One of the Girls

 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
232 0
One of the Girls
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Bluefields Publishing
Age Group
12+
Published Date
June 20, 2019
ISBN Number
1072056151
ASIN Number
      
Senior Nick Moody is the second string quarterback on Roosevelt High School’s championship football team. He’s crushed on Mia for years, but she doesn’t know he exists. It’s time to come off the bench and into the game. Nick refuses to graduate without getting the girl or the glory.

Mia Ashlock is the remarkably kind cheer captain. She’s a yes girl, and her penchant for people pleasing always leads to bad relationships. After being humiliated in a very public dumping, her teammates decide to break her bad habit with a ban on boyfriends.

When Nick sees a poster, advertising cheer tryouts, he has a crazy idea: quit football and become a cheerleader. It’s perfect! He can get close to Mia and steal the spotlight, using his true and hidden talent—gymnastics. Nick and Mia have instant chemistry, but it does him little good. If Mia’s zero dating rule weren’t bad enough, the team treats him less like boyfriend material and more like one of the girls. Breaching the friendzone will be much harder than he thought.

Content: This book contains kissing along with limited/mild swearing and minimal inuendo/crude humor. No explicit language or references to sex.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Throwing in the Cleats for Pom-Poms
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I adore this book! One of the Girls by Robin Daniels is the first book in her series Friendzone which follows senior Nick Moody who has one last chance to win his crush. I had previously read Kelly Oram’s Girl at Heart which ties into this series and knew I had to read this one. If you are a fan of romantic comedies, you are in for a treat.

Nick Moody has had a crush on Mia Ashlock for years. There’s only one problem: she doesn’t know he exists. He plans on changing that. When Mia’s boyfriend breaks up with her at the start of the school year, Nick hatches a crazy plan to get close to Mia: quit the football team and join the cheerleaders. Crazy right? Not for Nick who has spent most of his life either on the football field or on the tumbling mats. I love Nick! He is confident and self-aware enough to know that this plan will get him mocked, but he does it anyways. But he doesn’t do it just for the girl. He’s good, no great, at gymnastics. He may not get any glory on the field, but he could get it as cheerleader. It’s Nick’s senior year, and he refuses to be sidelined. I couldn’t help but to cheer him on.

Mia Ashlock is the cheer captain at Roosevelt High School, and the complete opposite of what you might expect. She’s kind, reserved, and completely down-to-earth. You might even describe her as shy at times. After her boyfriend breaks up with her in front of the entire school, her cheer squad holds a bit of an intervention for her. They tell her she isn’t allowed to date until the end of football season. Why? Because she is a serial monogamist, always flitting to the next guy. Reality is she just can’t say no. She’s too nice and doesn’t want to hurt the guy’s feelings. With a little tough love from her closest friends, Mia swears off dating just as Nick enters her life.

As you can probably guess, I really enjoyed One of the Girls. Robin Daniels writing is fun and light-hearted, yet she will tug on your heart-strings and make you ache for these characters. I love Nick and Mia. They are a sweet pairing that had me rooting for them from the first page. If you enjoy YA contemporary romance, you will love One of the Girls.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."