Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
530 1
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)

Her fate lies just one world away… “Two Worlds is The Mortal Instruments meets Narnia.” --Amazon reader “Remember that dagger I gave you yesterday?” How could she forget the dagger—a token of her missing mother? Had it only been yesterday? It felt as if the whole world had changed overnight. As a matter of fact, it hadn’t. But instead of one world, now there were two. When sixteen-year-old Maray Johnson explores her new neighborhood, she hardly expects to see a medieval sword fight—especially not one that leaves her first responder to a severely injured boy, who despite all bone-deep wounds, has the nerve to kidnap her into an alternate dimension. This is Maray’s first trip to Allinan, a world with a falling apart monarchy. It is also how she meets Jemin Boyd, a guard of dimensions, who patrols the borders between the worlds, and seems to have a particular issue with the way Maray looks. Who is she, and why does everyone she meets look at her with either adoration or hatred? With each new discovery, Maray is left to wonder if she will ever get back home from Allinan. She only hopes that Jemin can help her uncover the truth, before the fates of two worlds are sealed… Two Worlds is bestselling author Angelina J. Steffort's new young adult fantasy romance about forbidden love, loss, and court intrigue that keeps it reader on edge with its fast paced, action packed style. -- Praise for Two Worlds: "In five words: the epitome of YA fantasy. Steffort's Two Worlds of Provenance and Two Worlds of Oblivion contain all of the elements necessary towards creating a thoughtful, engaging, thrilling fantastical read for teenagers (according to Writer's Edit) and even more. Magic system? Check. Well-developed setting? Check. Cast of complex characters? Check. A central conflict? Check, check, and check. A system of government? Check! Thanks to Claire Bradshaw at Writer's Edit and my own opinions, I can attest that Two Worlds of Oblivion is a well-written, thrilling, emotional book that deserves to be read. This series is definitely on my reread list, and I look forward to the next book!" -lifesanovelty blog "...We found Steffort's approach to this genre wildly unique and fresh, her characters were detailed and in-depth and there was something undeniably addictive about this story." -Dancing Bear Books "A smoothly executed fantasy that feels buoyant even while exploring themes of abandonment and redemption." -Kirkus Reviews "Steffort (The Wings Trilogy, 2019, etc.) brings narrative sleekness to her latest YA fantasy, balancing romance, humor, and unique takes on familiar monsters." -Kirkus Reviews -- Also in this series: Two Worlds of Provenance Two Worlds of Oblivion Two Worlds of Redemption Two Worlds of Dominion

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lots of fun
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
An intriguing world.

The story:
Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just her dad. Her mother abandoned them when she was young and they never got over it. When she stumbles upon a young man fighting a creature she’s never seen before, she saves his life. In return, he abducts her into another dimension straight out of a fantasy.
He has his reasons, Maray’s remarkable resemblance to the queen for one. But there are secrets in Maray’s family, secrets she isn’t quite prepared to learn.

What I loved:
Maray. She’s the kind of character one can root for. Smart. Capable. Funny. I love how much she challenges Jem. The writing style has an effortless quality that makes it an easy read. And the new world leaves you wanting more.

What was just okay:
It was hard to connect to the story in places and I think that’s because there are more than two POVs. Some modern language is used by the people in the fantasy dimension that it was a bit jarring.

Final Verdict:
An exciting opening to what promises to be a great series. With great character development and a fascinating world, it’s sure to delight young readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."
New Shoes, Red Shoes
 
3.5
"NEW SHOES, RED SHOES is a cute and simple book about shoes. The illustrations feature a young boy going out..."
Elevator Bird
 
5.0
"ELEVATOR BIRD is a cute picture book about making your friends' dreams come true. Elevator Bird is an essential part..."