Golden Chains

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
823 0
Golden Chains
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Independently Published
Age Group
12+
Published Date
August 25, 2018
ISBN Number
978-1717749482
ASIN Number
      

Never fall in love with the enemy. If only it were that simple. Persinette Basile has always known the ruling family of Gaule were meant to be her enemy. With no other choice, she fought to join them anyway. And they will break her now that they know her true name. As she sits in her prison cell, she wants one thing: for the Kingdom of Gaule to burn to the ground. But they need her. When the king is kidnapped, the kingdom turns to the only person who could possibly find him: the woman tied to him by magic. Etta. Life-altering secrets. Magical duels. A love that could tear two kingdoms apart. Inspired by the Rapunzel series, this is the golden-haired princess as you’ve never seen her before.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Golden Chains Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
All right, so I loved Golden Curse, but I LOVED this second book.

The story picks up with Etta imprisoned for having magic. Tyson and Edmund have fled Gaule for the same reason. Alexandre feels betrayed by Etta for lying about who she is, but he is also conflicted. His entire life he'd been taught that magic was evil. Now, three of the closest people in his life have been revealed to possess such gifts. Not only that, he also wonders if everything between him and Etta had only been because of the curse connecting them.

With the threat of La Dame at their border and his kingdom falling apart, Alex must decide whether he wants to rule as his father did, with fear and force, or if he should follow his heart. And Etta must figure out whether she can forgive the enemy who has stolen hers.

This book is just... I don't even have the right words. Phenomenal. I am so mad I waited this long to continue the series. (The only reason I did is because of how busy I've been. It was nothing to do with the books.)

It is so well written, keeping the reader engaged from beginning to end. Once I finally started it for real, I couldn't stop. I ended up reading the whole thing in like two sittings, and then I immediately started the next book.

I loved everything about this book. The plot and character development were superb. At the end of the first book, I wasn't a fan of Alex, but I was back to loving him in Golden Chains. Edmund and Tyson were still my favorite, but they were all great. The story grew so much in this book, and I loved learning more about the history and curse.

I highly, highly recommend this series! It's officially one of my favorites now, and I am so excited to read the rest of the books!

Good Points
- Engaging from beginning to end
- Wonderful fairytale retelling
- Amazing character development
- Well written
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Golden Chains by M. Lynn
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Feedback
I just… wow. What a different pace than the first novel! Right off the bat we are thrown into the dungeons with Etta as she believes Alex is the one responsible with the treatment she is receiving. Alex believes that Etta betrayed him and is refusing his requests. And so the tension between them begins. There is so much that happens in this story and it is nonstop. Betrayals are revealed and secrets are exposed. I loved every second of it, even if I was screaming at the book. Each page had me anticipating what was going to happen next. Was Gaule going to be safe? Were Etta and Alex ever going to forgive each other? Why is Camille such a b*tch? Everything about this story was perfectly set up and the different pace was exactly what this story needed.

This dual point of view was perfect. I’m so glad that Lynn decided to give us Alex’s perspective throughout this series. While Etta made me a little angry throughout this book, I love her so much. She has such a strong personality and I love how it influences her. This book she struggled a little more with the curse and how she was meant to hate Alex but she refuses to be controlled. Her character development was fantastic and I was surprised with how much more she actually developed from book one. Alex, oh Alex. I think one of my favorite things about Alex is how unperfect he is. He has a temper but still tries to see the best in everything. He doesn’t want to be King but still tries to make the best decisions for his people. His development was even more incredible than Etta’s. I loved the resolves he came to and how he is really becoming the person and King he wants to be.

Final Thoughts
Overall, Golden Chains by M. Lynn was a fantastic sequel to this series. There was so much that happened but it all flowed so nicely. I enjoyed reading through this story and the ending is really making me anticipate the next one in the series. Both Etta and Alex has amazing development throughout the story. The dual point of view was very successful for each character and really helped the pacing in the book. I highly recommend this book, especially if you liked the first one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."