Hushed

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1289 0
Hushed
Age Group
14+
Published Date
March 26, 2017
ISBN Number
978-0-620-74570-3
ASIN Number
      

She’s in love, out of her depth and in danger of losing herself. When 18-year-old Romy Morgan saves Hollywood superstar Logan Rush from drowning, she’s offered a job as his personal assistant. In exchange for entering the exciting world of the movies, she strikes a deal to reinvent herself from top to toe, and love sparks between her and Logan. But the movie set is a world of illusion, where appearances don’t match reality, and Romy soon discovers that she’s traded her voice for love, and is in real danger of losing both her dreams and her self-respect. When she discovers a dreadful secret with the power to destroy Logan, Romy must choose between love and revenge. Hushed delivers enchanting romance with all the feels, plus a good twist of humor, and a subtle nod and a wink to The Little Mermaid. This contemporary young adult novel makes great reading for fans of Kasie West, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, Morgan Matson and Julie Buxbaum.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Slow-Paced Read that also Raises Awareness
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life. She's being pressured from her parents to either follow in her dad's footsteps in business or her mom's in science. However, Romy doesn't feel like she fits in either of those worlds.

After saving the life of the dreamy Logan Rush (who's also an actor she's in love with), doors open for her. Romy gets a job as Logan's personal assistant, which gives her access to the famous heartthrob. With this new job, she's thrown into the glitzy and back-stabbing world of show business. As Logan and Romy grow closer, secrets come to light and Romy has to figure out which path is the right one for her.

HUSHED is a slow-paced contemporary romance with a female lead who is trying to find her place in the world after school. The romance between Logan and Romy is like a slow burning fire that expels just the right amount of heat. I love how motivating and captivating this story is and how it makes me want to go out and do something to make our world a safer place for endangered animals. Joanne Macgregor does an amazing job at bringing awareness to these issues without taking away from the story.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of contemporary romance, saving the animals and our planet, coming of age, and the importance of finding yourself.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ready, set, off we go! ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and...
Leaving England
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometime around now an unnamed virus has laid London and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A female-run society. An ambitious girl driven to become its’...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the realm of Ryuu within the snow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Jackie planned for every situation on her solo road-trip...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green meets Laurie Halse Anderson in this award-winning, "haunting,"...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Capture his heart. Steal his crown. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Before the undead attacked, Hazel's life was simple: look out...

Latest Member Reviews

Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."
This Is the Glade Where Jack Lives: Or How a Unicorn Saved the Day
 
5.0
"THIS IS THE GLADE WHERE JACK LIVES is a new take on the traditional "This Is the House that Jack..."
The End Is Just the Beginning
 
5.0
"THE END IS JUST THE BEGINNING is exactly as the title reads. It's a story about how all endings are..."
Dust & Grim
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Molly finds out she's entitled to part of a mortuary business after the death of her father. She also..."
Get Up, Elizabeth!
 
5.0
"Elizabeth needs to get out of bed because she's the princess and has a lot to do. As a princess...."
Happy Little Ogre
 
5.0
"HAPPY LITTLE OGRE features our favorite characters from Shrek as babies. It's full of ogre fun and silliness from burps..."
Clean-Up Time!: Ready-to-Read Pre-Level 1
 
5.0
"Our favorite character, Daniel the Tiger, heads to the park to play with his friends. But when they get there,..."
The Secret Starling
 
3.5
"Clara Starling is used to the drudgery of life with her uncle in his huge mansion. It’s all routine, cold..."