Perfectly Oblivious

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
701 0
Perfectly Oblivious
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Bluefields Publishing
Age Group
12+
Published Date
May 31, 2017
ISBN Number
1521473803
ASIN Number
      

Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at Franklin High School…except for the one he wants. Unfortunately Bebe seems to be immune to his flirty charm and good looks, which means one of two things: a) she’s completely oblivious to how he feels, or b) she’s just not into him. If that’s the case, declaring his love would be disastrous for their friendship. Bianca Barnes (Bebe) has a huge problem: the universe hates her. Every time she admits feelings for a boy, he ends up falling for her sweet, popular, and beautiful sister Beth. To avoid a broken heart, Bebe has sworn herself to secrecy. Nobody can know how she feels about Cam…Ever! Neither person wants to confess their feelings, but the universe has its own plan. Out of the blue, Bebe is courted by a secret admirer. Cam has to step up his game and Bebe has to make a choice. Play it safe and accept the affections of her mystery man or challenge fate and take a chance on the boy she loves.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Best Friend Romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
I first came across Perfectly Oblivious by Robin Daniels on a Facebook fan page for Kelly Oram. At the time I didn’t realize they were sisters, but now it makes perfect sense. Friends if you love and are obsessed with Kelly as I am, then you are in for a treat. Perfectly Oblivious by Robin Daniels is a sweet story about two best friends falling in love. Told in dual point of view, the reader knows all creating some fine irony as we read the characters’ struggles.

Bianca Barnes is who I wanted to be growing up. Petite, athletic, the girl that’s friends with all the guys but doesn’t really date any of them. She’s comfortable in her own skin except for when it comes to her best friend and neighbor Cameron. Quite simply, she’s in love with him and has been from the day they met. But she’ll never admit it for fear that he likes her sister better. Her dilemma is classic. Been there, done that and I’m sure any girl can relate. While Bianca is confident in herself, she also has this stubborn belief that no one will like her like that. That role goes to her big sister, the beautiful, sweet, stereotypical cheerleader.

Cameron Bates is not at all what I expected. After reading three or four chapters from Bianca’s point of view, I was a little surprised that the playboy really wasn’t one. He was striving to get the girl of his dreams to like him back. Like Bianca, Cam is insecure. He knows he’s good looking and their personalities match, but he isn’t sure if he’s been friend-zoned. And that scares him because Bebe (his nickname for Bianca) is his best friend and while he would love for her to be more he doesn’t want to lose her either. Again classic dilemma that I’m sure many will relate too.

The plot is fairly simple. Cam wants Bebe to notice him and hopefully become more than just his friend. The way he goes about winning the girl isn’t as simple and at times I really wanted to reach through the pages and yank on his ear. Seriously, he is super sweet in his gestures but man does he have foot-in-mouth disease when they talk face to face. I really liked having both points of view as it helped to understand what the other was thinking. However I did feel like it spoiled itself as you were reading and there were several instances of repetition which were distracting and pulled away from the pace of the story.

Overall I really enjoyed this debut novel. I thought that the author did a decent job of creating believable characters and the pace kept my attention. In fact, I finished it in one sitting. If you enjoy YA contemporary or you’re looking for a light weekend/beach read, I highly recommend you grab a copy!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sweet Contemporary Romance
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions.
What I liked:
The story hits the ground running with a cute flashback, and the dual POV narrative keeps it moving along nicely. Cam's point of view is adorable, the consummate clueless high school guy. Bebe is more driven but equally clueless, making their roundabout romance as amusing as it is intentionally awkward. There are very Shakespearean vibes with a lot of almost moments and things left unsaid, friends getting in on the chaos and a grand resolution.

Also worth noting is that this is a clean read, perfectly suitable for younger readers.

What Left Me Wanting More
The parents are a bit nonexistent in this book, and some of the circumstances aren't fully explained, like why Cam's parents seem to have money but he doesn't have a car.

If you're looking for a beach read or a nice reprieve from reality, this book is for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."