The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
792 0
The Outcasts- The Blood Dagger: Volume 1
Author(s)
Age Group
13+
Published Date
December 11, 2017
ISBN Number
1981248331

Mystical relics. Powerful vampires. Strange allies. It's hell being a teenager. Larna Collins has never understood why her dad skipped out on her and her mother when she was twelve years old. Until then, he was a devoted and loving father. But six years later, during a renovation of her childhood home, she unearths her father's journal from under a dusty floorboard. According to his final entry before he left, he had recently visited a small parish in England. The entries drew her to this seemingly quaint village, which Larna discovers isn't as charming as its blood-craving inhabitants want her to believe, and she learns that she isn't the only one trying to track her father down. Could this explain her father's disappearance? Or was placing her in the center of danger her dad's master plan all along?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

An epic paranormal quest
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Larna Collins is living a teenage nightmare. Feeling like an outcast in her school and the butt of far too many jokes, all she wants to do is stay under the radar and make it through to graduation.

Her life changes when she finds her missing father's journal and she travels to London to search for him. What she finds there, she never could have imagined. The quaint village where her father was last seen is not all it appears to be, and Larna soon finds herself caught up in a paranormal vampire war.

What I really enjoyed about this book was the adventure and intrigue. You never knew what was going to happen next and Mysti Hayes kept me interested until the end. It was a very imaginative plot with well fleshed-
out characters. Larna is very relatable and you couldn't help but root for her to come into her own. It was great watching her character grow from an insecure teen to a confident young woman.

The only thing that kept me from giving this 5 stars was Larna's easy acceptance of this whole new vampire world. I found it far too convenient and easy. I felt she should have been far more freaked out to know vampires exist. Not a big issue for me and it definitely didn't stop me from enjoying the book.

All in all, I found this to be a strong start to a new series and I look forward to reading more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Vampires in London
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Larna is hurt when her father doesn't return home because the assumption is he's abandoned them or worse. It's so out of the ordinary considering his loving and kind nature that Larna can't help but feel there's more to his absence. When she discovers her fathers journal, his words inspire Larna to travel to London to search for him.

The journal initially leads her to Gabriel, a sinister man that is more than just a man. It isn't long before Larna discovers the secrets hiding in London's corners: vampires. Gabriel takes Larna to his home and wants to use her to barter for his dagger that Larna's dad stole. Here, she meets Alistair who is kind compared to the other vampires that surround her. As hard as it is to trust a vampire, Alistair might be Larna's only hope at escaping Gabriel's clutches alive.

THE OUTCASTS holds a huge twist that I don't want to spoil, but it's full of secrets, betrayal, action, and love. I really like Larna's character and feel terrible for the bullying she's suffered from. Alistair had to be my favorite though. He's laid-back and unlike how I would expect a vampire to be, but it's a good thing. Paul was very entertaining as well and I liked that he played a big part.


Final Verdict: The twists and turns of this story keep will you reading all night long. I would recommend this to fans of vampires, secrets, and mysteries.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake
 
4.0
"'Lily and the Wedding Date Mistake' by Seven Steps is a story of friendship lost and found between main characters..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
4.8
"'Bea and the Bad Boy' by Anna Catherine Field is a page-turning story that evolves from two people who don't..."
Igloo High
 
3.8
"'Igloo High' by Jacinthe Dessureault has many of the typical aspects that young adult novels contain, including a popular girl,..."
Super Powers
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
"This was a sweet high school love story centered around basketball and missed intentions. What I liked: ..."
The Kilwade Tragedy
 
5.0
"Before I start this review, I do want to let you all know that this book is trigger heavy. The..."
Colliding Skies
 
4.3
" What I loved: The cover, obviously, is gorgeous and eye catching. Skye's character is a genuine..."
Kismet and Karma
 
5.0
"The other side of the story. The Story: We finally get to see just what happened..."
Fate and Fortune
 
5.0
"Such a cute story. The Story: Paige is heartbroken after her boyfriend of two years..."
Oberon Academy Book One: The Orphan
 
4.5
"This is a promising start to an exciting new fae series! What I loved: The writing style is..."
Bea and the Bad Boy
 
3.8
"When Bea's best friend Katherine and twin brother Atticus start dating, she feels betrayed and can't stand to see them..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Addison and Julian have history between them that neither like to talk about. Things changed after that fateful night of..."
The Culling
 
5.0
"Grant and his sister Stevie are on their own, trying to survive in a desolate bayou with limited food sources...."
Darkblood Academy
 
5.0
"With the integration of the human and supernatural worlds, things are bound to get crazy. Luna never thought she was..."
Hitched: The Bachelorette
 
5.0
" When Kimmie-Jayne lands the role on Hitched, she's thrilled that her dreams of acting are coming true. She's..."
Hunter's Truce
 
4.0
"I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little..."
Adaptive
 
5.0
"Reactive was one of my favorite books of 2018, and I think it is safe to say Adaptive is going..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
The C Word
 
5.0
"Oh, boy. Where to start… Like the first two books, I absolutely loved The C World. The authors have done..."
After: After Zombie Series Book 1
 
4.8
"I love zombies. I never thought I’d say that. I’m not a horror reader, and in my opinion, zombies fall..."