After the Green Withered

Featured
 
3.5
 
4.5 (3)
999 0
ebookcover.jpeg.png
Author(s)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
May 14, 2018
ISBN Number
B07D2X7YSY
ASIN Number
      

They tell me the country looked different back then. They talk of open borders and flowing rivers. They say the world was green. But drought swept across the globe and the United States of the past disappeared under a burning sky. Enora Byrnes lives in the aftermath, a barren world where water has become the global currency. In a life dominated by duty to family and community, Enora is offered a role within an entity that controls everything from water credits to borders. But it becomes clear that not all is as it seems. From the wasted confines of her small town to the bowels of a hidden city, Enora will uncover buried secrets that hide an unthinkable reality. As truth reveals the brutal face of what she has become, she must ask herself: how far will she go to retain her humanity?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A glimpse into a very possible future.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:
Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and is hard to come by. When she’s offered a role within the company who controls the water, she excels in her training and is soon ready to go out into the field. That is until she uncovers a secret she can’t ignore.

What I loved:
I love a dystopian story that feels like it could be possible. What would the world look like if our fresh water was limited and a company controlled what little of it was left? I think it could look very much like it does in After the Green Withered. Springer had a depth to him that I really loved and it left me wanting to know more about him.

What was just okay:
There was a lot of information to take in as soon as I started the story; how the world became the way it is, how people live, and about the company who controls the water. It did slow down the pace for a good portion of the book. It also finishes on a cliff-hanger which doesn’t usually worry me, but it felt as though I’d only just started getting into the actual story.

Final Verdict:
After the Green Withered is a Dystopian story that gives us a glimpse into a very possible future. That, along with the secret reveal at the end of the book, make me want to pick up the second book in the series when it’s released.
Good Points
A scary glimpse into a very possible future.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.7  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great New Dystopian World for YA
(Updated: April 04, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I've just finished reading ATGW and I read it in relatively quickly - I can be a fairly slow reader but this novel kept me engaged throughout so I found it easy to power through the story. The whole premise is really interesting - a future world with limited fresh water - and this is established immediately so that we can dive right into that world (no pun intended). There is definitely a sense of secrecy throughout and always a reason to continue onto the next chapter. The central character's thoughts are really delved into and the novel plays with the key idea of morality vs. duty - when do you say no and stand up for what you feel is right and when do you go along with orders out of fear for your own life? The last quarter of the book is especially exciting as we build towards a crucial mission for Enora. Of course things don't work out as we expect and the novel nicely leads us towards a second instalment, ending on a great cliffhanger.
I'd definitely recommend this to fans of the Divergent, Uglies or Hunger Games series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Water is currency ..
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Well..... I have finished this novel and I truly liked it and will purchase the next book.

It was interesting to read the start of this book as it reminded me of novels from the 18 and 19 century that place their story in the context of society, to some all the explanations of how humans were their own slayers, might appear slow - but I thought it prepared me for what will become Enora's path.

I look forward to reading more about Drake, Stringer, Bram, Lina and even Safa (I hope she is still alive) along with Enora.

The premise if the book is that water has become almost impossible to find and huge swathes of the country and in other countries on various continents land is inhospitable or even deadly and a tyrannical force rule the survivors but controlling water supplies.

Enora is recruited to be part of this benevolent sinister company as a spotter map creator, however in this debut instalment she is already questioning the ethics of the company..... but she must survive and also not endanger her parents - so many ethical and ambivalent choices..... survival but at what moral price.

An excellent tale to be read - slowly and not give up during the prequel - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT in the story but could happen to our planet if .....

Cheers Linda.
Good Points
A well plotted book - the start may appear slow but it is essential to read for the story and our own awareness.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Interesting read
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
A must read!
Good Points
The book started a little slow as he author paints you a very vivid picture of the future we have created to set the stage for the story. The future that the author creates sets the stage for the characters and why they participate in the DMC training. However, it gets better and the end certainly delivers. It is worth keeping with it. I am so intrigued to see what the future holds for Enora and how her story continued to unfold in the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."