Lions and Lamps

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
819 0
Lions and Lamps
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Crescent Sea Publishing
Age Group
14+
Published Date
April 09, 2019
ISBN Number
1948668211
ASIN Number
      

Aladdin-meets-steampunk in this brand-new retelling from K.M. Robinson All wishes require sacrifice…are you willing to pay the price? Cyra spent the last seven years being trained to steal an airship in a brutal competition that leaves the victor with millions. Last year, she won. Aladdin spent the past year fighting to get enough money to take his mother away from Horallen after his father was murdered. Now, his evil Uncle Kacper wants to force him into the competition and straight to his death inside the Collection Cave. When Aladdin discovers a genie said to have been banished a century ago, the competition becomes even deadlier, and he knows he can’t trust the girl who snuck into the competition this year...but Cyra might not survive his ruthlessness either in a game where only the lion’s heart can win. All wishes require sacrifice, and someone is going to pay the price for the Stourbridge. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One, Cinder, Mortal Engines, and Etiquette and Espionage.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fantastic Reimagining of A Classic Tale
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
What I Loved:
The setting is fascinating and complex, the world building rich and thoughtful. Robinson fully realizes the steampunk setting in every part of the story, from the clothing to the machines and even medical aspects. Anyone wanting to be fully immersed into a world will not be disappointed here.
The plot avoids predictability while remaining consistent and understandable. Once the story gets going, the pacing keeps the reader hooked and constantly wanting more.
The Aladdin retelling angle is robust enough to make sense, but not overdone, ideal for fairy tale adaptations.
But what I really loved was the romance angle. Though it is far from the focus of the story, the slow burn romantic build up is expertly executed and entirely swoon worthy.

What Left Me Wanting More:
The level of detail in the beginning of the story goes beyond a typical young adult writing style. Though the world building is undeniably well-explained, the pacing could have been much improved at the outset with a little less explaining, with some of the excess detail thrown in later and some left out entirely.
The side characters lack a certain depth, and the ease with which the main characters trust them is never fully explained. As an example, a character Cyra barely likes at one point is later trusted with a secret and a mission, though no relationship development occurs in the meantime.

The Final Verdict:
Lions and Lamps will fully immerse you in a steampunk adventure that keeps you on the edge of your seat, and makes you swoon in the process.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."