The Nutcracker Curse

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
699 0
The Nutcracker Curse
Genre/Type
Age Group
12+
Published Date
December 01, 2018
ISBN Number
B07KNHZRR8
ASIN Number
      

Princess Clara thought she knew the main threat to her freedom. She was wrong. At seventeen years old, Clara isn’t ready to marry, and yet that’s what she must do as the crown princess of Austria. However, getting to know the foreign princes visiting her kingdom becomes the least of Clara’s worries when she picks up a bespelled nutcracker and unleashes a deadly curse. She has twelve days to find and feed the nutcracker the magical nut Crackatook. If she fails, her soul will be trapped inside the toy for all eternity and her body will turn to wood. Instead of relying on her suitors or the king’s men to find the cure, Clara saddles her unicorn and sneaks out of the palace. Her childhood friend Philip notices her leaving and makes her choose between returning to the castle or allowing him to come along. Reluctantly, Clara agrees to him joining her, and soon, they are off to lands filled with mythical creatures. Will they survive all trials and find the Crackatook in time? Or will Clara’s soul become trapped in the nutcracker and her body turn to wood? Filled with adventure, love, magic, and a strong heroine, this clean YA Fairy Tale is the perfect festive read! If you like K.M Shea, Melanie Cellier, and Kiera Cass, you’ll love this!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Entrancing Spin on The Nutcracker
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Clara is the princess and has a duty to meet with suitors to find a husband. But when a curse falls upon her after touching a nutcracker, she has to retrieve a special nut to save herself. If she fails, she will become a nutcracker. Her father gives the task to the princes, but Clara doesn’t wanted her fate resting in their spoiled hands.

Griselda used to be Clara’s stepsister, but she’s banished when the king discovers she can transform into a mouse. Griselda wants revenge against Clara for betraying her, so she sets up the nutcracker curse. Then, she can become queen in memory of her mom.

As the days tick by, Clara is happy to have her best friend Phillip at her side to assist her on her quest but fears they won’t make it in time. They meet all types of magical creatures and must get through all of the realms to find the nut.


Final Verdict: Told in alternating POV between Clara and Griselda, THE NUTCRACKER CURSE is full of magic and is a breath of fresh air. I would recommend this to fans of The Nutcracker, fantasy, strong princesses, magic, and curses.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
The Nutcracker Curse
The Nutcracker Curse is the first book in my Cursed Fairy Tale series. Each book is inspired by a classical fairy tale.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."