The Secret Lives of Princesses

Featured
 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
544 0
The Secret Lives of Princesses
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Seven Steps Publishing
Age Group
12+
Published Date
September 14, 2018
ISBN Number
1986358313
ASIN Number
      

ONE RULE. DON'T FALL FOR THE BAD BOY. Sixteen-year-old Jasmine Patel dreams of becoming a painter. When an art contest win gives her the opportunity to paint the school mural, she's overjoyed at the chance to leave her artistic mark on St. Mary's Academy. There's just one problem. She won't be painting the mural alone. Oliver Santiago is Jasmine's sworn enemy. He's hot, cocky, the school's resident bad boy and a total slacker. When a mix-up in the art contest entries puts Ollie's secret artistic abilities on display, he's out for revenge, and Jasmine is firmly in his crosshairs. But one chance midnight meeting changes everything, sending tempers flaring, sparks flying, and revealing secrets that change their worlds forever. Can Jasmine keep it together long enough to finish the mural on time? Or is this good girl about to go bad? Inspired by the story of Aladdin, The Secret Lives of Princesses is the fifth book in the St. Mary's Academy series. It's filled with romance, secrets, and just a touch of danger. Grab your copy of this unforgettable young adult contemporary romance today. St. Mary's Academy is a young adult contemporary romance series that brings classic fairytale characters to life in a modern day, high school setting. It's filled with angsty heroines, hot heroes, and drama galore. Be prepared. You've never seen fairytales quite like this. Book 0 - The Beginning of Forever Book 1 - The Boyfriend Agreement Book 2 - Chasing Mermaids Book 3 - The Golden Boy Book 4 - Stealing Hearts Book 5 - The Secret Lives of Princesses

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Contemporary Romance with Aladdin Elements
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
THE SECRET LIVES OF PRINCESSES brings elements of Aladdin (one of my favorite fairy tales) into today's society. Jasmine has always had trouble figuring out who she really is. She feels like she constantly puts on a facade because her home life isn't as great as it seems. At school, everything seems perfect to others, except Ollie.

Ollie is the school bad boy and Jasmine's worst enemy. However, no matter how irritating he his, Ollie challenges Jasmine in a new way with the upcoming art project at school. He encourages her to become better. A romance may not be encouraged between these two people, but that doesn't stop it from blossoming. What Jasmine doesn't know is Ollie has a secret that will change everything, especially the way she sees him.

The is my first book by Seven Steps, but I'm interested in reading the others as well. I love fairytale retellings and Seven Steps does it in a unique way. Her book contains elements of the original Aladdin story, but she keeps it modern. The story takes place in a high school instead of the desert sands.

I absolutely loved Ollie's character. Yes, I'm a sucker for the bad boys, but there was something different about him that held my attention. I also could relate to Jasmine's character. Both of their characters are believable and realistic which keeps us grounded in the real world instead of the magic of fairy tales.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of Aladdin, contemporary romance, bad boys, and realistic characters.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Working Toward a Goal
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
'The Secret Lives of Princesses' by Seven Steps is yet another enjoyable addition to the St. Mary's Academy series of books. Main character Jasmine Patel knows what she wants out of life, but she isn't quite sure how to take charge and make it all happen. Worry envelops her as she wonders how to tell her parents about her desire to be a painter and not a doctor when she grows up, and how to break the same news to Andrew, the guy she likes, when he takes an interest in her. Besides her friends, she doesn't seem to have much support from the outside world in terms of her aspirations, which flummoxes her since she feels so strongly about those goals.

Enter Oliver Santiago, better known as Ollie, who inspires Jasmine in ways she didn't know were possible, but irritates her even more. She can't wrap her head around why he is so ridiculously down on co-winning an art mural contest with her, but she finds herself constantly partnered with him by means of their art teacher. Finding a way to work together allows Jasmine to let her walls down a little bit, but this only causes tension between her and new beau Andrew as she struggles to figure out what she really wants for herself and how to best go about achieving it.

With her friends by her side, she discovers that her parents are closer to divorce than she thought, and when her mother decides to take unexpected interest in her life, everything seems doomed. However, at every point in the story where doom seemed imminent, a bright light always came through, even taking into account Jasmine's insistence to herself that everything is constantly bound to go wrong.

Despite the fact that the book was quite lengthy and could have likely been pared down quite a bit, there were also a few scenes that could have used some further elaboration. However, the story is interesting and will keep readers invested in finding out what will happen to Jasmine, Ollie, and Andrew, along with Jasmine's friends and family. A creative take on another Disney classic, 'The Secret Lives of Princesses' proves that one's determination and insistence on achieving one's goals are paramount to success.
Good Points
The story is interesting and will keep readers invested in finding out what will happen to Jasmine, Ollie, and Andrew, along with Jasmine's friends and family. A creative take on another Disney classic, 'The Secret Lives of Princesses' proves that one's determination and insistence on achieving one's goals are paramount to success.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."