ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1773 0
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
ALEX-HUNT-and-the-Chase-for-Rhapta-Generic.jpg

An action-packed Archaeological Adventure Mystery for Indiana Jones lovers! This is Relic Hunting at it’s best! Based on the true legend of the ancient Lost City of Rhapta which mysteriously disappeared near Mafia island off the coast of Africa. "I'm a big fan of Indiana Jones/archeology type books and this one didn't disappoint. Full of intrigue, mystery and action Urcelia Teixeira did an excellent job keeping my interest.” - Amazon reviewer "I thought I knew what to expect but I was way off!  Urcelia has proven her versatility as an author; that's for sure!  Think Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones with a few added twists. I enjoyed the storyline, the adventure, the culture and the history.  I laughed, I cried, I cheered and feared! A 5-star read I'd recommend." - Amazon review I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt Team. Head Researcher and... Relic Chaser!When Alex Hunt's mother tragically dies during her lifelong quest to find Africa's ancient Lost City of Rhapta, Alex develops Agoraphobia (an unnatural fear of specific places and situations) and vows never to chase again.  So when her father, Professor Charles Hunt, Head of Archaeology at a prestigious British University mysteriously disappears several years later, it leaves her with no choice and forces her out of hiding to find him. With nothing to lose, battling her worse fears and with the mighty University behind her, she travels to Tanzania, Africa in search of her missing father. The chivalrous and charismatic Sam Quinn, the University's illusive top Archaeology student accompanies her, and she finds herself in unfamiliar territory with a man who manages to chip away her self-built walls. Her action-packed adventure through the treacherous African Jungle brings forth an abundance of danger, fear, and heartache as she rediscovers her love for life, science and ancient relics, beyond her cocooning existence and disease. Will she find her father and the Lost City of Rhapta or will she die under the curse and native-fearing Rhaptor-bird said to guard the vanished city?  This book is an epic tale of riddle solving relic hunting, courage and fantasy that follows in the tradition of KT Tomb and Mary Deal. It will without doubt delight lovers of Indiana Jones, Lara Croft, and the likes and suits Teen and Young Adult Historical Fantasy lovers. Buckle up treasure hunters. Africa waits for no one.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Mystery and Archeaology
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one who knows her mother's data. She lost her mother who was chasing the lost city of Rhapta, but Alex doesn't want to lose her father too. For that reason, she travels to Africa with Quinn-a student that a family friend recommends.

As the story progresses, it alternates POV between Alex, her mom, and her dad. We learn that her father has been captured early on, but Alex travels are not easy. In Africa, she's in a car accident and has a run in with vicious animals like lions, as if chasing down her father isn't hard enough.

This was a very easy, light, and entertaining read. I always like the idea of discovering new things. I wish that instead of the viewpoints of her parents, it would've been through Alex's eyes. Overall, it was a fast-paced story.


Final Verdict: I recommend this to fans of adventure and archaeology. It's also a good read to finish during a rainy day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...

Latest Member Reviews

The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Spectacle
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Nathalie Baudin is an extraordinary girl even before she discovers her psychometric abilities. She’s just sixteen,..."
Somewhere Only We Know
 
4.0
"Everything I know about K-pop comes from thirsty Twitter fancams, what has made it into the American mainstream, and an..."
A Song Below Water
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: Tavia and Effie’s world is ours with just a little myth-made-real on top. The Hart family..."
Tin Heart
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Marlowe has spent much of her life living on the edge of death thanks to a..."
Off the Record
 
5.0
"Content warnings: rape, sexual harassment, sexual abuse Once upon a time, I had an ambition to become a journalist...."
The Hawthorne Legacy (The Inheritance Games, 2)
 
5.0
"What I Loved: THE HAWTHORNE LEGACY, a sequel to THE INHERITANCE GAMES, is a book full of intrigue and mystery..."
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
"THE COST OF KNOWING is a heartbreaking and beautiful read about family, fate, and racism. After losing his parents and..."
Curses
 
3.3
"* I received an eARC of this book through Edelweiss+ for an honest review* “When..."
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
"BETWEEN PERFECT AND REAL is a heartfelt read about finding yourself and coming out. Dean knows that he is a..."
You Were Made for Me
 
3.3
"YOU WERE MADE FOR ME is a comedic YA contemporary/magical read about two friends, Katie and Libby, who somewhat accidentally..."
What I Like about Me
 
4.7
"WHAT I LIKE ABOUT ME is a charming and comical YA contemporary read that tackles some important themes. Maisie is..."