Love at First Fight

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1204 0
Love at First Fight
Author(s)
Age Group
13+
Published Date
January 18, 2019
ISBN Number
1795235136
ASIN Number
      

Band Geek vs Quarterback... One humiliating photo, a stupid prank, and a hashtag that goes viral. That's how my senior year goes from predictable to absurd in a heartbeat. This year is supposed to be easy. I've finally scored first chair in band, my college applications are done, and all my friends and I have to do is survive one more year of high school before our real lives can begin. Instead, I find myself in trouble with the principal, humiliated in front of the entire school, and fighting with my neighbor—AKA star quarterback, Prince Charming, and nicest guy on the planet. And that's just on the first day back at school. Trust me, it only gets worse from there. As #GeeksGoneWild trends on social media, my friends and I are the targets of an online witch hunt. But they've picked on the wrong people and retaliation is severe. As the tension escalates, it soon becomes clear that someone needs to step up and put an end to this nonsense. If that means playing nice with the quarterback, I guess that's what I have to do. Now if someone could please tell my heart that this new friendship is just for show. And the kisses...oh, the kisses. Someone please remind me that they don't mean a thing.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Love at First Fight Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Take everything you think you know about the geek-and-jock-fall-in-love trope and throw it away because this book does not follow the expected patterns of those stories.

In "Love at First Fight," we have Margo, Suzie, and Matt, the self-proclaimed geeks and outcasts of Grover High. They don't fit in, but they don't care. They're enjoying life and looking forward to finishing high school so they can move on. When their back-to-school "party" gets crashed by the popular kids, and the hashtag #GeeksGoneWild goes viral, it's war.

Jason is the quarterback of the football team and all around popular guy, but he's not the stereotypical jock. He is the nicest person, who genuinely cares about his friends, and happens to be neighbors with Margo. They were friends growing up, but they've drifted apart over the years. With the war between their two cliques, they decide to call a truce and be friends in hopes that it will spread to the other students. They just hope it works before someone takes things too far.

I love this book! I didn't really know what to expect, but it wasn't this. The characters challenge stereotypes, and I think that's one of the things I love most. It was refreshing to have a jock be nice from the start. He doesn't have this hidden persona behind a mask--he's always nice and everyone knows that's who he is. There's an equally nice cheerleader, Julia, too. Then there's Margo, the band geek who is not afraid to be herself. She speaks up and fights for herself and her friends.

Everything is well-written, and it was easy to read. I like Dallen's style a lot. I'm very happy that it was dual point of view, as well as first-person. This really lets you into the characters' minds and you can see their true thoughts and feelings. Jason's genuineness was heartwarming, and I don't think it would have come across as well if it were written differently.

This book brought back a lot of memories from high school. I wasn't in band, but, like Margo, I didn't ever fit in. This book really captures the feelings of being an outsider. Without spoiling, there's a moment when she says, "Maybe everybody feels that way," in regards to not fitting in. As an adult, I've come to realize the truth in this assumption. I struggled for a very long time, into my twenties even, with this feeling of not belonging. It hasn't been all that long that I've been able to really be myself and love who I am as a person. This book does a wonderful job of showing that people are not as alone as they may think, and that's so important.

The ONLY thing I wish there was more of is interactions with their friends--Luke, Suzie, and Matt. There is a lot of focus on Jason, Margot, Julia, and the two primary "mean" students, Joel and Cara, which makes sense, but I want more of the others. We only get a brief glimpse of Luke and I want more. I want to know what his deal is--why does he act the way he does, how did he become best friends with Jason when he hates football, etc. There are two more books, one that follows Suzie and one about Matt, so I'm sure all those questions will be answered at some point.

I will absolutely be continuing with the rest of this series, and then I'll be checking out Dallen's other books. If you like YA contemporary, definitely give these a try. They're funny and the slow-burning romance was well worth the wait.
Good Points
- Funny and a slow-burning well worth the wait.
- Nostalgic in all the right ways.
- Well written overall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirty, a strange woman comes up to thirteen-year-old Anamaria and tells her she's from her future. Anamaria lives..."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."