Curse of the Sphinx

Featured
 
4.5
 
4.0 (1)
1737 0
Curse of the Sphinx
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Indie
Genre/Type
Age Group
12+
Published Date
August 11, 2015
ISBN Number
1539415562
ASIN Number
      

An Ancient Curse. An Immortal Monster. A Forbidden Love. Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. If she wants to stay alive, she’ll have to keep it that way. When her mother is murdered, Hope is left orphaned and alone. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse? Is Hope, too, being hunted? Hope flees again. Staying hidden is now more important than ever. But learning to navigate mean girls, demigods, and shadow-monsters from the Underworld is nothing compared to the enigmatic and persistent new-boy, Athan Michael. In a modern world still ruled by the Greek Gods, being a monster is more than a curse. It is a death sentence.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Perfect for Percy Jackson fans who are all grown up now
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
The gorgeous cover caught my eye months ago and I’ve been anxious to read Curse of the Sphinx ever since. (And I was delighted to see the interior of the book is just as beautiful.) I wasn’t sure what to expect from this author, but I adore Greek mythology and I was absolutely captivated by Wagner’s fabulous world where the ancient gods—and their children—still walk among us.

Every month Hope Nicholas and her mother transform into the sphinx (I so want to be a sphinx btw). But even in a world where the ancient gods are alive and well, Hope and her mother are truly extraordinary. When Hope finds herself completely alone and uncertain of her future, she doesn’t let her circumstances define her. She rises to the challenge and she protects herself from the dangers around her.

I found Hope to be an exceedingly realistic heroine (despite the fact that she turns into a monster once a month). She acted her age, but she was smart and cautious. She took charge of her own life when others might have fallen apart. She was strong when she needed to be, but she had her weak moments. And throughout her journey, she showed tremendous growth. Curse of the Sphinx provided one of the best strong-girl heroines I’ve seen in a long time and I can’t wait to see what’s next for Hope—and her handsome demigod boyfriend, Athan in the sequel, Demigods and Monsters.

There were a few areas where the world building and descriptions could have been better. Several moments left me confused, but overall, Curse of the Sphinx was an outstanding and refreshing read. I would highly recommend this series for any YA fans who enjoy mythology, urban fantasy or shifter themed stories.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Good Spin on Mythology
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Curse of the Sphinx is a somewhat fast-paced story with one of my favorite types of mythology, starring the wonderful and somewhat sheltered Hope. The prologue was wonderfully written, but the following couple of chapters became bland. I feel like I should have had some sort of emotional connection to some of the characters, but I didn't, and it's unfortunate because if I was invested emotionally to this book, it would have gotten a higher rating from me.

I really love different spins on mythology and this story was no different, especially since I haven't read a story with sphinxes yet. Moving on to Hope, I can say that I did actually care for her. Her cautious, brick-walled personality is easily explained due to only ever really having association with very few people.... Like three people. I also was appreciative that the author made her out to be a doesn't-take-no-shit type of girl.

As for the rest of the story, some instances didn't fully make sense, but they were also easily overlooked by the mild action that kept the story going at its fast pace. It's quite upsetting we didn't get to "see" much sphinx action, and knowing that there may be another book after this, I really do hope that there's more of it.

The ending was okay, nothing really much to say. It didn't leave me speechless, but it left enough open to see that there's something coming later on in the year, if not, next year. I look forward to reading more and seeing where the author will lead us and Hope.
Good Points
- The Mythology
- Sphinxes
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."