Through Fathoms Dark and Deep

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
619 0
Through Fathoms Dark and Deep
Age Group
14+
Published Date
November 05, 2018
ISBN Number
9781723804632
ASIN Number
      

What’s a pirate without her crew? Abandoned on an island and left for dead, pirate Grace Porter has no idea how she’ll save the crew of the Lady Luck from the traitors in their midst... until an unexpected ally appears, bringing new hope with them. But Grace hadn't counted on the fact her new alliance means she'll be forced to confront her past--not to mention, her strange connection to the sea monsters who stole her mother. A connection that's only growing stronger. Now, armed only with her wits and the stolen scrap of a magical map, Grace races off in hot pursuit of her ship, desperate to reach the Lady Luck before her enemies can rain destruction and havoc upon them. Grace prays she finds them first, but the clock is ticking. And she may already be too late. The second fantasy novel in this YA pirates adventure series will continue to enthrall fans of Daughter of the Pirate King, Seafire, and To Kill a Kingdom.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Strong Female Lead!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
After being marooned on a deserted island with Leo and Sam, Grace knows they need to find a way to get back to the ship Lady Luck. There's a traitor aboard it. But it's hard for Grace to focus on the task at hand when the Mordgris haunt her even on land. Grace can't help but feel she's going crazy.

When they signal a passing ship, Grace is surprised and uncertain when she discovers it's her father's. Grace still holds so much anger for him and doesn't want to forgive him for abandoning her, but he's probably the only one who can get her back to Lady Luck. The omna map becomes her tool of persuasion and her father finally relents. However, there's still a lot Grace doesn't understand about the Mordgris, but many secrets hid within the depths of the ocean and Grace might not like what she discovers.

I have to say that I liked this one even more than the first! I really like how Grace's father came into the picture and we are able to learn a little more about who he is. I also like watching the bond between Leo and Grace grow and that there's more of a connection in this book. Lastly, Sam. She has to be my favorite character because of the comedy she brings in. She's very entertaining.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of pirates, sailing, adventure, supernatural creatures, sisterhood, and romance. I can't wait for the third!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."