When Fall Breaks

Featured
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
972 0
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
Co-Authors / Illustrators
JT Authors
Genre/Type
Age Group
18+
Published Date
March 05, 2018
ISBN Number
9780986383601
ASIN Number
      

*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The Three Bookateers 2015 Indie Awards Kaitlyn Woodley is a beautiful, determined, high school senior who embraces her small-town roots and country life. She’s studious, musically gifted, and headed for a successful career in swimming. Her dreams are well within her reach. That is until she becomes tangled up with the handsome rodeo cowboy, Pistol Black. Not only does he turn every teenage girl’s head in the county, but he also turns her perfect world upside down. Kaitlyn’s protective twin brother, along with her best friends, begin to see warning signs in their relationship. When best friend Brody steps in to protect her, newly discovered feelings complicate an already volatile situation. Soon, everything begins to change. Old feelings die, new feelings emerge, and the situation that arises will alter their lives forever.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Unique YA
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Kaitlyn is living the perfect country life with her family in Northern California. She is a great student, swimmer, and musician. She has a twin brother Caden, a best friend Brody, and a handsome boyfriend Pistol Black.
‘When Fall Breaks’ is the first installment of the Seasons of Jefferson series. It is both a slow burn teen romance and a contemporary story of domestic abuse and teenage love gone wrong.

What I Loved: The slow burn romance between Brody and Kaitlyn is both realistic and very sweet. I love the idea of Kaitlyn and Brody being best friends before they started dating. I liked how the storyline tackled some hard-hitting topics such as domestic abuse and underage drinking and showed the consequences. Also, the country setting to this story is something different from the usual YA suburbia.

What Left Me Wanting More: First off, I understand that the underage drinking and risk taking in this book is to make a point of the consequences of bad behavior. However, I would have liked to see more of a parental presence in the story. Aside from Kaitlyn and Caden’s father being the football coach, their parents were almost never mentioned. Over-achieving teens like Kaitlyn and Caden would certainly have parents active in their lives and I would have liked to have seen that represented more in the story.
Secondly, being the mother of boy/girl twins myself, I found Kaitlyn and Caden’s relationship, one-dimensional and stiff. The only emotion that they seemed to show each other is Caden’s over protection of Kaitlyn. There’s no bickering, no joking, and no real affection between them other than Caden constantly looking over Kaitlyn’s shoulder.
Lastly, Kaitlyn perfection is a little much. Over and over again it’s mentioned that Kaitlyn is beautiful, smart, talented, and outgoing and is even described as an athletic Barbie doll. Yet she acts as if she doesn’t know if Pistol or Brody will find her attractive.

My Final Verdict: I enjoyed ‘When Fall Breaks’ and would really like to find out what happens next for the characters. The story is a YA romance with some important messages behind a sweet love story.
Good Points
Touches on important topics.
Great setting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Love and Jealousy
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
'When Fall Breaks' by Julie Solano and Tracy Justice had a lot of interesting scenarios going on that are not touched upon quite as much in many contemporary books. Abuse is a hard topic to display with empathy and a sense of reality, and the authors have done a good job of making sure this comes across. Often, victims are of the mindset that they are to blame for the troubles befalling them, and that is what Kaitlyn is dealing with as we get to know her and her boyfriend, Pistol, early in the novel.

Aside from her relationship with Pistol, Kaitlyn lives a pretty nice life. She has a twin brother, Caden, and two best friends, Jenna and Brody. Brody is also Caden's best friend and they've all known for each for many years. Their friendship is built on a host of memories, jokes, and nicknames, and they all get along very well. So well, in fact, that Brody and Kaitlyn each have feelings brewing for the other but don't want to say anything lest they ruin their longstanding friendship. When these feelings bubble to the surface, it brings up a lot of good for the both of them as they learn what they really mean to each other, but it also brings about more trouble, since Pistol's overly jealous nature is not something with which anyone wants to reckon.

Even though the novel was interesting, there were parts of it that were not as necessary, as the storyline would have likely worked well without it. These scenes, however, were good in that they showed both the volatile nature of her relationship with Pistol and the kind and sweet nature of her relationship with Brody. Yet, the cliffhanger ending of the novel, even though another book in the series will likely resolve it, will leave readers yearning for more, upset that they've read quite a long book without a fitting conclusion.

Authors Julie Solano and Tracy Justice have crafted a story that will pull at heartstrings, bring some tears to readers' eyes, and make those same readers upset that there isn't more to be read in that particular storyline. It speaks to their ability to engage readers, and for that reason, the novel is certainly worth checking out. Plus, you can read the first couple of chapters of the next one in the series on Amazon's "Look Inside" option.
Good Points
Authors Julie Solano and Tracy Justice have crafted a story that will pull at heartstrings, bring some tears to readers' eyes, and make those same readers upset that there isn't more to be read in that particular storyline. It speaks to their ability to engage readers, and for that reason, the novel is certainly worth checking out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."