Inebriated

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1749 0
Inebriated
Author(s)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
February 26, 2019
ISBN Number
978-1732750401
ASIN Number
      

Barely seventeen and as pretty as can be: the summer is their playground. Cait and her best friends Steph and Allie take on San Francisco's party scene with fake IDs and short dresses. When Cait meets Adrien Cross, the charismatic lead singer of her favorite indie band, she's introduced to a hedonistic world of liquor and lust that she never wants to leave. But then that world spirals out of control and the harsh realities of reckless living take a toll on Cait and the ones she loves. What will be left when the makeup masks wash off, the bottles are empty, and Cait begins to lose her grip on everything? Katey Taylor's heart-wrenching debut novel will have you strapped into the intense rollercoaster ride of Cait's life and one chaotic summer that will change it all.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The Reality of Addiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form of alcohol, drugs, or the lure of partying. The story finds its footing exploring a world in which the allure of each of these tests various characters' abilities to make morally sound choices.

Cait and her best friends Steph and Allie are high school girls headed into their senior year. They seemingly have it all – beauty, friendship, and the ability to get what they want when they want it. When Cait and Steph head out one night to Swank, a nightclub in San Francisco, to see Adrien Cross, their favorite musician, little do they know that this one night out is going to turn into a torrid love affair for Cait and Adrien. Despite being several years younger than him, having used a fake ID to get into the club, Cait's attraction to Adrien, and vice versa, is too strong to contain. When she ends up going home with him after his concert, she loses herself in him. Their time together is seemingly over until he calls her after finding something of hers in his apartment.

While her life outside of her house is going great, hanging out with a hot musician, getting drunk and living life to its fullest, her home life is going down the drain. Her parents' divorce, while she knew it was coming, weighs on her and causes her to use it as a means of acting out. She doesn't consider herself to be lashing out at her parents. They don't even know what's going on. Yet, Cait's decisions, despite seeming to be better than those of her friends at times, are more often than not questionable. When trouble strikes, she has to find a way to cope with her past decisions, along with those of her friends.

Truth and perspective, the reality of addiction, and the struggle to shape one's life in a meaningful way while still being too young to know how to make wiser decisions than drinking all day long rule this novel. Katey Taylor has crafted a very telling and vivid picture of the way in which privilege and insecurity can go hand in hand. Looking forward to reading Cait's next adventure in 'Neon Nights,' the sequel to this story.
Good Points
Truth and perspective, the reality of addiction, and the struggle to shape one's life in a meaningful way while still being too young to know how to make wiser decisions than drinking all day long rule this novel. Katey Taylor has crafted a very telling and vivid picture of the way in which privilege and insecurity can go hand in hand.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
book review: inebriated
(Updated: May 11, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
What I Liked
This book was fantastic. It depicted down to a tee what it is like to be a high schooler on summer vacation. Anybody could read this book and see themselves in Cait and her friends. I know I did. Even though this is most likely a work of fiction, it had elements of truth behind it and that is this books biggest strength.

Cait, who was the main character, was written quite well. It’s not always easy to write teenagers but Katey Taylor did an excellent job of capturing the fickleness of teenagers. I truly saw my teenage self in Cait. The events she experienced during the course of the book was something teenagers face everyday. I enjoyed her voice and found myself rooting for Cait all the way.

What Left Me Wanting More
It was difficult to come up with something that left me wanting more because this book was terrific but I did manage to come up with at least one. One thing, and this is more of a personal choice, is the way the text messaging/instant messaging was formated in the book. It was the same text style as the rest of the book so it made it a little tricky to discern when there was a text and when there was the rest of the story. This might not bother some as it did help with the flow of the book.

Final Verdict
Inebriated is a one of kind book that everybody should read. It has well written teenagers, a great, albeit heartbreaking plot and a main character that you will absolutely fall in love with.
Good Points
Well written teenagers, great plot, beautiful cover design
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."