Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
831 0
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Publisher Name
Diamond Cove Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
February 11, 2019
ISBN Number
978-0998672052
ASIN Number
      

Her light protects her world. But to defeat an unspeakable evil, she’ll have to embrace her darkness… ***Solo Medalist Winner of the New Apple Book Awards presents*** Sixteen-year-old Vanessa Cross’s first clue that summer break will be anything but fun? She wipes out on her surfboard and envisions monsters. Back on land, life is its own kind of nightmare. Her hypocritical stepmother—the only family she has left—has a secret boyfriend. She can’t find the necklace her father left her. Her spirit guide talks in riddles. Her team isn’t taking Junior Grigori training seriously, except Brux, the love of her life who can never be hers. Fearing that emotions could lead her down the dark path of her cursed ancestors, Van hardens her heart and focuses on her destiny: becoming the great warrior and protector of her people. She’s ready. She’s sure of it…until she gets an assignment that shakes her resolve. Van and her team race to repair a cracked seal separating the Living and Earth worlds, but clawing at the barrier is no ordinary demonic horde. This enemy is darker, stronger, hungrier. It falls squarely on Van—ready or not—to fulfill her mission for her friends. For her people. And for all humanity.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Van is Back For Another Adventure!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I really enjoyed the first book and was excited to dive into the next adventure. Y’all it doesn’t disappoint! I liked this book even better than the first.

Van is a different girl than the one we met in Shock of Fate. The events of that book took her innocence and navieté. She is harden and attempts to be unfeeling. Van believes that feeling emotions is a weakness, one she cannot afford if she is to be the warrior her people need her to be. It’s heartbreaking to read.

Paley is the same girl. I don’t think she’s changed at all! She is very human and wears her feelings on her sleeve. This is challenging for Van who is trying to feel nothing. Her best friend forces her to confront the things she fears and grieves. I had to cheer Paley on a little for that. However at times, I found Paley annoying. How can you be a good friend and call yourself a best friend when you are jealous of and undermining said friend?! It makes zero sense to me.

The book opens as the alignment draws near. This is the only month of the year that Van can travel to the Living World without facing the Quasher (big, evil death monster). Van’s assignment for this alignment comes when a sickness is tearing through the island. This sickness has a demon origin and has breached into the Living World. Van and her team which consists of Paley, Brux, and Pernilla are charged with checking the second seal (the seals are what keep the Living and Earth worlds separate). This adventure is unlike the first. There is more of the Living World explored: more people, more creatures, more places. I loved it! The author created a fantastic world in Shock of Fate and expands on it here. I got lost in the pages and loved every minute of it.

Now I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Van’s ulterior motives on this adventure. She plans to follow Uxa’s orders to a T, but also has her own missions. First she wants to learn more about Ferox, the last living prince of the Balish people. She needs to be sure that he is not like his sister Solana and his light is pure. Van’s other mission is to find an end to the Anchoress curse. Both lead her right to the Balish and Ferox. The only thing I personally didn’t care for in this book is the love triangle that has been set up among Van, Brux, and Ferox. Obviously Brux who I love can’t be with Van. He’s her assigned protector. Ferox is also not the best choice, he’s the leader of her enemies. Personally I’d choose Brux, but that’s me.

Overall, Plague of Death is a thrill ride, blending fantasy and adventure til you believe the Living World and its creatures truly exist. Van is not the spoiled girl from book one, and my heart ached for her as I read. She has a lot on her plate at such a young age. The only downside for me (and this is purely my own opinion) is the love triangle. I could have done without that. However the character growth and the world-building more than make up for that. If you enjoy fantasy adventure, then this is the book for you!
Good Points
- Character growth is amazing to read. Van is not the same girl from Shock of Fate.
- Perfect blend of fantasy and adventure
- Amazing world-building
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."