Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)

Featured
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1891 0
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
Publisher Name
Broken Books
Age Group
12+
Published Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN Number
ISBN-13: 978-1-7327330-1-5
ASIN Number
      

AN INESCAPABLE CITY. THREE DEADLY TRIALS. ONE WAY OUT. For eleven years, Lune Tatum, adopted daughter of the Supreme Elite, does as she’s told. She doesn’t ask questions. She trains for the Trials. She follows the rules. And she wants out. Her plan has always been to win the Elite Trials and earn Title of Choice, her only chance at freedom. But a boy from her past shows up on her eighteenth birthday. His presence threatens Lune’s carefully laid plans and exposes memories she’s desperate to forget. One thing is painfully clear: he can’t be trusted. He has secrets. Big ones. And they could ruin everything.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Reactive Review
(Updated: August 05, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent.” — an actual text I sent to my sister while reading Reactive.

This book. Oh, man. I feel like I can’t stop talking about this book. I requested an ARC [last year] kind of on a whim, thinking it sounded interesting. I am so glad I did!! I was very pleasantly surprised.

It had been a while since I’d read a new dystopian, and it was exciting getting into this new world with a unique story. It felt like a blend of both the past and future, in a good way. The plot was original without being so far-fetched that it was hard to read. In fact, it was very easy to read and very well-written. The whole thing was done really well.

I also love the characters. Lune is this closed off character whose only goal is to win The Trials and leave the city. The entire time she’s lived there, she has kept her distance from people– both to not get hurt and to not get attached. Except for Asher, who works in the stables. Though they’re not supposed to truly interact due to their different levels of status, they’re friends. Even if Lune tries to deny it. Asher is so great and caring, he’s a true friend through everything and it was nice seeing that type of friendship, especially in this type of story. Then there’s Bren. Bren is someone from her past who turns up but doesn’t remember her. He is essentially the exact opposite of Lune. Where she is serious and emotionally-detached, he is sarcastic and light-hearted. He constantly tries to annoy Lune and make her laugh, but he’s a hard worker too and still trains as needed.

Overall, everything just felt like it was really thought out and well-developed. Nothing felt rushed, but it also didn’t drag on. I was really happy with this book.

I highly recommend this book. Especially if you like dystopians. It’s one of the best I’ve read in awhile!

*Full original review on Functionally Fictional.*
Good Points
- Original story
- Easily kept my attention
- Incredible world building
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
A Dystopian Novel Worth Your TIme
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:

Lune Tatum, the adoptive daughter of this dystopian world’s Supreme Elite, wants out. Out of the walled city that’s been her prison, out of sight of the populace who hate her because of her privilege, and out of the clutches of the father who’s beaten her into submission since childhood. The only way to escape is to win The Elite Trials, but when a mysterious outsider named Bren enters the fray, her past comes back to haunt her. And it might cost her her future.


What I loved:

The world-building was phenomenal. It was nice to read a dystopian novel not set in the ruins of our once-great civilization, but in an actual civilization. Much of the story made me think of The Hunger Games, especially the heart, bravery, and brutal circumstances that Katniss shares with Lune. The action scenes were very well realized, and her and Bren’s tragic history evoked real emotional reactions from me.


What I didn’t love:

That being said, the interplay between Lune and Bren began to wear thin about halfway through. Lune alternated between being captivated by Bren and feeling betrayed by him. Some of the other characters could have stood to be developed further (and hopefully will in future books).


My Final Verdict:

Reactive is a worthy read for lovers of dystopian fiction, especially The Hunger Games. Lune has the right combination of vulnerability and badass-ness, and Bren is just endearing enough to steal a few hearts of his own. Moynihan’s writing style will keep you turning pages until the very end.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."