Influence (Influence Series Book 1)

Featured
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
2566 0
Influence (Influence Series Book 1)
Age Group
14+
Published Date
August 16, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1536927818
ASIN Number
      

The power to "Push" can alter reality. This ability makes seventeen-year-old Kaylin a high-value target. Thirty years after greed and corruption tore American society apart; relentless sector groups recruit powerful youths, often by force, to mold the populace to expand their reach. Kaylin has been on the run, hiding her untapped abilities for six years, but rescuing a mysterious young man risks exposing the depths of her power. Life has never been easy, but fighting back is even harder. This harsh, new world will no longer allow her to remain hidden.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A promising series
(Updated: August 28, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
3.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
4.0
Influence by David R. Bernstein

The Story:
On the run since her powers surged to the fore, Kaylin has been forced to stay hidden to avoid capture by those who will use her ability to Push for evil. When she and her best friend, Amanda, stop to help a dying man, little do they know their actions will change their lives forever.

The Characters:
Kaylin is an enjoyable character. Despite her circumstances, she possesses an inner strength and kindness which is endearing. The exploration of her powers is a high point as well as her journey to unlocking her full potential. The bond she shares with her best friend, Amanda—who is her opposite in many ways—is another favorite aspect.

The World:
The United States is gone and in its place is a harsher world. Corrupt societies exist, and life outside of these societies is tough and filled with dangerous people and not much food.
I enjoyed the concept of the different organizations and areas; Lost Souls sector and the Magnus Order—as well as the other hideouts and compounds. They display great creativity and are unique to other dystopian worlds in the genre. I did struggle with the spatial awareness of where these where in relation to one another, and sometimes with the layout within each area.
Overall, we get a sense of a cruel world where stakes are high, and the word ‘childhood’ no longer means the same thing.

The Readability:
Bernstein’s style is easy to read. We receive a vivid picture of each character’s personality and of the good vs. evil storyline. The flow of dialogue improves and the pace quickens from the halfway point. Initially, the amount of exposition did slow the plot, but in later chapters we are grateful for this information.

Final Verdict:
A good start to a promising series, suitable for twelve years and up.

Favorite Quote:
“It’s not like being seventeen is that young, considering how messed up the world has become.”
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."