Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)

Featured
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
1067 0
Emerge: The Captive: (Book 3)
Publisher Name
Midnight Hour Studio
Age Group
14+
Published Date
August 28, 2017
ISBN Number
978-1975788933
ASIN Number
      

A moment of distraction has cost him his freedom but Quinnton Loukas has a dangerous secret Held as a captive of the Immortal organization, known as Soma, if his secret is discovered it will be used against him. From the moment of his Awakening, Quinn has struggled with an addiction to his power. The rigid self-control that has kept his addiction at bay is now in the hands of another. If Livia discovers what he is capable of, she will drive him to become the monster he fears is lurking deep inside his soul. His only hope is to escape before she has that chance. But there are others at Soma. Those he’s grown to care for and refuses to leave behind. Thousands of miles away in India, Sasha blames herself for the capture of the boy she’s loved nearly all her life. As she and her family work to find a way to bring Quinn home, Sasha is caught up on a journey of her own that will take her far from everything she ever thought she wanted. Drafted by the Senate into a brutal training program, Sasha begins to discover who she truly is and how little control she has over her own destiny. Sasha and Quinn have always shared a special bond, but with their lives moving in opposite directions can they ever go back to the way they were? Or is there something much more complicated about the future of their relationship? Immortality. Prophecy. Power. Join Quinn and Sasha in this coming of age, paranormal and urban fantasy with themes of adoption, diversity, supernatural, and historical fiction. Recomended Reading Order: Emerge: The Awakening (Book 1) Emerge: The Edge (Book 1.5) Emerge: The Scholar (An Illustrated Character Journal) Emerge: The Volunteer (An Emerge Short Story) Emerge: The Judgment (Book 2) Emerge: The Captive (Book 3) Emerge: The Catalyst (Short Story available in the Marked by Fate Origins Anthology) Emerge: The Heir (Coming soon) Emerge Awards: YA Books Central Top 4 Finalist - Best Indie of 2016 Winner 2016 RONE Awards for Best Cover Design Dante Rossetti YA Awards Finalist 2015 USA Best Book Awards Finalist 2015 International Book Awards Finalist Top 50 Indie Books of 2015

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Emerge: The Captive by Melissa A. Craven Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Feedback

Emerge: The Captive takes place between Awakening and Judgment through Sasha and Quinn’s point of view. At first I was thrown off by this. I was annoyed that I was going back in time instead of forward. Judgement left us with some unexpected events and I really wanted to to continue the story. I took a step back and with an open mind, I read this book. Let me just say, that this book is amazing. The set up was way different than the other two books and created a different depth to the story. I really enjoyed seeing what happened during the summer between the books as most of it was a secret. The story itself was intriguing and I devoured it. We get so much history in the first two books because Allie is new to the world that it was a nice reprieve from learning. Sasha and Quinn grew up in this world so there wasn’t a need to explain how everything worked. It was also very interesting to see how certain events that happened in Judgement developed on Quinn’s end. Since he was taken we weren’t given the torture that he endured until now. This gave a bigger awareness into how the coalition really works and how far they are willing to go.

Let’s talk about Sasha and Quinn. We were really able to get to know these characters more and I am so happy we did. Quinn is so strong and pure. He shares that he struggles with “addiction” and this is a new concept that we are introduced to. I really thought this was a great decision as I find this to be really believable if people were to have powers. Someone who is really strong can struggle to not lose themselves to their power. We see this struggle with Quinn but we also get more of his past. His interactions with the others in Soma gave us more insight into the world of immortals. Then there is Sasha. After this book she may be my new favorite character. She is smart and sassy. I really enjoyed her personality and how she faced her problems. Plus her powers are amazing. If I were to live in this world I think I would want to be exactly like her! By having the point of view through Sasha and Quinn we really see the loyalty of their family. We are given glimpses on how far they are willing to go for each other but it extremely noticeable in this book.


Final Thoughts

Overall, Emerge: The Captive is the best book in the series thus far. Even though the events in the book take us back, it really helps develop the story. We are given more of an insight on how the immortal world works and what it means to be immortal. With the new point of views we get to learn more about the other characters. I highly recommend this book if you enjoyed the first two and love action with history. I am really looking forward to book four and to see how the series will end.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Page turner from start to finish
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The story:
Captured by an Immortal organisation called Soma, Quinn struggles to keep his secrets hidden from his captors. Secrets he fears if discovered could turn him into the monster he’s always fought to keep at bay. But there are others at Soma he’s grown to care for, and he can’t leave them.
Meanwhile, in the midst of Quinn’s kidnapping, Sasha has been forced to journey to India to undertake brutal training under the watchful eye of a man she doesn’t trust. She can’t leave until her training is complete, and part of its success depends on them learning to work together.

What I loved:
Having the chance to see what happened to Quinn and Sasha. I enjoyed watching the characters grow, and their gifts develop as it gave this already exciting series a new edge keeping me hooked from start to finish. Both Quinn and Sasha learned so much about themselves and the relationship between them.

What was just okay:
I did miss Allie and Aiden, but it was definitely worth seeing the story from Quinn and Sasha’s points of view.

Final Verdict:
Another great story by Melissa A Craven that I couldn’t put down.
Good Points
Well-developed characters
Interesting plot
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...
The Moment We Fell (Mystic Shores Series, Book #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nothing good happens when people keep secrets. ...
The Hit List
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Los Angeles Conservatory for the Arts is supposed to...
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring...
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a hilarious heavily illustrated middle-grade series...
Small World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Nanda is born, the whole of her world is...
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
When school is out, it’s time to celebrate and have...
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An instant New York Times bestseller! ...
Bad Bella
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bella is the very best dog a family could ask...
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hello! Justice League here. Ask us anything! ...
Cracking the Bell
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Friday Night Lights meets Concussion in this powerful and important...
Ghosts of Lock Tower
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...

Latest Member Reviews

Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
 
4.0
"AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series..."
Amelia Fang and the Unicorns of Glitteropolis (Amelia Fang, #2)
 
4.5
"AMELIA FANG AND THE UNICORNS OF GLITTEROPOLIS is ultimately about harmful stereotypes, problems with misinformation, and the subversion of overly..."
Small World
 
5.0
"SMALL WORLD is a gorgeous celebration of growing up and following your dreams. When Nanda was born, her world was..."
On the First Day of Summer Vacation
 
3.5
"ON THE FIRST DAY OF SUMMER VACATION uses the tune of The 12 Days of Christmas to present the fun..."
Ada Twist and the Perilous Pants (The Questioneers, #2)
 
5.0
"Budding scientists, rejoice! The Questioneers is the perfect series to show you the how and to have some extra scientific..."
Bad Bella
 
4.0
"Bella lives with the McBrides, who have several small children and often forget Bella's needs. She gets in trouble for..."
Dear Justice League
 
5.0
"In this short, middle grade graphic novel, DC superheroes from the Justice League answer e mails from young fans. Superman..."
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
Not if I Can Help It
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
Emily Out of Focus
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."