The Raven and the Dove

Featured
 
4.6 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
702 0
The Raven and the Dove
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
March 09, 2020
ISBN Number
9781087812618
ASIN Number
      

Four fates collide in this avian-inspired, epic fantasy retelling of Tristan and Isolde perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Sabaa Tahir, and Leigh Bardugo! A princess longing to be free... On the dawn of her courtship trials, Princess Lyana Aethionus knows she should be focused on winning her perfect mate, yet her thoughts wander to the open sky at the edge of her floating kingdom. One final adventure calls. Upon fleeing the palace, the last thing she expects to find is a raven prince locked in a death match with a dragon. A bastard aching to belong... Reviled son of a dead king, Rafe would do anything for his beloved half-brother, Prince Lysander Taetanus, including posing as him in the upcoming courtship trials. When a dragon interrupts their secret exchange, he orders his studious sibling to run. After suffering a fatal blow, Rafe is saved by a beautiful dove who possesses forbidden magic, just like him. Fate brought them together, now destiny will tear them apart... Unknown to the world above, on the foggy sea ten thousand feet below, a young king fights a forgotten war. He believes Lyana is the queen prophesied to save the world, and with the help of his favored spy, hidden deep in the highest ranks of the dove royal house, he will stop at nothing to have her. Three shocking betrayals. Two star-crossed lovers. One unforgettable journey. If you like fierce heroines, brooding heroes, forbidden romance, and action-packed magical adventures with twists you'll never see coming, don't miss The Raven and the Dove!

Editor reviews

2 reviews
The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis - Book Review
Overall rating
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0
I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the book started I thought to myself, wait... is this a Tristan &amp; Isolde retelling? When I looked up the summary, I discovered I was. I don't know why I love this story so much, it's so tragic and includes one of my least favorite tropes - Love Triangles. But my goodness, was this book amazing. First, there is the amazing retelling aspect of Tristan &amp; Isolde. It was so well done and I loved how she weaved it into her story. Then there were the avian's.. well that's what they call themselves anyways. This was done so well and there were so many aspects about the characters of this book. They all have wings of different colors and it just seems so beautiful. It was very noticeable during the ceremony and it is just something I would have loved to physically see. And then there are also dragons? I mean... as soon as you add dragons, you know it's going to be epic. The pacing of this book just flew and I enjoyed it so much. Davis weaved such a intricate story with so many subplots that all worked together. And now that I finished the first book, I need to know what happens next. </p>

I absolutely love these characters. Absolutely all of them. Typically when there is a love triangle, I'm not a fan of one of the suitors but I really like Rafe and Xander. They both have amazing qualities about them and it's hard to choose which one but I'm a first kind of girl so I'm definitely rooting more for Rafe. But I really want Xander to find happiness and it does seem like Lyana and him would be a good match too! And then there is Lyana. I absolutely adored her character. She was so much fun and true and honest. Even though she had her own secrets, it was her personality that was always so open. And Cassi. Oh, I knew from the beginning I was going to feel sorry for her character and I definitely am. I cannot wait to continue their story and see what happens to them!

Final Thoughts

Overall, The Raven and the Dove by Kaitlyn Davis was a phenomenal read. I can't believe I had it on my TBR for this long and haven't picked it up yet. I'm trying really hard to make it through all of my review copies but I just want to throw everything aside and pick up the next book in this series. I absolute loved this retelling of Tristan &amp; Isolde and how Davis made it her own story. The characters having wings with a world below them was so interesting too and I can't wait to find out more about this in the later books. There were so many amazing details throughout the story that it was so easy to paint a beautiful picture for every scene. These characters are my babies now and I just want them all to be happy. I loved following each character and felt like they had enough time in their designated sections through their perspective. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy fantast and magic and dragons! But this is a retelling of one of the most famous love triangles there is so be prepared to find it hard to choose which one is for Lyana!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
An intriguing story
Overall rating
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Plot/Story
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
N/A
An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. I would definitely recommend it.
Good Points
Solid story
Good characters
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account