The Unforgettables

Featured
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
1548 0
The Unforgettables
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Rebellious Valkyrie Press
Age Group
14+
Published Date
September 13, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1943773138
ASIN Number
      

The summer vacation of The Unforgettables... Neighbors and best friends Paul and Felicia hoped they'd be friends forever. But as they change, so does their friendship. She shouldn't have kissed him...He shouldn't have liked it. Starting school changed everything.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Truth Will Win Out
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
'The Unforgettables' by G.L. Tomas follows new next-door neighbors, and seeming soulmates, Paul and Felicia. Their instant connection at a tag sale (garage sale, if not familiar with this term) is believable, unlike some of the insta-relationships that occur in other books. They both go for the same comic, showing that they clearly have common interests and aren't just seeing each other based on looks. This was a refreshing change of pace since situations like this one more often occur based on physical attraction.

Little do they know that Paul and his family, having recently moved from Chicago, are Felicia's next-door neighbors. Their families quickly hit it off. While Paul's parents are more understanding about his free spirit, despite some attempts by his mother to reign it in, Felicia's parents are described as much stricter and unbending in their positions. However, this may just be Felicia's opinion of them, since as the novel progresses, they seem to give a little in terms of they way their viewpoints have been described.

Felicia and Paul's relationship grows from friendship to something more, but neither of them quite knows what to call it, and Felicia's insistence that her parents won't let it grow to be anything more than good friends scares Paul off at times. Their relationships with others factor into this, from friends (or the lack thereof), to girlfriends, potential boyfriends, siblings, and others. Some characters were not fleshed out as much as they could have been, but this is relegated more to the secondary characters, such as Paul's siblings and even their parents, at times. The parents seemed to act as more of a foil to their relationship, but they did serve their purpose in terms of showing how Felicia deals with everything she thinks is causing strife in her life.

The ending, albeit open-ended, was satisfying enough, but it would have been nice to have a jump ahead to learn more about how their relationship changed with time.

'The Unforgettables' is a story of trying to find strength where there doesn't seem to be any. While Felicia and Paul sometimes succeed and sometimes fail in this pursuit, 'The Unforgettables' teaches that relationships can certainly be tested, and life has a way of getting in the way, but truth will always win out.
Good Points
'The Unforgettables' is a story of trying to find strength where there doesn't seem to be any. While Felicia and Paul sometimes succeed and sometimes fail in this pursuit, 'The Unforgettables' teaches that relationships can certainly be tested, and life has a way of getting in the way, but truth will always win out.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."