Utopia

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1230 0
Utopia
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
May 05, 2017
ISBN Number
978-1974686421
ASIN Number
      

The floating city, Utopia, is all sixteen-year-old Aurora has ever known. With three other cities, it is home to the survivors of cataclysmic events that ended life on Earth years ago. After witnessing her mother’s murder, Aurora finds herself on the run from the very people who are meant to protect her. With the help of her best friend Fletcher, Aurora must find the truth behind her mother’s death, and why she is being hunted. While someone wants the facts to remain hidden, Aurora won't stop until each hurtful truth is revealed. But nothing can prepare her for the answers that prove her entire existence has been built on a lie. Will the truth set her free?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Utopia book review
(Updated: April 30, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
What I Liked
Dystopian is one of the most expensive genres out there. There is a multitude of things one can do with it and there is no right or wrong way to do said things. One can corrupt the government as much as one desires. There is the chosen one trope, which one can’t go wrong with. The possibilities are endless. There is a reason this genres is one of my favorites.

One of the things I loved about this book was how believable the voice of 16 year old Auror was. Too often, I find myself reading books about teenagers and they sound like 30 year old adults. That was not the case here. Aurora felt and read like a teenager throughout the entire course of the book. It was written simply but it worked because Aurora thought in black and white.

Another aspect I love was the friendship between Fletcher and Aurora. While I detected hints of romantic overtures, I found their relationship refreshing. They clearly cared about each other very much and it was pleasant to read about a boy and a girl being just friends.

What Left Me Wanting More
LIke I mentioned above, with they dystopian genre, one can do just about anything to the world with world building being one of the most important aspects. Unfortunately, that is where this book lacked. I did get some information about the floating cities that Aurora lived on but I wanted more. I wanted to know how they were structured, how they were climate controlled and most importantly how they floated about Australia. I felt that this was important to the story and perhaps we will learn more in the sequel.

The plot happens at a bit of breakneck speed. There is constant action up until closer to the end, where things slowed down a bit. I did get a bit of whiplash from time to time. Especially in the beginning. I would have loved it if there was a chapter of Aurora and her daily life. Because I mean, she lives on a floating city! How cool is that? This would have been a great way to build up the world and get to know Aurora more personally.

Final Verdict
Utopia was an excellent start to the series that I am excited to continue. It’s fast paced plot and unique concept of floating cities will be sure to draw you in and keep you hooked until the very last word.
Good Points
Believable characters, interesting world concept, refreshing relationships
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."