Bea and the Bad Boy

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
912 0
Bea and the Bad Boy
Genre/Type
Age Group
13+
Published Date
May 02, 2019
ISBN Number
B07Q1826NK
ASIN Number
      

A strong person doesn’t seek revenge. They let karma do the dirty work. Too bad Bea isn’t strong, or at least she doesn’t think she is, which is why she jumps when the opportunity presents itself to get back at her twin brother and former best friend the summer before her senior year. That opportunity is six-foot-two, with the wing-span of an Olympic swimmer, the abs of a professional body builder and the strong jaw of a Greek god. Unfortunately, his name is Carter Haines and is Bea’s next-door neighbor. He's also dangerous. Like, police show up at the door dangerous. All of those things make Carter the right person for her plan and luckily for her he needs a girl just like Bea to accomplish a few of his own goals this summer. Primarily, keeping his job and not getting sent to boarding school. The plan goes off too smoothly, throwing these two into each other’s orbit, where they learn the truth about one another, why their lives are a mess and what it’s like to really trust someone. Bea and the Bad Boy is a standalone novel from Love in Ocean Grove, series of books about swoony first time love and toe-curling kisses for readers of all ages.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Romance and Drama
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't really know much about each other into two people who find that they've been thrown together and it isn't all that bad. Actually, it's pretty good, and the fact that they begin to fall for each other is surprising to both of them, but is icing on the cake for readers.

While Bea considers herself naive and somewhat prudish – or at least that's how she thinks her classmates see her – she finds herself wrapped up in what starts out as a fake relationship with next door neighbor Carter, who is anything but those characteristics. Rather, he is what everyone considers trouble with a capital “T,” yet he also is devastatingly handsome and knows how to charm almost anyone. His life isn't so easy, though, as he deals with an overbearing yet not-so-present father who wants Carter's swimming to be his only focus. Bea finds herself constantly in her twin brother Atticus' shadow, and the fact that her best friend started dating Atticus isn't helping matters any since she no longer feels she can be friends with or confide in her. It's the reason Bea and Carter start faking a relationship – to help each other with the issues they feel are constantly plaguing them. It all turns into something more, though, and while neither of them see it coming, they both find themselves falling for the other, and their already complicated fake relationship becomes all too real, emotions and all.

Mean girls, lies, misunderstandings, friendships gained and lost, and so much more make 'Bea and the Bad Boy' a must read for any lover of young adult romance and drama.
Good Points
Mean girls, lies, misunderstandings, friendships gained and lost, and so much more make 'Bea and the Bad Boy' a must read for any lover of young adult romance and drama.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Taming the Bad Boy
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them together. Katherine was supposed to be her ride or die, but instead, she'd rather spend time with Atticus whenever she comes over to the house. Bea wants to do something to get back at them and to show that she doesn't need either of them. So, she comes up with the plan to fake-date her neighbor Carter, who is the residential bad boy.

Carter has to watch himself this summer because if something goes wrong, his dad will ship him off to boarding school. That's the last thing Carter wants. When Bea approaches him with the idea of dating, he sees it as a chance to appease his dad. Bea is weird, but there's something about her that puts Carter at ease. As the summer goes by, both discover things about each other that will move their hearts.

I love any story involving the bad boy with a backstory. Carter fits this perfectly and I loved learning more about him alongside Bea. I felt bad for the broken friendship between Katherine and Bea because it's obvious that it's hard on them both. BEA AND THE BAD BOY is a sweet contemporary romance that will melt your heart and is the perfect summer read.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of contemporary romance, taming the bad boy, and discovering who you are.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."