The Genie Dagger

Featured
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
535 0
The Genie Dagger
Age Group
12+
Published Date
March 12, 2019
ISBN Number
B07PLVF8RC
ASIN Number
      

A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past. In a land where genies and magic have been destroyed, Ara—a street rat—never anticipated stealing a magical dagger and it changing her life. When she wields it, she unlocks a whole new world of magic. Taron is used to starving. He feels the pains of hunger and the desperation of thirst every day. When a girl offers to help him, he thinks it’s too good to be true, but he quickly learns Ara is the best thief in Agora. Two street rats who are looking for a way out, Ara and Taron need each other more than they can imagine, but the dark secrets of Ara’s past won’t remain hidden forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Adventure Awaits in This Continuation of Aladdin
(Updated: April 19, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The Genie Dagger by Bethany Wicker is the first book in a new fantasy series set in the world of Aladdin. Now don’t mistake me. The Genie Dagger is a continuation, not a retelling, of the story set years after the events we all know and love. Magic is outlawed and genies are dead when one street rat discovers a dagger that unlocks a hidden power inside of her.

Ara is a thief and street rat, stealing gives her a rush of adrenaline. I liked and disliked Ara. She is cunning, sly, and loyal, but she has a darker side to her. She trusts no one, and this gets her in loads of trouble. Not only is she untrusting, she is closed off to anyone that reaches out to her. Ara’s redeeming quality is how she cares for those that remind her of where she came from and what might have become of her if not for the King of Thieves.

Then enters Taron, another street rat about Ara’s age. He is starving and has basically given up when Ara finds him on the streets. Ara shares her food with him and so begins their tenuous friendship. I like Taron. He is the opposite of Ara. He is kind and genuinely a good person. Stealing food so he won’t starve never crosses his mind. In the short time he’s known Ara, he comes to care for her as a friend and confidante.

The plot of the story revolves around Ara and Taron building a friendship and learning the secrets of the dagger Ara steals. This is where I struggled to focus. I like the characters, and I love the alternating points of view (each chapter alternates between Taron and Ara). However the pacing of the story doesn’t match with the events the characters face. The pacing is very slow until the end. At the end, the characters are rushed through the climax of the story. There are a few plot holes here too. At times, I looked back to make sure I hadn’t missed pages.

Overall I enjoyed The Genie Dagger. The world-building around the original story of Aladdin blends beautifully with the setting Wicker’s created. Ara’s heritage and the magic of the dagger become the focus of the story and leave more questions than answers. Adventure awaits for our young hero and heroine, and I’m looking forward to more of their story.
Good Points
• I love the alternating points of view, gives full picture of story.
• Set in the same world as Aladdin
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."