ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1406 0
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
ALEX-HUNT-and-the-Chase-for-Rhapta-Generic.jpg

An action-packed Archaeological Adventure Mystery for Indiana Jones lovers! This is Relic Hunting at it’s best! Based on the true legend of the ancient Lost City of Rhapta which mysteriously disappeared near Mafia island off the coast of Africa. "I'm a big fan of Indiana Jones/archeology type books and this one didn't disappoint. Full of intrigue, mystery and action Urcelia Teixeira did an excellent job keeping my interest.” - Amazon reviewer "I thought I knew what to expect but I was way off!  Urcelia has proven her versatility as an author; that's for sure!  Think Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones with a few added twists. I enjoyed the storyline, the adventure, the culture and the history.  I laughed, I cried, I cheered and feared! A 5-star read I'd recommend." - Amazon review I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt Team. Head Researcher and... Relic Chaser!When Alex Hunt's mother tragically dies during her lifelong quest to find Africa's ancient Lost City of Rhapta, Alex develops Agoraphobia (an unnatural fear of specific places and situations) and vows never to chase again.  So when her father, Professor Charles Hunt, Head of Archaeology at a prestigious British University mysteriously disappears several years later, it leaves her with no choice and forces her out of hiding to find him. With nothing to lose, battling her worse fears and with the mighty University behind her, she travels to Tanzania, Africa in search of her missing father. The chivalrous and charismatic Sam Quinn, the University's illusive top Archaeology student accompanies her, and she finds herself in unfamiliar territory with a man who manages to chip away her self-built walls. Her action-packed adventure through the treacherous African Jungle brings forth an abundance of danger, fear, and heartache as she rediscovers her love for life, science and ancient relics, beyond her cocooning existence and disease. Will she find her father and the Lost City of Rhapta or will she die under the curse and native-fearing Rhaptor-bird said to guard the vanished city?  This book is an epic tale of riddle solving relic hunting, courage and fantasy that follows in the tradition of KT Tomb and Mary Deal. It will without doubt delight lovers of Indiana Jones, Lara Croft, and the likes and suits Teen and Young Adult Historical Fantasy lovers. Buckle up treasure hunters. Africa waits for no one.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Mystery and Archeaology
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one who knows her mother's data. She lost her mother who was chasing the lost city of Rhapta, but Alex doesn't want to lose her father too. For that reason, she travels to Africa with Quinn-a student that a family friend recommends.

As the story progresses, it alternates POV between Alex, her mom, and her dad. We learn that her father has been captured early on, but Alex travels are not easy. In Africa, she's in a car accident and has a run in with vicious animals like lions, as if chasing down her father isn't hard enough.

This was a very easy, light, and entertaining read. I always like the idea of discovering new things. I wish that instead of the viewpoints of her parents, it would've been through Alex's eyes. Overall, it was a fast-paced story.


Final Verdict: I recommend this to fans of adventure and archaeology. It's also a good read to finish during a rainy day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Full Disclosure
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a community that isn't always understanding, an HIV-positive teen...
Resurrection Girls
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Foster hasn’t felt alive since her little brother drowned...
Orpheus Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In her debut novel, award-winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the...
Riot Baby
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rooted in foundational loss and the hope that can live...
The Haunting of Henry Davis
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two kids are about to find out that their lives...
A Kingdom for a Stage (For a Muse of Fire #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jetta is a prisoner. A prisoner of the armee, a...
Foul is Fair
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elle and her friends Mads, Jenny, and Summer rule their...
Girls of Storm and Shadow (Girls of Paper and Fire #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this mesmerizing sequel to the New York Times bestselling...
Springback
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just because someone can rewind time...doesn't always mean they should....
Myth Management
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For hundreds of years, the British bureaucracy of Myth Management...
Jeremiah Jericho: Allowance (book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jeremiah just turned 16 and found out that he inherited...
Twisted Pines
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where have all the children gone? At rustic summer camp...
Sorcery of Thorns
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All sorcerers are evil. Elisabeth has known that as long...
The Babysitters Coven
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in...
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is the first of three young adult novels from...
Who Put This Song On?
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Trapped in sunny, stifling, small-town suburbia, seventeen-year-old Morgan knows why...

Latest Member Reviews

Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"