Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)

Featured
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1047 0
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
Publisher Name
Creativia
Age Group
12+
Published Date
April 13, 2017
ISBN Number
978-1544881560
ASIN Number
      

Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien race called the Jegg invade Earth, wiping out half of the Terran Confederation. In a hidden base under the Sahara Desert, a team of scientists is working to mount a resistance against the invaders. Fitting an Earth ship with Jegg folding-space technology, they plan to travel to the other side of the galaxy to find a mysterious energy source - one that could help them defeat the Jegg. Only two of the crew survive and make it to their destination: the team leader's wife Maeve, and her teenage son Davin. What they find on the distant planet forever changes the future of their family and their planet, as they enter a race against time... and against impossible odds.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Exciting Adventure Off-Planet
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to explain the story weaved here. Following the lives of three very different women, Pawns is an exciting adventure off-planet, a last hope mission to save Earth from the invading Jegg.

The story begins with Maeve and her teenage son Davin. They’ve just escaped Earth and the Jegg, suffering devastating losses in the process. Losing their entire team of scientists including her own husband, Maeve and Davin are enroute to a primitive planet that holds a power that may stop the Jeggs once and for all. Despite their tragedy, Maeve and Davin are determined to complete the mission, and they won’t stop until they do.

Kelia is known as the Protectress, the leader of her women-only tribe. Long ago, their ancestors escaped slavery at the hands of men and now live in seclusion. Some are wielders, able to manipulate the elements, a gift from Arantha, the goddess they worship. Kelia is one such wielder, the most powerful which is why they call her Protectress. Her job is to keep her tribe safe and watch the signs Arantha sends her. A new vision of violence and an object falling from above lead her Maeve and Davin, where she learns that not all is as she thought.

Elzaria is also a wielder and sister to the usurper Elzor. Together they are burning the countryside, taking one kingdom at a time, in search of the mythical Stones. These stones are said to offer power to the wielder who holds them. Both are jaded and dangerous and haunt not only Kelia’s visions but that of the high mage.

Overall I really enjoyed Pawns. The world-building, Kelia and her tribe, and all the different characters bring the story to life on the pages. If you enjoy sci-fi, I highly recommend you grab a copy of this one. It does not disappoint.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Great for Sci-Fi fans
(Updated: April 03, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Maeve and her son Davin find themselves stuck on a primitive planet that holds secrets they'll soon uncover. In PAWNS, Patrick Hodges weaves an excellent tale that's full of action and adventure. I loved how the chapters switched POVs in PAWNS. It gives insight to what's really going on with the residents of this planet and there's so many characters for you to fall in love with.

It begins with Maeve who lost her husband in the attack from the Jegg, but she won't stop this mission until it's completed. There's something on this planet that can save her and her son's planet from the Jegg and they won't stop until the mission is completed.

Then, there is Kelia who is the leader of the women's only society. They live in fear of men and seem to be thriving without them. They reproduce by seeking out men for that reason only. And we can't forget Kelia's daughter Nyla. She was my favorite character and I enjoyed all the scenes that contained her. The women of this society are known as wielders because they each hold a power within themselves. But to the rest of the planet, it's abnormal for women to wield powers, which is another reason Kelia fears what would happen if they were ever discovered.

Lastly, you have Elzor and Elzaria. Elzaria is also a wielder who can see bits of the future. These two siblings are wanting to conquer the planet and become the supreme rulers. Even though they're the bad guys, I still enjoyed their characters. Patrick Hodges does an excellent job of making the characters personalities different, so you can't help but to remember who's who.

Final Verdict: Fans of Science Fiction novels will enjoy this read. It was one of the first science fiction books I've read and it leaves me wondering what I've missed out on. I'm eagerly waiting for the second one to hit the shelves and hope it will be as powerful as this one was.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."