Call of the Rift: Flight

Featured
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
739 0
Call of the Rift: Flight
Author(s)
Publisher Name
ECW Press
Age Group
12+
Published Date
April 03, 2018
ISBN Number
9781770413542

Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore — not if it means sacrificing lives to protect the dead. Her only way out is to join another tribe, a one-way trek through the coastal rainforest. Killing a colonial soldier in the woods isn’t part of the plan. Neither is spending the winter with Tiernan, an immigrant who keeps a sword with his carpentry tools. His log cabin leaks and his stories about other worlds raise more questions than they answer. Then the air spirit Suriel, long thought dormant, resurrects a war. For Kateiko, protecting other tribes in her confederacy is atonement. For Tiernan, war is a return to the military life he’s desperate to forget. Leaving Tiernan means losing the one man Kateiko trusts. Staying with him means abandoning colonists to a death sentence. In a region tainted by prejudice and on the brink of civil war, she has to decide what’s worth dying — or killing — for.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Adventure and Romance as One Girl Decides Her Fate
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
The Call of the Rift: Flight by Jae Waller is the first book in an alternate-historical fantasy about Kateiko, a young Rin girl on the cusp of adulthood. This beautiful story is full of lush descriptions and roughly based on lesser-known legends and myths of the indigineous people of Canada. The Call of the Rift: Flight will take the reader on a journey of self-discovery, adventure, and romance as one girl finds her destiny.

Kateiko, aka Kako, is an easy to like character. Having spent her entire life in the Rin-joyeun, Kako longs for more. She has a wandering heart, missing the only family she has left, a cousin who married into a sister tribe across the ruined divide. Against the wishes of her guardian. Kako leaves the Rin to start a journey she never imagined. Kako is fierce and determined, loyal and kind. She is also naive. This naivete leaves her open for manipulation by those she readily trusts. My heart broke for her over and over again as she made choices she would soon regret.

There are many characters that come into Kako’s life as she journeys, but two in particular are my favorites. Tiernan is a Sverbian mage, a former soldier, and probably the most important in terms of Kako’s transformation. He comes off as a bitter man, a hermit living alone in his cabin in the woods. Kako owes her life to him and his neighbor who is a healer. He offers to allow her to stay with him while she heals, and he teaches her the languages of the surrounding towns. I like Tiernan, he’s unusually kind, and I think he sees a little of himself in the young Kako.

The other character that stole my heart was Airedain, an Iyo (a sister tribe to Kako’s Rin) boy around her age. Like Kako, Airedain is finding his own way of life in the nearby city. While Tiernan can be described as Kako’s conscience, Airedain is the devil on her shoulder. He is a terrible influence, yet he is also the closest thing she has to home. He reminds her of her people. I have a feeling this boy will become important as the series develops.

The plot of the story really is a journey for Kako. When she arrives on the other side of the divide, she is running from her people and the “ghosts” she sees when she uses her water gift. She refuses to attune to her spirit animal (a wolf for those interested). Arriving on the other side though, she realizes that it isn’t just in her joyeun that she sees the spirit world, but anytime she calls her gift a rift appears. It’s an interesting twist to the story. War is also brewing, a saidu wants the knowledge Kako has about the Rift, and it will cost her everything.

While I had an arc of this one lying around, I wound up purchasing the audiobook. I had a hard time with some of the names and words Kako used, and it became a distraction for me. Listening made a world of difference. Sera-Lys McArthur drew me in with her melodic voice. Her tone and inflection allowed me to know instantly who Kako was interacting with. I’ve already purchased the sequel. I enjoyed her so much!

Overall The Call of the Rift: Flight is a solid start to the series. I loved Kako’s journey, which truly came full circle. Each person she encounters is a fully-fleshed out character. The world-building is phenomenal! I felt as if I’d truly stepped back in time to early colonial Canada. I highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys alternate history and fantasy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...

Latest Member Reviews

Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."
Athena: Goddess of Wisdom and War
 
4.0
" This graphic novel showcases several stories about the ancient Greek goddess Athena. Beginning sketches introduce us to a variety..."
I Speak Boy
 
4.0
"Emerie Woods think she has her best friend Harper all figured out. In her capacity as "Love Coordinator", she has..."
The Twin Dogs
 
4.0
"In his picture book debut, illustrator Inoue tells a classic new sibling tale, but offers the fun twist of twin..."
Weird Kid
 
5.0
"Jake Wind is finding middle school a challenge: his dad is a proctologist who can't stop making butt jokes, and..."