Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
767 0
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
Publisher Name
Creativia
Age Group
12+
Published Date
January 29, 2018
ISBN Number
978-1981790708
ASIN Number
      

On the planet Elystra, the all-female Ixtrayu tribe have thrived, hidden from their world's male-dominated societies for eight centuries. Thirty-five generations of Protectresses have safeguarded their sisters from the men who would destroy them for the Elemental power they wield. But how did it all begin? . Seeking riches and power, a band of vicious slavers steal twenty girls from their homes, as well as the Agrusian Stone, long fabled for its beauty and pricelessness. Among the abducted is Sahria, an eighteen-year-old novice, determined to free herself and return home. When the Stone unexpectedly imbues her with her god's divine power, she realizes freedom for herself and her sisters is within her grasp ... but to save them all would mean leaving behind everything she's ever known. With a slaver's market looming, Sahria must make a choice: escape and return to the safety of her Order, or embark on a far more dangerous path, one where mere survival is only the beginning.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Great plot and characters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor to them, watches over them, and tries to keep their hopes up as they try to survive the trip with the slavers. I really liked watching Sahria grow into her role and how all of the girls came together during one of their worst events that could happen in someone’s life. The side characters were great also, I liked the glimpses we got into each of their lives before they were captured. I especially liked Kithya and how her and Sahria were there for each other and cared for each other when the other was weak. The way that Arantha and her powers were woven into the story and the girls lives was great.

I liked everything about this book. I’m not usually much of a prequel reader, but the writing was so good that I was completely drawn into the story, and I was absolutely invested in the plot and characters.

This is a great introduction to this series and the characters, and how their tribe got started. If you like stories of overcoming great odds and stories of friendship and love, you will love this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Insightful Prequel
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
SORAYA is a prequel that introduces the reader to how the all-female Ixtrayu tribe came to be. After reading PAWNS, this was very eye-opening and made me understand the Ixtrayu better. It made me respect them more and it was nice to know the detailed reason why they went into hiding in the first place.

We learn about Soraya, the originator of the Ixtrayu clan, and how she was kidnapped along with other women to be sold as slaves. But they aren't going down that easily. Soraya is strong-minded and strong-willed and gives the other women hope. She's a character that anyone can look up to and her story draws out so many different emotions.

If you're a fan of Patrick and his WIELDERS OF ARANTHA series, then this is one you can't miss out on. It expands even more on the world-building and makes me enjoy this series that much more. This series is perfect for fans of action, adventure, sci-fi, and strong women.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."