On Delicate Wings

Featured
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
1301 0
On Delicate Wings
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Creativia
Genre/Type
Age Group
12+
Published Date
November 23, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1975877590
ASIN Number
      

Mia Walters is optimistic that her final high school year will be different. Tired of watching the cool girls from afar, she is sick of being the stereotypical loser. When a new girl, Chelsea Saint, arrives at school with her sassy and confident persona, she offers Mia the very thing she wanted: the chance to be one of the cool girls. Soon, alcohol, boys, sex and drugs tear Mia in two. Caught between the good girl she used to be and the illusion of the person she wanted to be, Mia begins to lose herself in the new world Chelsea has introduced her to. Is it too late for her to be the girl she was before?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Amazing Story
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
‘On Delicate Wings’ is the story of Mia, who struggles with her reputation as a nerd at school. When beautiful and charismatic Chelsea arrives, Mia has a chance to befriend Chelsea and become one of the cool kids.

I really had no idea what ‘On Delicate Wings’ was about going into it. The story really is about Mia’s quest to become popular. In Mia’s quest to become friends with Chelsea, she gives up her relationships with others. The main relationship she gives up is with her best friend Margaret and her close relationship with her mother. All this change leads Mia’s life in a negative direction.

‘On Delicate Wings’ is a heartbreaking story. It is the story of so many typical teenagers. In their quest to fit in many make the wrong decisions. In this way I found Mia to be very relatable. I think many of us can understand her struggle.

Many times I found myself not really liking Mia at all. At other times I really could sympathize with her. Chelsea is easy to really despise and is the villain in this story. However, I think the author really did a great job of showing why Chelsea is the way she is and what drove her to do such manipulative things. Margaret as a character acted as any ditched best friend probably would. She is a good friend to Mia but at is jealous of the ‘coolness’ Mia has gained.
.
The ending of ‘On Delicate Wings’ totally took me by surprise. I didn’t expect it as all. The way the story ended really added a hard-hitting impact to the rest of the story.
I really enjoyed ‘On Delicate Wings’. It is not only the story of everyday teenagers, but also a dramatic story of how bad decisions and the need to be popular can really impact lives.
Good Points
Important topic.
Quick Read
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."