After the Green Withered

Featured
 
3.5
 
4.5 (3)
875 0
ebookcover.jpeg.png
Author(s)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
May 14, 2018
ISBN Number
B07D2X7YSY
ASIN Number
      

They tell me the country looked different back then. They talk of open borders and flowing rivers. They say the world was green. But drought swept across the globe and the United States of the past disappeared under a burning sky. Enora Byrnes lives in the aftermath, a barren world where water has become the global currency. In a life dominated by duty to family and community, Enora is offered a role within an entity that controls everything from water credits to borders. But it becomes clear that not all is as it seems. From the wasted confines of her small town to the bowels of a hidden city, Enora will uncover buried secrets that hide an unthinkable reality. As truth reveals the brutal face of what she has become, she must ask herself: how far will she go to retain her humanity?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A glimpse into a very possible future.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:
Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and is hard to come by. When she’s offered a role within the company who controls the water, she excels in her training and is soon ready to go out into the field. That is until she uncovers a secret she can’t ignore.

What I loved:
I love a dystopian story that feels like it could be possible. What would the world look like if our fresh water was limited and a company controlled what little of it was left? I think it could look very much like it does in After the Green Withered. Springer had a depth to him that I really loved and it left me wanting to know more about him.

What was just okay:
There was a lot of information to take in as soon as I started the story; how the world became the way it is, how people live, and about the company who controls the water. It did slow down the pace for a good portion of the book. It also finishes on a cliff-hanger which doesn’t usually worry me, but it felt as though I’d only just started getting into the actual story.

Final Verdict:
After the Green Withered is a Dystopian story that gives us a glimpse into a very possible future. That, along with the secret reveal at the end of the book, make me want to pick up the second book in the series when it’s released.
Good Points
A scary glimpse into a very possible future.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.7  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great New Dystopian World for YA
(Updated: April 04, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I've just finished reading ATGW and I read it in relatively quickly - I can be a fairly slow reader but this novel kept me engaged throughout so I found it easy to power through the story. The whole premise is really interesting - a future world with limited fresh water - and this is established immediately so that we can dive right into that world (no pun intended). There is definitely a sense of secrecy throughout and always a reason to continue onto the next chapter. The central character's thoughts are really delved into and the novel plays with the key idea of morality vs. duty - when do you say no and stand up for what you feel is right and when do you go along with orders out of fear for your own life? The last quarter of the book is especially exciting as we build towards a crucial mission for Enora. Of course things don't work out as we expect and the novel nicely leads us towards a second instalment, ending on a great cliffhanger.
I'd definitely recommend this to fans of the Divergent, Uglies or Hunger Games series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Water is currency ..
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Well..... I have finished this novel and I truly liked it and will purchase the next book.

It was interesting to read the start of this book as it reminded me of novels from the 18 and 19 century that place their story in the context of society, to some all the explanations of how humans were their own slayers, might appear slow - but I thought it prepared me for what will become Enora's path.

I look forward to reading more about Drake, Stringer, Bram, Lina and even Safa (I hope she is still alive) along with Enora.

The premise if the book is that water has become almost impossible to find and huge swathes of the country and in other countries on various continents land is inhospitable or even deadly and a tyrannical force rule the survivors but controlling water supplies.

Enora is recruited to be part of this benevolent sinister company as a spotter map creator, however in this debut instalment she is already questioning the ethics of the company..... but she must survive and also not endanger her parents - so many ethical and ambivalent choices..... survival but at what moral price.

An excellent tale to be read - slowly and not give up during the prequel - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT in the story but could happen to our planet if .....

Cheers Linda.
Good Points
A well plotted book - the start may appear slow but it is essential to read for the story and our own awareness.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Interesting read
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
A must read!
Good Points
The book started a little slow as he author paints you a very vivid picture of the future we have created to set the stage for the story. The future that the author creates sets the stage for the characters and why they participate in the DMC training. However, it gets better and the end certainly delivers. It is worth keeping with it. I am so intrigued to see what the future holds for Enora and how her story continued to unfold in the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
"A unique alphabet book, ROAR LIKE A DANDELION is filled with instructional that are sure to spark some giggles. Each..."
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
"THE BEAR AND THE STAR is an elegant, Christmas-style book. Bear knows that it is time and so he finds..."
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
"I DO NOT LIKE THAT NAME features a girl, Sophie, and her rabbit, Herb, as they order an elephant from..."
The Love Letter
 
5.0
"Lovely, endearing, and heartfelt, THE LOVE LETTER demonstrates the power of telling someone how much you care. Hedgehog, Bunny, and..."
The Wobbly Waitress
 
3.5
"THE WOBBLY WAITRESS is a silly read that will make young children giggle. Mabel is a giraffe waitress at the..."