The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)

 
0.0
 
5.0 (4)
696 0
Must Read YA Fantasy 2019 | Julien Jamar
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Pisteuo Publications
Age Group
13+
Published Date
February 10, 2018
ISBN Number
1979651728
ASIN Number
      
Only three people in the Kingdom of Lashai know that the youngest Namarielle survived the Midnight Revolution. Her Nanna, who has raised her in hiding, Elian, the Fontre who fell in love with her, and Devilan, the Fontre who tried to kill her. Fourteen years later, her hiding place discovered, Cassai is thrown into an unexpected fight for survival, and to save the kingdom she never knew she was born to rule.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (4)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (4)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (4)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Busy moms addiction
(Updated: January 20, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I love the budding love story mixed in with the evil that is happening around them, it gives the readers a hope to look forward to. I also love Elian's character!! Even though he grew up his first years of life in a terrible situation and life style he has still remained kind and compassionate. He is a genuine guy. There were a few twists I did not see coming which is always a good thing, keeps the reader into the book. This books just has an airy hopefully feeling to it as you read it. It was well written and different from other fantasy’s I have read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
A Must Read for Fantasy Readers
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little details, from the plant life to the layouts of the different cities we visit in the novel. Cassai and Elian's hidden field shows the little light in the world, despite the cruel Fontre closing in. The Borderlands not only provides a look into how the world functions, but the many characters from the town add emotional depth and elevate the stakes beyond that of our protagonists. When we venture outside the safety of this little safe haven, we get to experience the darkness this world has to offer in the Forest of Fondair and the creatures that lurk there. This danger is contrasted by the alluring land of the Fey which keeps the reader on edge, in spite of the beauty of the land that would enrapture any wanderer. The land of the Kiatri offers a look into the destruction this world has faced before the story begins, just another layer of the terror that the Fontre invoke. The world of The Namarielle is fantastically imagined and presented with diction that captures the setting and the clever writing that brings a distinct voice to the story.
The characters, even those who appear for only a brief moment, feel like real people who live in this world. Our protagonists drive the story, from the heroine, Cassai, gaining independence and strength, to the hero, Elian, proving that one's lineage doesn't define him, to the antihero, Hollis, who treads the line of right and wrong. There is real history between the various characters that is not only revealed in well placed flashbacks but also through the dialogue, adding another layer of depth to this deeply imagined story, but the most compelling is between Elian and his older brother, Devilan. The Fontre are a truly terrifying race and the author doesn't shy away from detailing their wretched acts but the bonding moments between the brothers is oddly charming, despite the gruesome nature. One would never think teaching one's brother the most grisly ways to kill something to be an endearing moment, but Julien masterfully made it one of the most captivating scenes of the story.
The Namarielle is a wonderful first entry to what appears to be an epic fantasy series. With such a well developed world and strong characters, the reader is left craving more, on edge with anticipation for the next installment of the Chronicles of Lashai. I'll leave this review with my favorite quote from the book, one that not only summarizes the character of Cassai but the entirety of the novel: "There's always darkness in the world . . . But there's also dawn."
Good Points
Exciting and captivating, your drawn into the tale of Cassai and Elias from the beginning and you're left on the edge of your seat at the end.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Excellent
(Updated: December 05, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Great!
Good Points
Julien is an exquisite writer! The land of Lashai is written with captivating description. The characters are very well molded, their storylines are entangled in a way that keeps you guessing and wanting more. I absolutely cannot wait for The Fontre to be released! I have been ready to read the rest of the series since I turned the last page of The Namarielle! This is a great read for those who like fantasy, mystery, and adventure!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Namarielle
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The story draws you in and keeps you right up to the end! I can’t wait for the next book.
Good Points
I found myself completely drawn into the story.
What a cliff hanger!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."