Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
816 0
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
Publisher Name
Creativia
Age Group
12+
Published Date
January 29, 2018
ISBN Number
978-1981790708
ASIN Number
      

On the planet Elystra, the all-female Ixtrayu tribe have thrived, hidden from their world's male-dominated societies for eight centuries. Thirty-five generations of Protectresses have safeguarded their sisters from the men who would destroy them for the Elemental power they wield. But how did it all begin? . Seeking riches and power, a band of vicious slavers steal twenty girls from their homes, as well as the Agrusian Stone, long fabled for its beauty and pricelessness. Among the abducted is Sahria, an eighteen-year-old novice, determined to free herself and return home. When the Stone unexpectedly imbues her with her god's divine power, she realizes freedom for herself and her sisters is within her grasp ... but to save them all would mean leaving behind everything she's ever known. With a slaver's market looming, Sahria must make a choice: escape and return to the safety of her Order, or embark on a far more dangerous path, one where mere survival is only the beginning.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Great plot and characters
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor to them, watches over them, and tries to keep their hopes up as they try to survive the trip with the slavers. I really liked watching Sahria grow into her role and how all of the girls came together during one of their worst events that could happen in someone’s life. The side characters were great also, I liked the glimpses we got into each of their lives before they were captured. I especially liked Kithya and how her and Sahria were there for each other and cared for each other when the other was weak. The way that Arantha and her powers were woven into the story and the girls lives was great.

I liked everything about this book. I’m not usually much of a prequel reader, but the writing was so good that I was completely drawn into the story, and I was absolutely invested in the plot and characters.

This is a great introduction to this series and the characters, and how their tribe got started. If you like stories of overcoming great odds and stories of friendship and love, you will love this book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Insightful Prequel
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
SORAYA is a prequel that introduces the reader to how the all-female Ixtrayu tribe came to be. After reading PAWNS, this was very eye-opening and made me understand the Ixtrayu better. It made me respect them more and it was nice to know the detailed reason why they went into hiding in the first place.

We learn about Soraya, the originator of the Ixtrayu clan, and how she was kidnapped along with other women to be sold as slaves. But they aren't going down that easily. Soraya is strong-minded and strong-willed and gives the other women hope. She's a character that anyone can look up to and her story draws out so many different emotions.

If you're a fan of Patrick and his WIELDERS OF ARANTHA series, then this is one you can't miss out on. It expands even more on the world-building and makes me enjoy this series that much more. This series is perfect for fans of action, adventure, sci-fi, and strong women.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."