Skipping Forward

Featured
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
839 0
Skipping Forward
Publisher Name
Bethany Wicker
Age Group
12+
Published Date
March 14, 2017
ISBN Number
978-1543057171
ASIN Number
      

What if you could skip forward in time, but never back? Molly Jacobs has always wished for more time in life. But for Molly, time doesn’t work the same as it does for others because she suffers from time skipping. At least, that’s what she calls it. From the age of seven, Molly discovers her ability to jump into the future. But it doesn't come without a price. With each time skip, memories of those seconds, minutes, or hours of her life are lost. Molly never cared until Rhett enters her life. Now, time has meaning, and as they grow closer together, pieces of their time together disappears. Molly needs to learn discipline and control, before she loses the essence of her life.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Don't Skip This One
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Skipping Forward by Bethany Wicker is a standalone contemporary fantasy about a girl who can skip through time. This book surprised me in not being at all what I thought it would be. From the blurb, I expected an adventure romping through time. That was my fault. This book focuses more on the contemporary and how the ability of skipping through time affects the main character.

When the story opens, Molly Jacobs is at the start of her senior year of high school. She’s living her life day to day, constantly in fear that she will skip moments of her life. Having discovered this mysterious ability at the tender age of 7, Molly has learned to deal with it, but not accept it. She wants to live in the present and not wake up one day to realize she missed most of her life. I cannot fault her for that. Imagine how terrifying waking up and not knowing how much time has passed. This is Molly’s life on a daily basis. Sometimes it’s minutes, other times it is hours, and occasionally days that Molly misses. This fear eats away at her until she meets Rhett.

Rhett is not like the other boys Molly has met. Being the new kid in town, he doesn’t know Molly isn’t one of the popular students. And when he does find out, he doesn’t seem to care much to Molly’s chagrin. Rhett is like Molly, he doesn’t skip through time, but he does have a unique gift. He wants to help Molly, help her control it and maybe get a date or two as well. I like Rhett. He’s kind and knows when and how to push Molly. He brings her back to the present in a way nothing and no one else ever has.

As I mentioned earlier, the book and blurb point to a romp through time. Instead it focuses on the question of “Can you change the past?” and if you can “Should you change the past?” This question plagues Molly especially when she skips forward with no memories, but skips back and remembers everything. A major event happens midway through the book that tore my heart out for Molly. This event plays an integral role in the plot and her relationship with Rhett.

Overall Skipping Forward is a contemporary take on time travel. Molly must learn how and when to use her gift, the consequences of not are heart-breaking to face. This book will take you on an emotional roller coaster as Molly finally faces her fears and embraces life.
Good Points
-MC learns to embrace the moments that make life worth living.
-Asks the moral question: "If you can change the past, should you?"
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."