Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)

Featured
 
5.0 (3)
 
0.0 (0)
1394 0
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
Publisher Name
Create Space
Age Group
12+
Published Date
August 13, 2017
ISBN Number
9781974549375
ASIN Number
      

The kingdom of Dreach-Sciene is dying. Famine, uncontrollable weather, and war have devastated Prince Trystan's people. It’s only a matter of time before their enemies destroy them. Only magic can save the kingdom. But there has been no magic in Dreach-Sciene for twenty years and Trystan fears it is only a fairy-tale. Without magic, there is no hope. If the prince wishes to harness the ancient power, he must first reunite the Tri-Gard, the legendary keepers of magic. His journey to find these magical beings will either lift him up or bring him to his knees as he sacrifices everything to save his people. With his enemies drawing ever closer, it's a race against time ... and against dark forces that could destroy them all. If you yearn for noble princes, forbidden romances, and heart-pumping quests, pick up your sword and reclaim your magic for the battle to come.

Editor reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (3)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (3)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (3)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Prophecy of Darkness Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Yes, this book was amazing. Yes, this book was so engaging. Yes, I could not put this book down.

Oh - you need more than that?

In all seriousness I loved this book so much. From the beginning up till the end. One of my least favorite tropes is the "I didn't know I loved my best friend until someone else shows interest." But somehow they made this work. I think it was the way it was written - which shows how good it is if one of my least favorite tropes work! The way the plot and the events were set up worked so well together to create a wonderful end product. It was fast paced but engaging the whole time. The ending was a little predictable but did not stop me from gasping when it happened.

I loved all these characters. Trystan, Rissa and Davion all grew up together and the chemistry between them was really well done. While the childhood wasn't a big detail for them, they was they interacted together showed how close they are. Then enter Lady Alixa, whom I love. She definitely forced herself into the group but I loved her character. While all blend very well, Lady Alixa stood out to me. Alixa was strong and did not stand for anything that she didn't agree with. Theirs is a story I cannot wait to continue.

Overall, this book was fantastic. If you are looking for a great adventure with some forbidden romance while looking for lost magic... then pick this book up now!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Adventure, Romance, and Betrayal...what more could you ask for?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Prophecy of Darkness by Michelle Bryan, M. Lynn is an exciting, new fantasy about a land whose magic is gone. Without magic, the kingdom of Dreach-Sciene is dying, nothing grows, famine looms and rebellions are beginning to pop up. Their only hope is a prophecy that talks about the legendary Tri-Gard, reuniting them and bringing magic back to the land.

So the beginning of this book has a bit of a slow pace as the authors set the stage and develop the world. However it picks up quickly and I found that I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough! Prince Trystan was an easy character to like. His transition from spoiled prince to Toha is one that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. You have a prince who isn’t ready to take on the responsibility of the kingdom, yet he dons the new title without hesitation, ready to face the darkness and save his people.

In addition to Trystan though are his friends and sister. Rissa is probably my favorite character of the book. She’s a force to be reckoned with and I dare anyone to try and stop her. As princess, it is expected she act as such, yet she reminds me a little of Merida from Disney’s Brave. She’s not the typical princess, she wants to fight beside her brother against the oncoming darkness instead of sit back at the palace. Trained along side her brother and Davion, Rissa is capable of defending herself, and she is a better shot than both the boys.

Trystan along with his sister, best friend Davion, and Lady Alixa begin the long journey to find the Tri-Gard and stop the dark from rising. Their journey is filled with perils and adventure, but also hardship. The journey acts as an eye opener for Trystan and Rissa. They see for the first time what their people in the villages are facing and become even more determined to find the legendary Tri-Gard, despite not believing in magic (at least Trystan doesn’t).

Full of action and adventure, entangled romance, and betrayal, Prophecy of Darkness is one of my favorite reads of the year. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys epic fantasy, Throne of Glass or Game of Thrones. It doesn’t disappoint!

*This review first appeared on Mom with a Reading Problem: https://www.momwithareadingproblem.com/2017/11/review-prophecy-darkness-michelle-bryan-michelle-lynn/
Good Points
-Alternating Points of View give readers a full picture of characters and setting
-Magical kingdom that has lost its magic
-Blend of fantasy and adventure you don't want to miss
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Perfect for Fans of Game of Thrones
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
When Trystan is named Toha, he becomes the protector of the realm instead of the ordinary prince. Because of this responsibility, Trystan realizes that he has to be the one to save the realm from war and starvation. Without magic, the crops aren't growing like they should and war is raging. The solution to their problems is to restore the Tri-Gard.

Trystan sets off with his sister Rissa and his best friend Davion. On their journey, they discover Lady Alixa who has escaped from her treacherous father. With her insistence, Alixa accompanies them as they continue on with their quest.

I absolutely loved the fantasy element that both Michelle Lynn and Michelle Bryan deliver. I loved the romance between Trystan and Alixa and then, Rissa and Davion. Davion has to be my favorite character because of his wit and charm, but a princess has to marry a prince, which leaves a hole between Rissa and Davion.

All I have to say is that these two authors did an excellent job at developing characters that you fall in love with and want to route for. They also create a world that you hope to see pull through. This story has a Game of Thrones feel and I am eagerly awaiting the second one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."