from hallucinations, at least that's what the doctors tell her. However, as they take on the shape of dragons, she can't deny how real they feel. Then, her teacher and only friend wisks her away to a whole different world. It's a world where creatures like the fae exist and Jette learns that she isn't an ordinary person. Everyone looks to her like she's some powerful being, but she doesn't feel it. Instead, she feels magic-less.

In this world, she meets Starke. He's cocky, arrogant, and loves to tease her. Her grandmother insists that he's the enemy, but Jette doesn't see it. When a situation lands the two together, Jette finds herself drawn to him and sees a side of Starke that opens her eyes to who he really might be. With him, the mark on her wrist flares to life and it's a connection she can't deny.

THE LOST LINK is a magical fantasy with characters who keep you on your toes. Michelle Bryan always does an amazing job of creating characters that you want to cheer on. I love Jette's sarcasm and Starke's cockiness. The two together is like watching a whirlwind whip through the trees and I love every second of it. There are also some minor characters pulling at your heartstrings, like Cara and Shay.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to fans of fantasy, fae, dragons, magic, betrayal, and romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
"HEARTBREAKERS AND FAKERS is a consuming YA contemporary romance that I absolutely devoured. Penny wakes up on the lawn after..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD ZULU..."