Skin Hunter

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
982 0
Skin Hunter
Author(s)
Age Group
16+
Published Date
June 18, 2019
ISBN Number
978-0-6485340-0-6

She didn't want to do it... but she was desperate. To escape the dangerous streets of Old Triton, the buried city, Milla takes the ultimate risk. Could a dead girl's identity be her way out? A ticket to a richer, brighter world high above the muck and gloom of her old life? Now she's part of a high tech contest, with a prize beyond money, fame and everything she has ever known. A chance to become something... new. But if anyone finds out who Milla really is, she's dead. The other competitors come from privilege, their faces and bodies tweaked to perfection. Rich and handsome Cale could be the most dangerous of all. Why is he so interested in a scarred, ugly "sinker" like Milla? To survive, she needs to be brave. To win, she needs to evolve. Just try and stop her. You’ll devour this upper YA science fiction novel because it’s a futuristic, dystopian thrill-ride with a spark of romance.

Editor reviews

2 reviews
A Futuristic Action Adventure
Overall rating
 
4.5
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality
 
N/A
Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes part in a competition with future tech that enables her to transfer her consciousness into an avatar. I really like the ideas in this story. Milla is desperate and only does it in a moment of madness, but it changes her whole life. I would definitely recommend this book to sci fi fans.
Good Points
I loved the futuristic world
Unique ideas
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Well Realized Dystopian
Overall rating
 
4.3
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0
What I loved:

The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the politics and the society down to the physical world descriptions are clear and concise, ensuring that it's an easy leap to get pulled into this dystopian tale. Hutley doesn't shy away from gritty descriptions, placing the reader firmly in the moment, but neither is she unnecessarily crass or gory.

The concept for the skins was unique and intriguing, especially the way Hutley differentiated the qualities and skills of each one. The pacing wasn't always fast, but it was steadily engaging with plenty of twists and turns.

Where I Wanted More:

I am hoping that book two brings us a deeper, more nuanced look at each of the characters.

The Bottom Line:

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games or Fire and Flood, this is a fully developed technological dystopian that won't leave you disappointed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account