After the Green Withered

Featured
 
3.5
 
4.5 (3)
1247 0
ebookcover.jpeg.png
Author(s)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
May 14, 2018
ISBN Number
B07D2X7YSY
ASIN Number
      

They tell me the country looked different back then. They talk of open borders and flowing rivers. They say the world was green. But drought swept across the globe and the United States of the past disappeared under a burning sky. Enora Byrnes lives in the aftermath, a barren world where water has become the global currency. In a life dominated by duty to family and community, Enora is offered a role within an entity that controls everything from water credits to borders. But it becomes clear that not all is as it seems. From the wasted confines of her small town to the bowels of a hidden city, Enora will uncover buried secrets that hide an unthinkable reality. As truth reveals the brutal face of what she has become, she must ask herself: how far will she go to retain her humanity?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A glimpse into a very possible future.
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:
Enora lives in a world run dry, where what little water is left is used as currency and is hard to come by. When she’s offered a role within the company who controls the water, she excels in her training and is soon ready to go out into the field. That is until she uncovers a secret she can’t ignore.

What I loved:
I love a dystopian story that feels like it could be possible. What would the world look like if our fresh water was limited and a company controlled what little of it was left? I think it could look very much like it does in After the Green Withered. Springer had a depth to him that I really loved and it left me wanting to know more about him.

What was just okay:
There was a lot of information to take in as soon as I started the story; how the world became the way it is, how people live, and about the company who controls the water. It did slow down the pace for a good portion of the book. It also finishes on a cliff-hanger which doesn’t usually worry me, but it felt as though I’d only just started getting into the actual story.

Final Verdict:
After the Green Withered is a Dystopian story that gives us a glimpse into a very possible future. That, along with the secret reveal at the end of the book, make me want to pick up the second book in the series when it’s released.
Good Points
A scary glimpse into a very possible future.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.3  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.7  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Great New Dystopian World for YA
(Updated: April 04, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
I've just finished reading ATGW and I read it in relatively quickly - I can be a fairly slow reader but this novel kept me engaged throughout so I found it easy to power through the story. The whole premise is really interesting - a future world with limited fresh water - and this is established immediately so that we can dive right into that world (no pun intended). There is definitely a sense of secrecy throughout and always a reason to continue onto the next chapter. The central character's thoughts are really delved into and the novel plays with the key idea of morality vs. duty - when do you say no and stand up for what you feel is right and when do you go along with orders out of fear for your own life? The last quarter of the book is especially exciting as we build towards a crucial mission for Enora. Of course things don't work out as we expect and the novel nicely leads us towards a second instalment, ending on a great cliffhanger.
I'd definitely recommend this to fans of the Divergent, Uglies or Hunger Games series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Water is currency ..
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Well..... I have finished this novel and I truly liked it and will purchase the next book.

It was interesting to read the start of this book as it reminded me of novels from the 18 and 19 century that place their story in the context of society, to some all the explanations of how humans were their own slayers, might appear slow - but I thought it prepared me for what will become Enora's path.

I look forward to reading more about Drake, Stringer, Bram, Lina and even Safa (I hope she is still alive) along with Enora.

The premise if the book is that water has become almost impossible to find and huge swathes of the country and in other countries on various continents land is inhospitable or even deadly and a tyrannical force rule the survivors but controlling water supplies.

Enora is recruited to be part of this benevolent sinister company as a spotter map creator, however in this debut instalment she is already questioning the ethics of the company..... but she must survive and also not endanger her parents - so many ethical and ambivalent choices..... survival but at what moral price.

An excellent tale to be read - slowly and not give up during the prequel - IT IS VERY IMPORTANT in the story but could happen to our planet if .....

Cheers Linda.
Good Points
A well plotted book - the start may appear slow but it is essential to read for the story and our own awareness.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Interesting read
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
A must read!
Good Points
The book started a little slow as he author paints you a very vivid picture of the future we have created to set the stage for the story. The future that the author creates sets the stage for the characters and why they participate in the DMC training. However, it gets better and the end certainly delivers. It is worth keeping with it. I am so intrigued to see what the future holds for Enora and how her story continued to unfold in the next book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."