Scarred

Featured
Scarred
Genre/Type
Age Group
14+
Published Date
September 29, 2015
ISBN Number
978-0-620-67859-9
ASIN Number
      

Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful. Sloane Munster had the perfect life, until she didn’t. Now seventeen year-old Sloane is trying to reboot her life after a serious accident left her badly scarred and emotionally traumatized. Starting her senior year at a different school, she recognizes Luke Naughton, a swimmer whom she once had a crush on, in her new class. But when she smiles at him, he glares back with revulsion and she’s sure he’s disgusted by her ugly scar. No matter how hard she tries to keep out of his way, life keeps bringing them together and despite misunderstandings and guilty secrets, the chemistry between them sparks. Meanwhile, tensions are mounting at their school where bullying is rife and Sloane is not the most deeply scarred person. Sharp with bittersweet humor, Scarred is an intense, beautiful, compelling story of life, death, damage, and fighting for love against all the odds. This young adult contemporary romance makes great reading for fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Nicola Yoon and Rainbow Rowell.

Editor review

1 review
And Now I'm Scarred
(Updated: January 20, 2020)
Overall rating
 
4.8
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
5.0
Emotionally, I mean.

What I loved:

As you can guess from the title, pretty much everything. The tension, the misunderstandings, the angst and anger were so believable. Sloane had been through this enormous thing, but still managed to come across as a real teenager trying to put her life back together. Her grief felt so raw and tangible that there were times reading it when I wanted to cry also.
Luke was likewise angry and sexy and all that you want in a love interest/alternate POV. Really, there was nothing not to love about this book.

The Bottom Line:
If you want to stay up all night and get your heart crushed and remade, this is the book for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account