Tomorrow Always Lies

Featured
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
589 0
Tomorrow Always Lies
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Brain Matter Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
May 15, 2018
ISBN Number
978-0998146621
ASIN Number
      

What if you met the perfect boy, but discovered he was an android? Sixteen-year-old Nadia has an MIT scholarship waiting for her after high school. That's why a mysterious organization know as The Authority recruited her to become a spy. The girl from Saudi Arabia now lives with three other talented girls known as the Gems. They go on dangerous missions all over the world. But first, they must do their homework. When Nadia first met him, Robert was an awkward boy with striking green eyes, hardly someone on the FBI's most wanted list. But when Robert reveals his secret, Nadia and the Gems are thrown into a cross-country chase dodging FBI agents, Russian mercenaries, and a Polynesian giant named Kawiki. As the world's intelligence agencies close in on the Gems, Nadia is forced to choose between her warming feelings for Robert and the oath she swore to her friends and the Authority. Can Nadia and the Gems find sanctuary for Robert or will his self-aware mind be deleted forever? Tomorrow Always Lies is the second book in The Gems Young Adult spy thriller series that features strong characters, girl-power bonding, riveting action, and lots of fun. Think Gallagher Girls sprinkled with some Star Trek. If you like culturally-diverse characters and a sweetly-awkward romance, then the second book in Doug Solter's continuing young adult spy series is for you. Dive into the Gems cross-country adventure today!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Decent if silly teenage spy romp
(Updated: February 08, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:

Teen spy team The Gems (Emma, Olivia, Nadia, and Miyuki) have gelled as a team and now undertake dangerous missions while trying to maintain their cover as everyday high-school students. One day, a mysterious boy named Robert crosses their paths. Turns out Robert hides one whopper of a secret, and before long, the girls embark on a road trip, hoping to keep him safe from both the Feds and some unsavory Chinese baddies.


What I loved:

Each of the four girls has a very distinct personality, and are not just carbon copies of each other. Said personalities tend to clash (as often happens between friends), but in the end, they are a team. In this installment, we learn a lot about Nadia, her Muslim background, and her burgeoning feelings for a boy she can’t have.

As with the first book in the series, this story is not meant to be taken terribly seriously – think of like the Charlie’s Angels movies with some teen-girl angst thrown in. I did like that the interaction between the girls, which was barely there in the first book, was explored more here.


What I didn’t love:

The lack of seriousness, however, also prove to be kind of a detriment. It seems unfathomable that four teenage girls would be sent on dangerous missions with so little experience. Most of them didn’t have the hard edge spies need to make the tough decisions, which makes me wonder just how seriously they take their jobs. When it came to protecting Robert, the tone shifted from dangerous to awkward to silly in a heartbeat, and that was a little jarring.


My Final Verdict:

Espionage thrillers are a small sub-niche of YA literature, and while this book was enjoyable enough, I didn’t like it as much as the first one. Nadia is a great character, but many of the others are still underdeveloped. The action scenes are good but not spectacular, and I maintain this series can be a good pickup for teenage girls who like kick-butt heroines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Tomorrow Always Lies
Review of the first book in the Gems series: "Reading Spies Like Me made me harken back to those days when international espionage and taking down megalomaniacal bad guys seemed like an awesome career path." - Patrick Hodges, Staff Reviewer, YA Books Central
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."