Inebriated

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1871 0
Inebriated
Author(s)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
February 26, 2019
ISBN Number
978-1732750401
ASIN Number
      

Barely seventeen and as pretty as can be: the summer is their playground. Cait and her best friends Steph and Allie take on San Francisco's party scene with fake IDs and short dresses. When Cait meets Adrien Cross, the charismatic lead singer of her favorite indie band, she's introduced to a hedonistic world of liquor and lust that she never wants to leave. But then that world spirals out of control and the harsh realities of reckless living take a toll on Cait and the ones she loves. What will be left when the makeup masks wash off, the bottles are empty, and Cait begins to lose her grip on everything? Katey Taylor's heart-wrenching debut novel will have you strapped into the intense rollercoaster ride of Cait's life and one chaotic summer that will change it all.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

The Reality of Addiction
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form of alcohol, drugs, or the lure of partying. The story finds its footing exploring a world in which the allure of each of these tests various characters' abilities to make morally sound choices.

Cait and her best friends Steph and Allie are high school girls headed into their senior year. They seemingly have it all – beauty, friendship, and the ability to get what they want when they want it. When Cait and Steph head out one night to Swank, a nightclub in San Francisco, to see Adrien Cross, their favorite musician, little do they know that this one night out is going to turn into a torrid love affair for Cait and Adrien. Despite being several years younger than him, having used a fake ID to get into the club, Cait's attraction to Adrien, and vice versa, is too strong to contain. When she ends up going home with him after his concert, she loses herself in him. Their time together is seemingly over until he calls her after finding something of hers in his apartment.

While her life outside of her house is going great, hanging out with a hot musician, getting drunk and living life to its fullest, her home life is going down the drain. Her parents' divorce, while she knew it was coming, weighs on her and causes her to use it as a means of acting out. She doesn't consider herself to be lashing out at her parents. They don't even know what's going on. Yet, Cait's decisions, despite seeming to be better than those of her friends at times, are more often than not questionable. When trouble strikes, she has to find a way to cope with her past decisions, along with those of her friends.

Truth and perspective, the reality of addiction, and the struggle to shape one's life in a meaningful way while still being too young to know how to make wiser decisions than drinking all day long rule this novel. Katey Taylor has crafted a very telling and vivid picture of the way in which privilege and insecurity can go hand in hand. Looking forward to reading Cait's next adventure in 'Neon Nights,' the sequel to this story.
Good Points
Truth and perspective, the reality of addiction, and the struggle to shape one's life in a meaningful way while still being too young to know how to make wiser decisions than drinking all day long rule this novel. Katey Taylor has crafted a very telling and vivid picture of the way in which privilege and insecurity can go hand in hand.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
book review: inebriated
(Updated: May 11, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
What I Liked
This book was fantastic. It depicted down to a tee what it is like to be a high schooler on summer vacation. Anybody could read this book and see themselves in Cait and her friends. I know I did. Even though this is most likely a work of fiction, it had elements of truth behind it and that is this books biggest strength.

Cait, who was the main character, was written quite well. It’s not always easy to write teenagers but Katey Taylor did an excellent job of capturing the fickleness of teenagers. I truly saw my teenage self in Cait. The events she experienced during the course of the book was something teenagers face everyday. I enjoyed her voice and found myself rooting for Cait all the way.

What Left Me Wanting More
It was difficult to come up with something that left me wanting more because this book was terrific but I did manage to come up with at least one. One thing, and this is more of a personal choice, is the way the text messaging/instant messaging was formated in the book. It was the same text style as the rest of the book so it made it a little tricky to discern when there was a text and when there was the rest of the story. This might not bother some as it did help with the flow of the book.

Final Verdict
Inebriated is a one of kind book that everybody should read. It has well written teenagers, a great, albeit heartbreaking plot and a main character that you will absolutely fall in love with.
Good Points
Well written teenagers, great plot, beautiful cover design
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."