Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
385 1
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)

Her fate lies just one world away… “Two Worlds is The Mortal Instruments meets Narnia.” --Amazon reader “Remember that dagger I gave you yesterday?” How could she forget the dagger—a token of her missing mother? Had it only been yesterday? It felt as if the whole world had changed overnight. As a matter of fact, it hadn’t. But instead of one world, now there were two. When sixteen-year-old Maray Johnson explores her new neighborhood, she hardly expects to see a medieval sword fight—especially not one that leaves her first responder to a severely injured boy, who despite all bone-deep wounds, has the nerve to kidnap her into an alternate dimension. This is Maray’s first trip to Allinan, a world with a falling apart monarchy. It is also how she meets Jemin Boyd, a guard of dimensions, who patrols the borders between the worlds, and seems to have a particular issue with the way Maray looks. Who is she, and why does everyone she meets look at her with either adoration or hatred? With each new discovery, Maray is left to wonder if she will ever get back home from Allinan. She only hopes that Jemin can help her uncover the truth, before the fates of two worlds are sealed… Two Worlds is bestselling author Angelina J. Steffort's new young adult fantasy romance about forbidden love, loss, and court intrigue that keeps it reader on edge with its fast paced, action packed style. -- Praise for Two Worlds: "In five words: the epitome of YA fantasy. Steffort's Two Worlds of Provenance and Two Worlds of Oblivion contain all of the elements necessary towards creating a thoughtful, engaging, thrilling fantastical read for teenagers (according to Writer's Edit) and even more. Magic system? Check. Well-developed setting? Check. Cast of complex characters? Check. A central conflict? Check, check, and check. A system of government? Check! Thanks to Claire Bradshaw at Writer's Edit and my own opinions, I can attest that Two Worlds of Oblivion is a well-written, thrilling, emotional book that deserves to be read. This series is definitely on my reread list, and I look forward to the next book!" -lifesanovelty blog "...We found Steffort's approach to this genre wildly unique and fresh, her characters were detailed and in-depth and there was something undeniably addictive about this story." -Dancing Bear Books "A smoothly executed fantasy that feels buoyant even while exploring themes of abandonment and redemption." -Kirkus Reviews "Steffort (The Wings Trilogy, 2019, etc.) brings narrative sleekness to her latest YA fantasy, balancing romance, humor, and unique takes on familiar monsters." -Kirkus Reviews -- Also in this series: Two Worlds of Provenance Two Worlds of Oblivion Two Worlds of Redemption Two Worlds of Dominion

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lots of fun
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
An intriguing world.

The story:
Maray is an American girl living in Vienna with just her dad. Her mother abandoned them when she was young and they never got over it. When she stumbles upon a young man fighting a creature she’s never seen before, she saves his life. In return, he abducts her into another dimension straight out of a fantasy.
He has his reasons, Maray’s remarkable resemblance to the queen for one. But there are secrets in Maray’s family, secrets she isn’t quite prepared to learn.

What I loved:
Maray. She’s the kind of character one can root for. Smart. Capable. Funny. I love how much she challenges Jem. The writing style has an effortless quality that makes it an easy read. And the new world leaves you wanting more.

What was just okay:
It was hard to connect to the story in places and I think that’s because there are more than two POVs. Some modern language is used by the people in the fantasy dimension that it was a bit jarring.

Final Verdict:
An exciting opening to what promises to be a great series. With great character development and a fascinating world, it’s sure to delight young readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."