Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2223 0
Keeper - Matefinder Next Generation Book 1
Author(s)
Age Group
12+
Published Date
July 01, 2016
ISBN Number
978-1535010436
ASIN Number
      

Anya has inherited her mother's gift. Born in a set of twins, she is the next Matefinder and her brother, Jaxon, is her sworn protector. But it looks like finding mates for the werewolf kind isn’t what Spirit has in plan for her. And when she starts dreaming about a human guy in trouble, her whole life changes. With the clock ticking on both of their lives, will Anya be able to do what needs to be done to survive?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A fast-paced ride
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
N/A
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Editing/Design Quality 
 
N/A
Keeper is a fast-paced older young adult urban fantasy that lovers of shapeshifting stories are sure to enjoy.

This series is a spin-off of the very successful Matefinder trilogy and follows Anya’s trials as the daughter of two powerful werewolves whose shoes won’t be easy to fill as she grows older. There are many expectations set on Anya, and she feels the weight of the huge responsibility on her shoulders. She is afraid to let anybody down as the future Matefinder of her pack. Anya is a straightforward, likable character. She has a great relationship with her parents and brother. This is nice to see in YA as so many books in the genre use the missing-parent or evil/careless parent trope. In Keeper, Anya’s parents are very present. They are protective of her, but know when to back off, just the way good parents should be. For those who enjoy plots that tick, this will be a great addition to their shelves. Things move fast and Anya quickly finds out that her destiny is not as clear-cut as she had suspected. In spite of the turmoil, Anya faces each challenge with bravery and resolve. Her strength of character is her biggest weapon at every turn. She is never a pushover or too scared to face the tryouts that are constantly thrown in her direction.

I think the story is one of growth and change for Anya and her mate. The antagonist is an outside force that remains on the fringes of the story and is, for the most part, faceless. She certainly has to fight the enemy, putting her wits to good use more than once, but the most important obstacles she faces have to do with reassessing her skills and coming to terms with her shape-shifting nature and the fact that she has found her mate. This is an excellent setup to allow the reader to connect with Anya before getting deeper into the greater conflict which I suspect will play a bigger role in the next installment.

There is a romance element in the story and, although it’s a driving factor, Anya doesn’t lose her identity to her love interest. If anything, I would have liked for Gavin to be a bit more fleshed out. He is hot, achingly handsome and with some skills of his own, but, at times, he felt like an extension of Anya rather than a true individual. I hope that in book two, we will see more of him and will learn of his own passions and dreams.

For those who like a heads up, there is language in the story, and a sexy scene that fades to black. But, in general, the books can be enjoyed by any young adult who doesn’t have heightened sensibilities in those areas.

Keeper will keep the voracious reader turning the page. Perfect for urban fantasy fans who like a mix of witches, shamans and vampires sprinkled in with their werewolves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."