Chemistry

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1773 0
Chemistry
Author(s)
Publisher Name
One Tall Tree Press
Age Group
15+
Published Date
December 01, 2016
ISBN Number
978-0-9953070-1-8

Stella Blunt’s world is ending. Her parents have dragged her across the country, and she has to start over in a new school. Th is is a big problem, because she doesn’t make friends easily: she’s large, she’s loud, and she doesn’t suffer fools gladly. The only person who likes her is the cute geek in her Chemistry class. He’s a great listener, he’s smart at science, and he loves her for her mind. Then again, she’s not sure whether that’s a good thing, considering that he also drinks brains from a thermos and walks with a lurch. To complicate matters, undead hordes have started showing up at her door. Can Stella take on a new school, an undead romance, and handle a chainsaw? Poking a satirical finger at Twilight, Chemistry is an irreverent, foul-mouthed romp with a surprising amount of heart from debut author C.L. Lynch, who thinks that fat girls and zombies deserve love too.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Awesomely sarcastic and completely witty
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Chemistry by C.L. Lynch

The Story:
Twilight spoof. Stella Blunt is forced to move to Vancouver with her parents when her mother gets a new job. Aside from the bullying about her weight, Stella’s life is made more uncomfortable by the boy who won’t stop staring at her. Or more specifically, her brain. Turns out he eats them and is a Zombie. And Stella’s brain waves? He just can’t get enough of them, and he’s not the only one.

The Characters:
Stella Blunt is cynical, defensive, intelligent and ‘blunt’. She is bullied mercilessly about her weight. It is refreshing to read about a character who doesn’t have the entire male population falling at her feet, and who questions anything and everything that doesn’t sit right with her. Stella also likes to swear a great deal. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy profanity in a book, but this book has a great deal of it. Often the main character’s comments had me laughing out loud.
Howard (Edward) is sweet. And though this is a spoof, he complimented Stella’s personality really well. Bullying comments slide right off of him, and he is the opposite of macho! For those who hate possessive lead male characters, you’ll fall in love with this zombie. And the zombie part—hilarious. His fumbling attempts to fit in with humankind will have you chortling.
Stella’s parents are my favorite characters in the book. They are more like Stella’s friends. Their antics and sarcasm, and their relationship with Stella is amazing. This author did a great job with them.

The World:
Twilight…in Canada. Much of the book is based in high school. The rest at Stella’s family home, and Howard’s home. The world is easy to imagine.

The Readability:
Shouty capitals make a regular appearance in Chemistry. Whether this is done on purpose or not, it proves very distracting during reading. Exclamation marks are another regular feature. These do make the novel seem ‘spoofy’, but they also serve to distract from the story. The structure of this novel is shaky. Some of the scenes could be cut down, or cut altogether to ensure a smooth, flowing read. I found the pace dragged in several places. However, the themes within the story itself are presented well and tie in to the final climax. The witty dialogue is a strength of this novel as is the character growth throughout.
Professionally edited – although there is some inconsistency in the editing of a few terms. Suitable for sixteen years and over due to swearing.

Final Verdict:
Fans of twilight (and those who hated it) will enjoy this spoof. Despite a few shaky technical aspects of the novel, there are some truly hilarious scenes. It contains subtle digs at the twilight series that you must pay attention to pick up—and some really obvious ones. The author’s take on this popular series is awesomely sarcastic and completely witty.

Favorite Quote: (I have a couple)
“When I climbed into bed that night, I was wearing a tinfoil hat and a scowl. According to Howie, a government zombie-killing dude was stationed outside in the bushes, in case the tin foil hat didn’t work.”

“Howie kept reaching for my hand and squeezing it under the table and every time he did, it made me feel feelings.”
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."