Daughter of the Mara

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1150 0
Daughter of the Mara
Publisher Name
BookBaby
Age Group
14+
Published Date
April 13, 2017
ISBN Number
9781483599526

Jayashree Atkinson knows she’s insane: she’s been told so every day for the past five years. She has to be. After all, most people don’t dream while they’re awake. Locked away at thirteen for a crime she doesn’t remember committing, Jay thought she would spend her entire life within the walls of a psychiatric hospital. Her life is one without hope. She spends each day drifting between what is real and what is pretend until she is unable to distinguish one from the other. Jay believes she will never escape until one day a mysterious young man named Harvey breaks into the hospital to tell her that she is not crazy, that she is in fact a living embodiment of a nightmare: a mara. Freed from her captivity, Jay attempts to return to a normal life and understand who (or what) she really is. She is aided by Harvey and Vivian, another mara who has been banished to the dreamscape, only able to exist in the realm of nightmares. As Jay learns to control the nightmares within her she is soon faced with opponents outside her own mind. These include Harvey’s brother Edmund, whose affection for Jay seems too good to be true, the mother who abandoned her as a child, and an entire court of mara who would see her executed for her merely existing. Torn between the world of humans and the realm of nightmares, Jay must work to control her power and achieve her destiny before forces darker than her own nightmares lock her away for good. Daughter of the Mara is the first book in a planned trilogy which follows Jay’s journey as she learns to how to control her waking nightmares and find her place among a people she’s never known. The series continues in Heir to the Dreamscape and Queen of Nightmares. Daughter of the Mara, a YA fantasy novel, explores the world of nightmares and what happens when you can’t trust your own mind or what you see right in front of you. It is Shadow and Bone meets A Nightmare on Elm Street set to the tune of “Enter Sandman.”

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Interesting and original
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
The story:
Jayashree is insane. At least that’s what the staff at the psychiatric hospital have been telling her for the past five years. But when a stranger with peculiar gifts arrives at the hospital and helps her escape she quickly learns her ability to dream while awake doesn’t make her crazy, it makes her a Mara.
As she learns to control her gifts with the help of her rescuer Harvey, Jay soon discovers there is more to being a Mara than creating nightmares. Does she have what it takes to fulfil her destiny?

What I loved:
The first chapter was full of intrigue and interesting characters drawing me in straight away. It was an original story and I enjoyed learning about the world of the Mara.

What was just okay:
The first few chapters may have drawn me in but at times I did feel the story was quite slow. It took a while for anything exciting to happen and Jay could be quite annoying, especially when she developed feelings for Harvey’s brother when they’d only met a couple of times. But, her school girl behaviour only made me care and root for Harvey.

Final Verdict:
This was a great kick off to a very interesting and original series. Now that the story has been built and set, I expect the next book will be much faster paced and I look forward to watching Jayashree grow as a Mara.

Good Points
Interesting storyline.
Great opening chapter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Cactus and Flower: A Book About Life Cycles
 
3.5
"CACTUS AND FLOWER is a picture book about friendship, loss, and grief. Cactus loves flower as they spend all their..."
Quintessence
 
5.0
"QUINTESSENCE is a charming and enchanting middle grade fantasy. Alma moved to Four Points, and she has felt a little..."