Nia & The Numbers Game

 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
581 0
Nia & The Numbers Game by Dr. Kela
Author(s)
Publisher Name
BTH Creations LLC
Age Group
13+
Published Date
October 13, 2018
ISBN Number
9780999573600
ASIN Number
      
"Nia and the Numbers Game is an entertaining, sensitive and factual guide for teen girls who are facing decisions about education and sex." - Haywood Smith, New York Times and USA Today Best-Selling Author. Teenager Nia Ferguson is undergoing such rites of passage as her first crush, her first date, and her first love. She is an everyday girl facing the challenges of today with ambition and pride. In this novel geared toward adolescent girls and their families, Dr. Kela Henry offers positive inspiration as she guides girls, especially those from lower-economic families, through the often-daunting processes of maintaining self-esteem, navigating romantic relationships, and applying for college. Nia & the Numbers Game, A Teenager's Guide to Education, Relationships & Sex is a unique combination of fact and fiction. Written with the rich detail of a novel, the story follows Nia's progress from a girl in middle school to a young doctor and then a mother who is married with a baby of her own.

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Why Nia & The Numbers Game stands out
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
What readers are saying:

Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for every middle school and high school student. I absolutely loved reading this book. It covers issues that teenage girls experience with such an intelligent and nurturing tone. After reading the first chapter, I said to myself, “This is brilliant!!!” I kept reading and before I knew it, I had completed Chapter 8. This will be the book that young ladies refer to again and again about things that are going on in their lives. It will also be the book that parents, teachers, care givers, aunts, etc. reach for when they need reinforcement and guidance.” – T. Miller

Editorial Review: “The tone of the book is always casual, yet frank and very Judy Blume-esque in its candor. Overall, Nia & the Numbers Game delivers on what it sets out to do: offering frank discussion and invaluable education while entertaining young readers.” - Self-Publishing Review
Good Points
Because Nia & The Numbers Game is written like a novel and combines fiction and nonfiction, you really get to know Nia, her life, friends and family. She feels like she is your friend. You first meet her at 13 years old and then she goes to high school, college and onward! There are a lot of facts in this book, ranging from health to education such as how to apply for college. It's also very real and the author speaks to teens like teens speak to teens! It's a storybook and a lifestyle book, with important, useful information about getting an education and intimate situations that might alter your life forever. It's quite unique.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."