Golden Chains

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1018 0
Golden Chains
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Independently Published
Age Group
12+
Published Date
August 25, 2018
ISBN Number
978-1717749482
ASIN Number
      

Never fall in love with the enemy. If only it were that simple. Persinette Basile has always known the ruling family of Gaule were meant to be her enemy. With no other choice, she fought to join them anyway. And they will break her now that they know her true name. As she sits in her prison cell, she wants one thing: for the Kingdom of Gaule to burn to the ground. But they need her. When the king is kidnapped, the kingdom turns to the only person who could possibly find him: the woman tied to him by magic. Etta. Life-altering secrets. Magical duels. A love that could tear two kingdoms apart. Inspired by the Rapunzel series, this is the golden-haired princess as you’ve never seen her before.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Golden Chains Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
All right, so I loved Golden Curse, but I LOVED this second book.

The story picks up with Etta imprisoned for having magic. Tyson and Edmund have fled Gaule for the same reason. Alexandre feels betrayed by Etta for lying about who she is, but he is also conflicted. His entire life he'd been taught that magic was evil. Now, three of the closest people in his life have been revealed to possess such gifts. Not only that, he also wonders if everything between him and Etta had only been because of the curse connecting them.

With the threat of La Dame at their border and his kingdom falling apart, Alex must decide whether he wants to rule as his father did, with fear and force, or if he should follow his heart. And Etta must figure out whether she can forgive the enemy who has stolen hers.

This book is just... I don't even have the right words. Phenomenal. I am so mad I waited this long to continue the series. (The only reason I did is because of how busy I've been. It was nothing to do with the books.)

It is so well written, keeping the reader engaged from beginning to end. Once I finally started it for real, I couldn't stop. I ended up reading the whole thing in like two sittings, and then I immediately started the next book.

I loved everything about this book. The plot and character development were superb. At the end of the first book, I wasn't a fan of Alex, but I was back to loving him in Golden Chains. Edmund and Tyson were still my favorite, but they were all great. The story grew so much in this book, and I loved learning more about the history and curse.

I highly, highly recommend this series! It's officially one of my favorites now, and I am so excited to read the rest of the books!

Good Points
- Engaging from beginning to end
- Wonderful fairytale retelling
- Amazing character development
- Well written
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Golden Chains by M. Lynn
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Feedback
I just… wow. What a different pace than the first novel! Right off the bat we are thrown into the dungeons with Etta as she believes Alex is the one responsible with the treatment she is receiving. Alex believes that Etta betrayed him and is refusing his requests. And so the tension between them begins. There is so much that happens in this story and it is nonstop. Betrayals are revealed and secrets are exposed. I loved every second of it, even if I was screaming at the book. Each page had me anticipating what was going to happen next. Was Gaule going to be safe? Were Etta and Alex ever going to forgive each other? Why is Camille such a b*tch? Everything about this story was perfectly set up and the different pace was exactly what this story needed.

This dual point of view was perfect. I’m so glad that Lynn decided to give us Alex’s perspective throughout this series. While Etta made me a little angry throughout this book, I love her so much. She has such a strong personality and I love how it influences her. This book she struggled a little more with the curse and how she was meant to hate Alex but she refuses to be controlled. Her character development was fantastic and I was surprised with how much more she actually developed from book one. Alex, oh Alex. I think one of my favorite things about Alex is how unperfect he is. He has a temper but still tries to see the best in everything. He doesn’t want to be King but still tries to make the best decisions for his people. His development was even more incredible than Etta’s. I loved the resolves he came to and how he is really becoming the person and King he wants to be.

Final Thoughts
Overall, Golden Chains by M. Lynn was a fantastic sequel to this series. There was so much that happened but it all flowed so nicely. I enjoyed reading through this story and the ending is really making me anticipate the next one in the series. Both Etta and Alex has amazing development throughout the story. The dual point of view was very successful for each character and really helped the pacing in the book. I highly recommend this book, especially if you liked the first one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."