Tomorrow Always Lies

Featured
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
649 0
Tomorrow Always Lies
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Brain Matter Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
May 15, 2018
ISBN Number
978-0998146621
ASIN Number
      

What if you met the perfect boy, but discovered he was an android? Sixteen-year-old Nadia has an MIT scholarship waiting for her after high school. That's why a mysterious organization know as The Authority recruited her to become a spy. The girl from Saudi Arabia now lives with three other talented girls known as the Gems. They go on dangerous missions all over the world. But first, they must do their homework. When Nadia first met him, Robert was an awkward boy with striking green eyes, hardly someone on the FBI's most wanted list. But when Robert reveals his secret, Nadia and the Gems are thrown into a cross-country chase dodging FBI agents, Russian mercenaries, and a Polynesian giant named Kawiki. As the world's intelligence agencies close in on the Gems, Nadia is forced to choose between her warming feelings for Robert and the oath she swore to her friends and the Authority. Can Nadia and the Gems find sanctuary for Robert or will his self-aware mind be deleted forever? Tomorrow Always Lies is the second book in The Gems Young Adult spy thriller series that features strong characters, girl-power bonding, riveting action, and lots of fun. Think Gallagher Girls sprinkled with some Star Trek. If you like culturally-diverse characters and a sweetly-awkward romance, then the second book in Doug Solter's continuing young adult spy series is for you. Dive into the Gems cross-country adventure today!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Decent if silly teenage spy romp
(Updated: February 08, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:

Teen spy team The Gems (Emma, Olivia, Nadia, and Miyuki) have gelled as a team and now undertake dangerous missions while trying to maintain their cover as everyday high-school students. One day, a mysterious boy named Robert crosses their paths. Turns out Robert hides one whopper of a secret, and before long, the girls embark on a road trip, hoping to keep him safe from both the Feds and some unsavory Chinese baddies.


What I loved:

Each of the four girls has a very distinct personality, and are not just carbon copies of each other. Said personalities tend to clash (as often happens between friends), but in the end, they are a team. In this installment, we learn a lot about Nadia, her Muslim background, and her burgeoning feelings for a boy she can’t have.

As with the first book in the series, this story is not meant to be taken terribly seriously – think of like the Charlie’s Angels movies with some teen-girl angst thrown in. I did like that the interaction between the girls, which was barely there in the first book, was explored more here.


What I didn’t love:

The lack of seriousness, however, also prove to be kind of a detriment. It seems unfathomable that four teenage girls would be sent on dangerous missions with so little experience. Most of them didn’t have the hard edge spies need to make the tough decisions, which makes me wonder just how seriously they take their jobs. When it came to protecting Robert, the tone shifted from dangerous to awkward to silly in a heartbeat, and that was a little jarring.


My Final Verdict:

Espionage thrillers are a small sub-niche of YA literature, and while this book was enjoyable enough, I didn’t like it as much as the first one. Nadia is a great character, but many of the others are still underdeveloped. The action scenes are good but not spectacular, and I maintain this series can be a good pickup for teenage girls who like kick-butt heroines.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Tomorrow Always Lies
Review of the first book in the Gems series: "Reading Spies Like Me made me harken back to those days when international espionage and taking down megalomaniacal bad guys seemed like an awesome career path." - Patrick Hodges, Staff Reviewer, YA Books Central
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."