Bea and the Bad Boy

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
978 0
Bea and the Bad Boy
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
May 02, 2019
ISBN Number
B07Q1826NK
ASIN Number
      

A strong person doesn’t seek revenge. They let karma do the dirty work. Too bad Bea isn’t strong, or at least she doesn’t think she is, which is why she jumps when the opportunity presents itself to get back at her twin brother and former best friend the summer before her senior year. That opportunity is six-foot-two, with the wing-span of an Olympic swimmer, the abs of a professional body builder and the strong jaw of a Greek god. Unfortunately, his name is Carter Haines and is Bea’s next-door neighbor. He's also dangerous. Like, police show up at the door dangerous. All of those things make Carter the right person for her plan and luckily for her he needs a girl just like Bea to accomplish a few of his own goals this summer. Primarily, keeping his job and not getting sent to boarding school. The plan goes off too smoothly, throwing these two into each other’s orbit, where they learn the truth about one another, why their lives are a mess and what it’s like to really trust someone. Bea and the Bad Boy is a standalone novel from Love in Ocean Grove, series of books about swoony first time love and toe-curling kisses for readers of all ages.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Romance and Drama
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't really know much about each other into two people who find that they've been thrown together and it isn't all that bad. Actually, it's pretty good, and the fact that they begin to fall for each other is surprising to both of them, but is icing on the cake for readers.

While Bea considers herself naive and somewhat prudish – or at least that's how she thinks her classmates see her – she finds herself wrapped up in what starts out as a fake relationship with next door neighbor Carter, who is anything but those characteristics. Rather, he is what everyone considers trouble with a capital “T,” yet he also is devastatingly handsome and knows how to charm almost anyone. His life isn't so easy, though, as he deals with an overbearing yet not-so-present father who wants Carter's swimming to be his only focus. Bea finds herself constantly in her twin brother Atticus' shadow, and the fact that her best friend started dating Atticus isn't helping matters any since she no longer feels she can be friends with or confide in her. It's the reason Bea and Carter start faking a relationship – to help each other with the issues they feel are constantly plaguing them. It all turns into something more, though, and while neither of them see it coming, they both find themselves falling for the other, and their already complicated fake relationship becomes all too real, emotions and all.

Mean girls, lies, misunderstandings, friendships gained and lost, and so much more make 'Bea and the Bad Boy' a must read for any lover of young adult romance and drama.
Good Points
Mean girls, lies, misunderstandings, friendships gained and lost, and so much more make 'Bea and the Bad Boy' a must read for any lover of young adult romance and drama.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Taming the Bad Boy
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them together. Katherine was supposed to be her ride or die, but instead, she'd rather spend time with Atticus whenever she comes over to the house. Bea wants to do something to get back at them and to show that she doesn't need either of them. So, she comes up with the plan to fake-date her neighbor Carter, who is the residential bad boy.

Carter has to watch himself this summer because if something goes wrong, his dad will ship him off to boarding school. That's the last thing Carter wants. When Bea approaches him with the idea of dating, he sees it as a chance to appease his dad. Bea is weird, but there's something about her that puts Carter at ease. As the summer goes by, both discover things about each other that will move their hearts.

I love any story involving the bad boy with a backstory. Carter fits this perfectly and I loved learning more about him alongside Bea. I felt bad for the broken friendship between Katherine and Bea because it's obvious that it's hard on them both. BEA AND THE BAD BOY is a sweet contemporary romance that will melt your heart and is the perfect summer read.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of contemporary romance, taming the bad boy, and discovering who you are.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."