A Bond of Venom and Magic

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
550 0
A Bond of Venom and Magic
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
October 16, 2016
ISBN Number
B01J92LEAE
ASIN Number
      

Magic awakens. Darkness stirs. The Wraith Lord hunts. The war raging in the South seems a remote danger for seventeen-year-old Diamond Gillon until her home is brutally attacked. Catapulted into a terrifying new existence where legendary beasts arise, magic is condemned, and half-blood fae like her have no rights, Diamond is inexplicably drawn to Commander Hugo Casimir. But he is a ruthless elite guard owned by a cruel, immortal fae queen who murders her own people for magic. A prisoner in Hugo’s world, Diamond’s circumstances become ever more perilous; for the Queen covets more than just magic. Diamond must escape—before her fate, and that of The Eight Kingdoms, is sealed in shadow and chaos. When her life hangs in the balance, will Hugo prove to be her friend and ally, or an enemy unworthy of her trust? A Bond of Venom and Magic is the first installment in this breathtaking fantasy series. Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black. Hold onto your heart, dive in and be swept away in this spectacular epic adventure.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Gritty YA Fantasy Involving the Fae
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Diamond is a half-fae and is considered an abomination. When her home is attacked and her father is killed, she meets tall, broad, and brooding Hugo. He's one of the Queen's guards which means he pretty much belongs to her. However, Diamond and Hugo can't rid themselves of the invisible thread that seems to connect them together.

When Diamond suddenly gets a vision, she's scared to tell anyone, but knows that the human prince Jack is in trouble. She convinces her uncle, Hugo, and the other guards she's traveling with that they have to go south to help him. To their surprise, they discover a dragon attacking Prince Jack. Diamond acts on instinct, calling forth a magic she doesn't even know she possesses and creates a shield that keeps everyone safe.

Someone containing magic is usually sentenced to death by the Queen. Diamond becomes fearful of her fate, but finds her path leading her toward Valencia anyway. As they travel, the bond between Hugo and Diamond only grows. While Diamond doesn't understand it, Hugo realizes it's because of their magic. Their bond is rare but can also lead to their demise if the Queen learns about it. But Diamond will soon see how far the Queen's grasp can reach and how strong she is.

A BOND OF VENOM AND MAGIC isn't anything pretty. It's gritty and violent, which is different from your typical young adult fantasy. The dark elements within it kept me intrigued as I read. As much as I understand the reason Hugo is so cold and hot, I still wish he was a little warmer. Hopefully, that'll come in the second one which I'm looking forward to reading. The first installment left a lot of questions that I can't wait to learn the answers too.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of action, magic, the fae, paranormal romance, war, stories about survival, and forbidden romance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."