Runes (Book 1)

Runes (Book 1)
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Firetrail Publishing
Age Group
13+
Published Date
January 07, 2014
ISBN Number
B00CP4YKTG
ASIN Number
      
Seventeen-year-old Raine Cooper has enough on her plate dealing with her father’s disappearance, her mother’s erratic behavior and the possibility of her boyfriend relocating. The last thing she needs is Torin St. James—a mysterious new neighbor with a wicked smile and uncanny way of reading her.

Raine is drawn to Torin’s dark sexiness against her better judgment, until he saves her life with weird marks and she realizes he is different. But by healing her, Torin changes something inside Raine. Now she can’t stop thinking about him. Half the time, she’s not sure whether to fall into his arms or run.

Scared, she sets out to find out what Torin is. But the closer she gets to the truth the more she uncovers something sinister about him. What Torin is goes back to an ancient mythology and Raine is somehow part of it. Not only is she and her friends in danger, she must choose a side, but the wrong choice will cost Raine her life.

Editor review

1 review
An exciting and promising series for mythology fans
Overall rating
 
4.5
Writing Style
 
5.0
Plot/Story
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable)
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable)
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality
 
4.0
The first of seven books in this paranormal romance series, Runes offers a unique look at the Norse pantheon in a contemporary urban fantasy setting. Runes will definitely appeal to fans of Twilight and The Mortal Instruments, but if you’re looking for an intense level of Norse mythology, Runes doesn’t quite scratch the surface … yet. I have high hopes for the remainder of the series as the first book only begins to delve into the world and history of modern day Valkyries and Norns. The way the author spins old Norse legends and myths into this contemporary world is subtle but well done.
The author did a great job navigating the perils of the dreaded love triangle (but I do love a good LT). The main character’s interest in her best guy friend works well as the typical girl crush on the boy she’s liked forever. Then the arrival of Torin St. James gives Raine a taste of something a little dangerous, daring, and a little more grown up and she finds herself unable to resist the lure of him. I found Raine’s struggle between the two boys to be very realistic and age appropriate.
The main agenda of the Valkyries (sans spoilers) was a little underwhelming and at times felt forced, but I anticipate much higher emotional stakes and a higher level of world building as the series moves forward.
The pace was exceptional, moving quickly through the mysteries as Raine discovers there is more about her world than she ever dreamed, culminating in an ending that makes the reader anxious to pick up the sequel, Immortals, right away. Overall, Runes was a solid introduction to an interesting and compelling world, I am eager to explore.

* There are ten books set in the Runes world. Books 1, 2, 4 and 5 follow the character’s Raine and Torin. Books 3, 6 and 7 work as a trilogy based on Raine’s best friend, Cora. And there is an additional Runes trilogy based on Raine’s first boyfriend, Erik.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account