Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
229 0
Plague of Death Anchoress Series Book Two
Publisher Name
Diamond Cove Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
February 11, 2019
ISBN Number
978-0998672052
ASIN Number
      

Her light protects her world. But to defeat an unspeakable evil, she’ll have to embrace her darkness… ***Solo Medalist Winner of the New Apple Book Awards presents*** Sixteen-year-old Vanessa Cross’s first clue that summer break will be anything but fun? She wipes out on her surfboard and envisions monsters. Back on land, life is its own kind of nightmare. Her hypocritical stepmother—the only family she has left—has a secret boyfriend. She can’t find the necklace her father left her. Her spirit guide talks in riddles. Her team isn’t taking Junior Grigori training seriously, except Brux, the love of her life who can never be hers. Fearing that emotions could lead her down the dark path of her cursed ancestors, Van hardens her heart and focuses on her destiny: becoming the great warrior and protector of her people. She’s ready. She’s sure of it…until she gets an assignment that shakes her resolve. Van and her team race to repair a cracked seal separating the Living and Earth worlds, but clawing at the barrier is no ordinary demonic horde. This enemy is darker, stronger, hungrier. It falls squarely on Van—ready or not—to fulfill her mission for her friends. For her people. And for all humanity.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Van is Back For Another Adventure!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Van, Paley, and Brux are back in D.L. Armillei‘s Plague of Death, the second book in the Anchoress series. I really enjoyed the first book and was excited to dive into the next adventure. Y’all it doesn’t disappoint! I liked this book even better than the first.

Van is a different girl than the one we met in Shock of Fate. The events of that book took her innocence and navieté. She is harden and attempts to be unfeeling. Van believes that feeling emotions is a weakness, one she cannot afford if she is to be the warrior her people need her to be. It’s heartbreaking to read.

Paley is the same girl. I don’t think she’s changed at all! She is very human and wears her feelings on her sleeve. This is challenging for Van who is trying to feel nothing. Her best friend forces her to confront the things she fears and grieves. I had to cheer Paley on a little for that. However at times, I found Paley annoying. How can you be a good friend and call yourself a best friend when you are jealous of and undermining said friend?! It makes zero sense to me.

The book opens as the alignment draws near. This is the only month of the year that Van can travel to the Living World without facing the Quasher (big, evil death monster). Van’s assignment for this alignment comes when a sickness is tearing through the island. This sickness has a demon origin and has breached into the Living World. Van and her team which consists of Paley, Brux, and Pernilla are charged with checking the second seal (the seals are what keep the Living and Earth worlds separate). This adventure is unlike the first. There is more of the Living World explored: more people, more creatures, more places. I loved it! The author created a fantastic world in Shock of Fate and expands on it here. I got lost in the pages and loved every minute of it.

Now I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Van’s ulterior motives on this adventure. She plans to follow Uxa’s orders to a T, but also has her own missions. First she wants to learn more about Ferox, the last living prince of the Balish people. She needs to be sure that he is not like his sister Solana and his light is pure. Van’s other mission is to find an end to the Anchoress curse. Both lead her right to the Balish and Ferox. The only thing I personally didn’t care for in this book is the love triangle that has been set up among Van, Brux, and Ferox. Obviously Brux who I love can’t be with Van. He’s her assigned protector. Ferox is also not the best choice, he’s the leader of her enemies. Personally I’d choose Brux, but that’s me.

Overall, Plague of Death is a thrill ride, blending fantasy and adventure til you believe the Living World and its creatures truly exist. Van is not the spoiled girl from book one, and my heart ached for her as I read. She has a lot on her plate at such a young age. The only downside for me (and this is purely my own opinion) is the love triangle. I could have done without that. However the character growth and the world-building more than make up for that. If you enjoy fantasy adventure, then this is the book for you!
Good Points
- Character growth is amazing to read. Van is not the same girl from Shock of Fate.
- Perfect blend of fantasy and adventure
- Amazing world-building
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...

Latest Member Reviews

Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."