Adeline's Aria

Featured
 
3.9 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
568 0
Adeline's Aria
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Fire and Ice YA
Age Group
13+
Published Date
January 28, 2020
ISBN Number
9781680468458
ASIN Number
      

What would you give up to be with your idol? Your reputation? Your best friend? Your sanity? Addie is a small-town high school senior with a best friend to take care of and college plans to figure out. Jude is a drop-dead-gorgeous British rock star turned actor and one-half of Hollywood's favorite "it" couple alongside his co-star, Lana Thatcher. When the two cross paths at a music festival in Addie's hometown and begin an undercover whirlwind romance, the press becomes vicious, his faux fiancé flames rumors, and Addie must decide if her "dream come true" is worth the nightmare it’s becoming. Fans of GEEKERELLA and IDOL will love this Young Adult Rockstar Romance.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Sweet Rock Star Romance
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Addie has always been in love with the band Infernal Echo, especially their lead singer Jude. To her surprise, she runs into him after a concert his friend hosted and the two clicked immediately. However, Addie knows Jude has a fiance, so she can't fall for him. But Jude doesn't act the way the press shows him and he insists that she shouldn't believe everything she reads.

The more time Addie spends with Jude, the more in love with him she falls. He soon becomes the center of her world and it scares her more than anything. Addie doesn't feel like she's good enough to stand at his side, but he believes otherwise. Throughout all of the drama his profession creates, Jude wants to keep Addie at his side and will do just about anything for her.

ADELINE'S ARIA is a sweet contemporary romance with a twist of rock. And Jude. Oh Jude. Let me just say that he will ruin you. He's so sweet that we know it isn't a realistic trait in most relationships, but I still couldn't help myself from swooning. Add in the twist of drama and you've got a pretty decent read. And there's Skylar, Jude's brother. I felt so bad for him yet love the role he played throughout the story. He truly felt like the perfect "brother" character.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of contemporary romance, rock bands, drama, the perfect boyfriend, sweet reads, and dating a celebrity. ADELINE'S ARIA felt like fanfiction crossed with a YA novel and I devoured it in one sitting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Cute Story
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0


The Story:
Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan thing. She's never supposed to actually meet him. When he shows up at a concert that isn't his in her small town, she catches his eye and can't look away. Soon, she's living every girl's fantasy, only fantasy isn't reality. From a co-star he's contractually obligated to fake an impending marriage with to the press who don't know what he sees in this small town nobody, she's in for a world of hurt. She must decide if loving the Jude she knows is worth the hassle of loving the man the world thinks they own.

What I loved:
Addie. Girl's got backbone. I cheered her on every time she stood up for herself and didn't let herself fall too hard. She knew she had to protect herself from the fallout no matter what happened. She also wanted to protect Tabby. Those girls are friendship goals and watching them support each other - even when it was hard - made this book. I also loved Addie's parents and how they treated her like an adult capable of making her own decisions. Plus... Jude's mom and brother. The best.
The story has a hopeful feel even when everything is falling apart because you get the feeling Addie will be okay no matter what happens.

What was just okay:
Jude. I couldn't root for the guy. He lied and went too far, unable to control his anger. There were points I wanted more from him, though we finally did get it near the end- which was brilliantly done by the way, even if it did break my heart.

Final Verdict:
A worthwhile read about a strong girl discovering that sometimes love isn't enough and finding herself along the way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Thousand Questions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Second in a new series about a bright and determined...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
There's a chill in the air and frost on the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disney’s classic animated films come to life in the latest...
Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The boys of Kings Row bout with drama, rivalry, and...
Pirate Nell's Tale to Tell
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From the author/illustrator team behind The Snatchabook comes a book-filled...
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Once Upon a Time meets Game of Thrones in...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. A team of...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when...
Be a Voter!: 450 Stickers for Democracy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Get out the vote! It’s...
I Believe In You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A charming picture book that inspires confidence, boosts self-esteem, and...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling...
Of Thorns and Beauty (Twisted Pages Book 1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
You think you know the tale as old time,...
The Verity
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When being eaten alive is the least of your...
Meanwhile
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate 10 years of this completely original graphic novel take...
Grant Beagan: The Finder's Code
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s just an ordinary teenager who likes astronomy, video games,...

Latest Member Reviews

Fence: Striking Distance
 
5.0
"FENCE: STRIKING DISTANCE is a charming YA contemporary fiction that takes place at a boys' boarding school. We follow different..."
Crossing Lines
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central And engaging story about how our differences shape our worldview. ..."
Horrid
 
4.7
"After Jane's father sudden dies, Her mother, Ruth, ends up moving them across the country. They move into her mother's..."
The Oracle Code
 
4.0
"THE ORACLE CODE visits Barbara Gordon (aka Batgirl and Oracle) in her teens after an accident that paralyzes part of..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
The Kingdom of Back
 
5.0
"Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back is an historical fantasy based on real-life talents, Wolfgang Amedeus Motzart and his sister,..."
Meanwhile
 
3.7
"'Meanwhile' by Jason Shiga is a graphic novel adventure that will remind readers of the types of books in which..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
"HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is an absolutely riveting coming-out story. Amir Azadi is an Iranian American who has always..."
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
"A vividly descriptive Middle-Grade work with an ecological focus--enriched by elements of music, friendship, and atypical neurology. When her..."
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
"THE SHADOW MISSION is an even better sequel to THE ATHENA PROTOCOL with lots of action and spy-related danger. In..."
Horrid
 
4.3
"HORRID is an intensely creepy story that follows Jane and her mother, Ruth. Jane's father has just died and after..."
Color Outside the Lines
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: The stories vary in genre, time period, and the makeup of the couples, but many of them..."
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Haneul "Skye" Shin is talented, fat, and contrary to the max. Her mom tells Skye she..."
Legendborn (Legendborn, #1)
 
5.0
"LEGENDBORN is absolutely thrilling YA fantasy that captivated me from the start. Bree gained early entrance into UNC-Chapel Hill and..."
Blood & Honey
 
5.0
"This is going to be a hard review to write because I have so many words that want to come..."