Golden Crown

Featured
 
4.6 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1153 0
Golden Crown
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Independently Published
Age Group
12+
Published Date
October 31, 2018
ISBN Number
978-1719886284
ASIN Number
      

No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen. Persinette Basile has a new purpose. The chains she’s carried since the curse began are gone, replaced by a crown. But freedom can’t exist while enemies surround Bela on all sides. La Dame lurks on the border in Dracon, waiting for her revenge. In Gaule, magic folk are hunted and punished for their Belaen heritage. A journey into Gaule brings her face to face with the one person who can destroy her with one simple act: dying. No longer tied to Alex by magic, his death should mean nothing to her. As she learns more about who she truly is and the legacy of her family, she’s forced to answer three questions. Can she save the king of Gaule? Can he be trusted if she does? And what will it mean for her people if she finds herself unable to let go of him again? A rebellion. A dying king. And a magical war that could end everything. Inspired by the Rapunzel story, this is the golden-haired princess as you've never seen her before.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Golden Crown Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
This series has blown me away. For those who don't know me, I am low key obsessed with Tangled. And by "low key" I mean completely.

This third book picks up right after Golden Chains. The curse has been broken, La Dame has retreated to Dracon, and Etta and Alex are ruling their separate kingdoms. Gaule is on the brink of civil war since Alex changed the laws to allow magic. Bela is mending and rebuilding, and Etta has the full Basile power. But neither of the rulers know how to move on without one another.

Now, they must figure out how to keep peace among their people while preparing for the final battle with La Dame. And Etta and Alex need to decide what their role is in each other's life.

Like the other two books, I loved Golden Crown! I really enjoyed following the journey with all its twists and turns. It kept my interest well enough to finish in about 24 hours, which is not something that happens often anymore due to my schedule. But I just couldn't stop.

Michelle takes the familiar tale of Rapunzel and spins it into something so original and wonderful. I cannot say enough good things about this series. I absolutely recommend it! From the characters to the world building, everything is just done so beautifully. I truly enjoyed every second and can't wait to read the Cinderella books next!
Good Points
- Wonderful characters
- Beautiful world building
- New take on familiar tale
- Great finale to an amazing story
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Golden Crown Review
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with her new found powers and Alex being turned away from Etta. The plot for this book was okay but I didn't feel as invested as I did with the first two books. After the second book I knew this book was either going to be amazing or go in a completely opposite direction. Unfortunately to me, it went opposite of what I was expecting. There was so much build up from the first two books and it didn't seem like much of that impacted this book. If I look at the book by itself, the plot is good but compared to the other two - it didn't hold up. The intensity and edge wasn't there as it just repeated itself with the same issues. A lot of this had to deal with the character development.

I loved Etta so much in the first two books. She was strong and dealt with the curse in her own way. While sometimes she was a little too headstrong, she always took a step back. I understand why Etta was the way she was in this book, because of the magic, but I didn't like it. Since following Etta for the whole book, it just didn't feel like her and the magic effecting her wasn't enough of a reason for her character change. Her anger was a little too excessive and I just didn't enjoy her character as much. Alex had so much change in the first book, which was disappointing for his character this time around. I felt like all of the change he did reverted back in an instant. While I appreciate his character not being perfect, I expected more from him. It was the same with the side characters. I just felt like there was too much change each of them did in such an instant.

This book wasn't a complete failure for me. The last chapter was great and honestly I am so glad. Ending a book with good events honestly can change everything for me. While it was a little rough for me to get through the end I am so happy with how the book decided to end. Overall, this series was amazing and I'm so glad I read it. Etta and Alex are fantastic together and that all the events, somewhat, worked out. I do recommend this series as a whole for a different look at Rapunzel and a great twist on this fairytale.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm
 
5.0
"'Sabina: In the Eye of the Storm' by Bella Kuligowska Zucker is an incredibly moving tale of the author's search..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Super Sons: The PolarShield Project
 
3.0
"An alternate reality take on the Super Sons series, featuring the middle-school aged offspring of Batman and Superman. When "climate..."
You Too?: 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Stories
 
4.0
"What worked: Great compilation of personal essays inspired by the #YouToo movement. Each of the authors included in this anthology..."
This Is 18
 
5.0
"This is a fascinating view into what it's like to be a 18 year old girl throughout the world shown..."
They Called Us Enemy
 
4.0
"This graphic novel is an early life personal account of a major historical event (the internment of Japanese Americans durring..."
Poems to Live Your Life By
 
4.0
"POEMS TO LIVE YOUR LIFE BY is a collection in which each poem has been hand-picked by Chris Riddell, for..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."
Fearless Public Speaking
 
N/A
"If you have weak, wobbly knees and a pounding heart when you face an audience--don't worry, that's good! In Fearless..."
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
"A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book..."
The (other) F Word: A Celebration of the Fat and Fierce
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
Hello Girls: Friendship on Fire
 
5.0
"Some friendships are unbreakable. In “Hello Girls,” the latest novel by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry you will find a..."