Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
813 0
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
Publisher Name
CreateSpace
Age Group
12+
Published Date
May 01, 2018
ISBN Number
978-1980697763
ASIN Number
      

Death. Sacrifice. Betrayal. That is your curse. The seer's words were coming true, but Trystan Renauld refused to fulfill the prophecy. It would not control him. Death: The people of his kingdom were falling quickly. Sacrifice: He’d lost the only brother he’d ever had. Betrayal: The sharp sting of his friend’s sword would burn more than just his flesh. But it wasn’t over. The Tri-Gard was within his grasp. If he had any hope of restoring magic to the land, he’d need to claim what was rightfully his and journey straight into the dangers of Dreach-Dhoun. Only when he faced the darkness would he bring light back to his kingdom. Legacy of Light is the second book of the Legends of the Tri-Gard series by USA Today bestselling authors M. Lynn and Michelle Bryan.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

All the Feels!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Legacy of Light by M. Lynn, Michelle Bryan picks up right where the first one left off. *Please note that if you have NOT read Prophecy of Darkness there are spoilers from that book in this review. Read at your own risk.* Trystan and Rissa are mourning the loss of Davi in their own ways, but they must go on. They have a mission: to return magic to Dreach-Sciene. But it isn’t simple and their journey has only just begun.

Prophecy of Darkness ended with some major cliffhangers: Davi’s death and true identity, the execution of the king, and the questionable nature of the Tri-Gard. I honestly was nervous opening this book. Second books tend to be a bridge between books in a trilogy. I’m happy to report that Legacy of Light does not fall prey to SBS (second book syndrome). In fact, I liked it even more than the first…if that’s possible! There are many twists and turns in the plot, along with some great character growth that culminates in a fantastic ending.

Trystan’s character continues to be an easy one to love. In the first book, he transitioned from the pampered prince to Toha. With his father’s death, he begins to make the reluctant transition to king of Drech-Sciene. He struggles, not so much with the pressures of king – he was born for that – but the loss of his father and best friend. With those losses, he also lost his sister. Rissa is in a very dark place. Her POV scenes were hard to read. She’s hurting that much! I ached for her and Trystan, for all they lost and all they are fighting for. It’s so much, almost too much to expect of a young king and his sister.

Trystan and Rissa have a long and hard journey in this book. Not only do they find out about their father’s murder, but that the kingdom believes them dead as well. They must fight for their kingdom AND complete the mission their father sent them out on. Magic is needed back in Dreach-Sciene, the sooner the better. The land is dying and their people along with it. I found myself cheering them on, cringing at the things they must do, and aching for their people and their hunger. The twists and turns in this book coupled with the action/fight scenes make it a quick read and one I was thoroughly invested in. The imagery is vivid, putting the reader right in the middle of the dying kingdom.

Overall I loved Legacy of Light. It was a dark turn in the story, but it proved to also be a strong companion to the first book. All the characters continued to grow and evolve to their new situations. The loss and hurt they felt, I felt as the reader. And Davi….don’t get me started. His whole arc has broken my heart and I’m honestly shocked at the turn! I’m SO excited that the last book in this series comes out in August…not such a long wait. If you’ve read the first book in the series, I highly recommend you read this one ASAP. It doesn’t disappoint!

*This review first appeared on Mom with a Reading Problem: https://www.momwithareadingproblem.com/2018/05/review-legacy-of-light-by-m-lynn-michelle-bryan/
Good Points
-Progression/Character Growth for all main characters
-So many twists and turns it is impossible to predict the ending
-Strong companion to Prophecy of Darkness
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
So much Emotion!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
LEGACY OF LIGHT picks right up where the first one left off. They're all mourning Davi's death and are still reeling from it, but they have a mission to complete. Their quest will bring magic back into the world and save their kingdom from famish and death. Trystan blames himself for everything that's happened because of the prophesy, but there's so much more at play than he could ever imagine.

When word reaches Trystan and Rissa about their father's death, they quickly realize that Trystan is now king, but his uncle has stolen his throne. As painful as the news is, they can't let it distract them. First, they must restore the Tri-Gard. But going to the enemies territory isn't easy, especially when it holds a surprise. Because as the reader, we know Davi is still alive and his mind is being twisted by the King.

The first installment was amazing, but LEGACY OF LIGHT is even better. There's so much more raw emotion and betrayal that it kept me on the edge of my seat. Once I started reading it, I couldn't stop and devoured it in one day. I love the POVs that feature Davi and I also love the romance between Alixia and Trystan. I felt for Rissa and it was nice to see the fiery side in her burn brighter when faced with challenges.


Final Verdict: This book is perfect for fans of magic, fantasy, Game of Thrones, and royalty. Thank you for an ARC!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."